We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gambling weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gambling weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Baraboo WI Saturday February 18th. We went up with Friends to Gamble at Ho-Chuck Casino. The Clarion has a restaurant attached which looked very nice. We did not eat so I cannot comment about the food. They have a pool, exersice room, and conference center. There is a bar/restaurant next door called Chasers. We found the food good and bartender friendly.

The nice thing about the Clarion is the shuttle that runs back and forth from the Casino. The wait was not more than 5-10 minutes each time. The front desk staff was friendly and informative. The rooms were big and clean. Decor was somewhat dated but certainly not bad. I'd recommend this hotel for weekend of Gambling or just to get away with the kids.

Room Tip: Pool is on the 4th floor so if you intend to make use request an upper level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenlisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhotelmanager, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Good Day Mikenlisa2,
We are so glad that you had a wonderful weeknd at the Casino. I am so glad that my front desk staff was very helpful to you. Come and visit us again and have fun at the Casino. Ask us about the Passport to Saving coupons we offer. See you soon .

Sincerely,

Mark Horenberger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
61
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here in June 2011 at the beginning of the summer season. It was a little busy as could be expected. The room I had was a little on the small side then.
We stayed here 2-4-2012 and got a 2 room suite with a hot tub for the same price as the room we had in June. So much bigger and better. 2 TVs refrig, micro and coffee maker. Sofa in the bedroom and room was huge. The staff (Jason and Steffani were wonderful) was very helpful with the area attractions and room info. Kudos to the Clarion for having such great people to work for them. I usually (21Xs) stay at the Best Western in the Dells, and really like their hotel, but for the cost this was better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

A friend and I and five kids booked two rooms for an evening to take the kids skiing the next day. For what we paid, I wasn't expecting very much. We asked for adjoining rooms and that was granted. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel actually. The rooms weren't large, but were clean and updated, with comfortable beds and pillows. There was only one employee there that night, but he was as calm and collected as couldd be, and helped us, (we needed more towels and lights at pool to go on). The pool was a fine size and the kids enjoyed it. The onsite restaurant was a plus also. The breakfast was typical, cereal and the waffle maker, only thing I would suggest is real coffee cups and larger than dixie cups for juice and milk. Cascade ski area was about a 15-20 minute ride away, so it was overall a great little trip. It was a good experience and would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Call and talk to someone, they were helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed Jan 7th, 2012. For the past five years we have stayed across the street but figured we would try the clarion because we heard the restaurant is the best in town and the in-room whirlpool suite rates were about $50 less than across the street. The in-room whirlpool was HUGE! I felt like we were at a bed and breakfast. Everyone was so pleasant! Everything was clean. The bed was very comfortable (not as plush as the Hilton but still quite comfortable), the restaurant was truly the very best anniversary dinner my husband and I had. average plate cost was $20 The waitstaff new our needs before we had to ask. The continental breakfast was average with the waffle maker etc; no meats served. The interior is a bit dated but everything is very clean. We will go here again! I can't wait to go to the restaurant again too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLeeUpNorthWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This a great hotel to stay at if you are in the area. Everything in one building- resturant and bar, great pool area. The staff is very friendly!! We have stayed here for years when it was the Quality Inn, Baraboo Inn, The Park Plaza, and The Clairon Hotel. They have updated the rooms and the pool area.

Room Tip: If you have kids the 4th floor is where the pool is located. They have a game room for the kids and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I booked the reservation through Travelocity's website because we needed to be in town for a wedding at Devil's Lake and this hotel was slightly cheaper than the Best Western across the street. I was unable to make the trip due to illness and cancelled the reservation through Travelocity's website well before the posted cancellation deadline of 6pm. The hotel still charged my card for the full nightly rate. When I called the hotel to discuss, they said there was no record of my reservation, cancellation or the charge. I called Travelocity for help and they were able to straighten it out. I would book through Travelocity again but I wouldn't stay here.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baraboo hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We paid a whopping $130 for this place on labor day weekend. That's pretty steep for the area. But we were going to devils lake and its either this or the best western across the street. The rooms are extremely outdated. Musty and dark, with a not so desultory feeling. The WiFi seemed nice, but is so slow that its impossible to work with. The breakfast-skip it even if its free, just terrible, fake eggs, ho hos, and awful coffee.
The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful though. I'll never stay there again. Terrible value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
8.2 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
13.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
7.0 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing