We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a beautiful, romantic inn! The rooms are fabulous! And the location - right off the road on one side, but the serene lake on the other - is glorious. The innkeepers are lovely, and really care for their guests. We are definitely going back!

Room Tip: Be sure to get up early to walk out on the dock and watch the sun rise over Lake Michigan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
167
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I just spent the weekend here once again. We were looking for a get away for my wifes birthday, and it just so happened that we got engaged here 10 years ago, so it seemed like the perfect choice for the weekend! We have been back to the inn many times, and the staff never fails to impress us. Unfailingly friendly and accomodating, with our favorite cookies and popcorn in the afternoon. The breakfast is always top quality, with organic and healthy choices, and a really good cup of coffee. Bailey's Harbor is on the "quiet" side of the door, so this isn't the place for you if you are expecting parties and night life. If you want quiet time together, with a fantastic view off the deck, this is the place. Guys, if you're wondering about staying at a B and B; relax. The inn is a converted blacksmith shop, decorated with tools and farming implements from the period, and it is interesting to see everything they have done to convert it to an inn. The place is always impeccably clean and quiet; a great place for a weekend together.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenL974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Oh Door County, you wondrous vacation spot from my childhood! Not visiting in years, I recently had a chance to go back to Door County with my husband, sister, and parents- AND it was like I remembered it with the added bonuses of now being an adult who can do more shopping (allowance becomes salary) and drinking (cider becomes cider). These are good things. Yes, it is a nice spot for young families, but you can also have a quality time with a group of adults.

If you have never been or never heard of Door County (or DCW for us in the know), it is about five hours from Chicago (four if you speed, but you won't want to). Five hours is a completely manageable drive, when the weather is nice; when it isn't, you basically pray on a loop that you won't hit a deer. The anxiety just makes the drive more fun! In pleasant weather, you pass distracting places with huge signs that simply say "C-H-E-E-S-E" and "F-I-R-E-W-O-R-K-S" on them. Driving from Chicago, you basically follow the coast line of Lake Michigan until you can't drive anymore; DCW is the thumb on the hand of Wisconsin. For my Michigan natives, use your other hand to understand Wisconsin's hand geography. Where we have stayed at friend's cabins and some other hotels, we stayed at Blacksmith Inn on the Shore this time.

Blacksmith Inn is beautiful and has many room options (including ones in the Harbor House next door). For this stay, we rented out the Orchard House across the street. The four-bedroom fully-functional house felt more like an airbnb rental than connected to the Inn, which was absolutely perfect.

So much well-preserved vintage, comfortable beds, and an excess of bathrooms made this a great place for our group. There are many other stay options in Door County; with all of the inns, B+Bs, lodges, and actual airbnb rentals, you basically need to breakdown what are going to be the most important amenities for your stay and book accordingly, but this place was perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Last minute getaway for one night on February 22, 2014. Had a very nice stay in room 1. Everything that was shown on the web is is very accurate in appearance. Very friendly check in, nice comfortable room. the breakfast buffet was nice but simple, is not for the hardy eater type.
Baileys Harbor is very slow in February, only wish there was more establishments open to enjoy.

Would be a great fall getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnyvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durand, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We took our mini honeymoon here in November of 2013. It was just lovely. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Our room was room 2 and it was just perfect for us. The breakfast was awesome, it had: cider, coffee, cereal, greek yogurt, granola, hard boiled eggs, cookies and much more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelseyCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Amazing stay in Baileys Harbor, very close to the main street and nice restaurants.

Breakfast-simple, but so tasty, homemade muffins, boiled eggs, cheese, oatmeal, granola, organic coffee, orange juice.

All day- popcorn, homemade cookies, coffee, tea, cocoa

Room- beautiful view, adorably decorated, great in room whirlpool, every room has a view of the lake (which is only steps away), some rooms have hammocks on the balcony, the in room gas fireplace was also so nice in November, bath salts are provided by the Inn for the bath. There is also a fridge and sink in the room as well as two wine glasses.

Customer service- AMAZING! They greeted us at the door, gave us a tour of the Inn and our room.

Such a cozy adorable inn, I would stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room! They are all facing Lake Michigan, in the warmer months the rooms at Harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artsytraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I came to Door County for the first time at the end of October for a few days and can't wait to return. The Blacksmith Inn is beautiful, cozy, and the staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. It was like staying with family and being welcomed into their home. Staying here made our trip very special because of the ambiance and off the beaten path quiet, vintage feel to the stay. The cherry oatmeal cookies were delish and offered as an evening snack and I made them as soon as I got home. The toiletries provided, breakfast in the am, the view, the attention to detail....all were exceptional. We have nothing bad to say about the Blacksmith Inn and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautiful. We stayed in room 15 in the Harbor house and it was gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
7.6 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Property: Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing