We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay on the quiet side”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A stay on the quiet side”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I decided to escape Chicago, and spend a long weekend in Door County. Now most of the hustle and bustle on the peninsula is along Highway 42 on the Green Bay side. But if you are looking for some peace and quiet, but not too far from the action, take Highway 57 to what is known as the "Quiet Side". About three quarters of the way up the peninsula at the north end of Baileys Harbor is the Blacksmith Inn. We were warmly greeted upon arrival, and shown around the property before shown to our room. The inn is split between two buildings. The Zahn House has unobstructed views of the water, while the Harbor House views of the water are through the trees. We chose the Harbor House for the more secluded feeling. The only thing that could beat relaxing in the hammock on the balcony, had to be sleeping with the balcony doors open and a fire in the fire place. Baileys Harbor has several good restaurants, and there are plenty of nearby activities. But if you are worried about missing out on the "Exciting Side", Fish Creek is less than twenty minutes away via County Road F. The Blacksmith Inn on the Shore is a definite winner and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want an unobstructed view of the water, stay in the Zahn House. If you want a more secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
169
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights at the Blacksmith Inn. Really enjoyed the personal treatment...starting with check-in, we identified who we were and our host immediately got up and escorted us right to the room...none of the formalities that we are used to when checking into hotels, very much felt like we were a guest in their home. Room was well-appointed...big bathroom, full king bed, fireplace and plenty of room to move about. Would have appreciated a larger television and better wi-fi connection, but these ended up being blessings in disguise as we could focus on some time away for just the two of us. Each of the two houses is set has 8-10 rooms and the lobby in each has 24-hour coffee/tea, cookies, popcorn, granola, etc. Breakfast runs from 8-10am in the lobby of each house and we found it to be a good selection of muffins (excellent, home-baked) cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. We enjoyed a tandem bike ride on one morning, and a good run down ridge road and the nature trail (accessible at address marker 1982). The proprietors were very friendly and helpful with our questions, including directions for the running routes. Overall an excellent stay. Bailey's harbor was a bit quieter than the other Door County areas, but we did enjoy being able to get away to a more private place to retire for the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This B&B Inn is situated on the quieter side of the Door County peninsula on the edge of the lake. The rooms are charmingly decorated and all face the lake. The breakfast was perhaps disappointing, a very minimal continental offering and completely self service. For us this was not quite the standard which we would expect. Otherwise an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermann_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlacksmithInnkeeper, Owner at Blacksmith Inn On the Shore, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We do serve a continental breakfast, but knowing this is not the expectation of all B&B guests, we make a concerted effort to ensure every guest is made aware in advance. Our web site has a full page devoted to the nature of our breakfast and our reservationists verbally point it out as well. We have friendly competitors who do serve made to order, sit down breakfasts and we are happy to recommend them when this is a priority for a potential guest. Our apologies if we somehow did not convey this information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I really loved our stay at the Inn. We had no idea what to expect as it was our first time to Door County. Our stay exceeded our expectations! I'm not sure we'll want to stay at a conventional hotel again... We loved our room (Zahn House), the entire place was very clean and maintained well, it was quiet, the food was great, the staff was helpful and friendly, loved access to kayaks/bikes...The Inn is in a quiet little town, just a short drive over to the bay side of DC. The only thing I'd mention for anyone coming to DC, the cell service (AT&T) was spotty. I would highly recommend and will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrappyj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Blacksmith Inn on the Shore for four days. We had an incredible room with a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. Our room had a king size bed. Each room has its own private balcony with comfortable chairs. There was a large jacuzzi bath and nice robes in our room. Each morning the Inn has a continental breakfast with many different items including fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cheese, oatmeal, fresh muffins and much more. Every evening there is a huge bowl of popcorn, a variety of teas, Starbucks coffee and hot chocolate. The inn has its own dock with kayaks and paddle boats and there are bikes to use. It is right in town with many things to do is just a short walk. It is centrally located to Door county so many things are just a short drive away. If quiet comfort is what you are looking for The Blacksmith Inn on the Shore is for you. When we are back in the area we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: The views on the website a very representative of what the rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Blacksmith Inn largely contributed to our having a dream-like week in Door County. Joan gave us excellent tips on hiking trails in the area. Breakfasts were great with home made muffins and other goodies each morning. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed the view of the harbor and sounds of birds each morning. Lovely garden areas around the houses as well. I'd love to return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice. We stayed in the Zahn House, which overlooks the harbor. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channahon, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have driven past The Blacksmith Inn many times over the last five years. I never gave staying there much thought because at passing glance, it looked old. We decided to mix it up this year and stay somewhere new. The online pictures looked nice so we decided to give it a try. I am SO glad we did. The minute I walked into the Zahn house (there are two buildings on the property) I fell in love. To call this place "charming" would be the understatement of the century. The buildings, the grounds and the view are spectacular!

When we arrived, we entered thru the back of the building. There, you will find a large deck with amazing views of the lake. On the deck are many tables with umbrellas and lovely flowers. This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Upon entering the building you can tell this place is special. From the old hardwood floors (they look like the original wood) to the antique country decor, we were definitely impressed. The sitting/common area is quaint. There, guests will find homemade oatmeal cherry cookies (yum!) any time of day or night. Each morning, breakfast is served. Fresh fruit, fresh homemade muffins, organic oatmeal, a selection of cereals and juices along with other items are there for the guests. Organic coffee and teas are available any time. Each evening, fresh popped popcorn and lemonade are available for a snack. The Inn also provides recipe cards for all muffins, cookies for each guest to take, if they wish. Very nice touch.

The rooms are decorated nicely with antique nightstands/cabinets and have awesome views. The bed was very comfortable with lots of comfy pillows. Our room had a whirlpool and fireplace which added to the ambiance. The only downside to the room (in my opinion) was the amount of stencil on the walls. I feel it was a bit overdone. Also, there wasn't a dresser so we lived mainly out of the suitcase. Overall, not a big problem.

The hotel has it's own pier with chairs. In addition, there are kayaks and paddle boards for the guests to enjoy, free of charge.

Overall, our stay exceeded our expectations and well worth the cost. I look forward to our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Property: Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing