We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No more free breakfast”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in recent years and always appreciated the fact that a free breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. Upon checking in this time (June 2014) I was shocked to be told that breakfast now was $6.99, though a $2-off coupon was provided. Even worse, it turned out that my glass of orange juice was not included in the quoted price! I will definitely be seeking other accommodations in the area the next time I visit Baraboo. While it is true that the website no longer advertises a free breakfast, as a regular customer it did not occur to me to reevaluate the amenities list for a place I had stayed multiple times before. Other than this disappointment, the room was clean and comfortable as usual and the attached restaurant continues to provide very good food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucewashere_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    73
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
63
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a long standing member of Choice Hotels I was very pleased with the room we had but totally dismayed by the restaurant and breakfast options. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and while the food was okay, it was not worth the price and certainly not the quality you would expect from the quality of the establishment. I was most dismayed by the breakfast. Choice Hotels should offer free breakfast to its guests especially when the room cost was higher than normal. Here however you had to pay for a buffet breakfast that offered not one item more than any Comfort Inn or Clarion and the quality of the eggs, gravy and meat was not at all as good as most Choice Hotels I have stayed at. Then to add insult to injury, a hotel chain that promises free coffee 24/7 charged us over $2.00 a cup for breakfast coffee and all beverages were at a price above the breakfast which should have been free to begin with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baraboo hotels

Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Not a bad place, but don't expect a lot of frills. Room was decent sized. The pool area was good. The steam room was a nice surprise too. It's an older hotel and not upscale. Know this going in and you will be pleased. There is a decent restaurant on site too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skullsplitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel was alright. Not the best and not the worst. I liked the price... Not 100 to 200 dollars per night. The location was in close proximity to restaurants, and popular attractions in Baraboo, such as, Circus World Museum; The Al Ringling House; The Al Ringling Theater; The International Crane Foundation; The Mid-Continent Railway Museum.
As for the hotel, the 2 double beds felt as if I were laying on the floor... (I tried each bed). The hotel however provided extra blankets in the closet. I fluffed them up, and put them on the mattress, thus making the beds much more comfortable. The refrigerator was awkwardly positioned in the closet. Opening and shutting the fridge door was interesting, but I liked the fact that they offered a fridge since no meals were included with the stay. The air conditioner was noisy, but worked well. The bathrooms were tiny but clean upon arrival. The room was musty, but that was remedied when I opened the windows. The one and only real complaint was the paper thin walls. Everything could be heard in the rooms adjoined to ours. A previous guest had set an alarm clock for 5am, and it went off when we were trying to sleep. There was no one in that room to turn it off. I had to call the front desk to turn it off. The person at the front desk was very prompt, and immediately took care of the problem. In fairness to this hotel, the thin walls and mustiness are not an exclusive problem to this hotel. Some of the pricier hotels/motels have the same issues, with no fridge, and no included meals. I would recommend this hotel for people who want a cheap place to stay in Baraboo.

Room Tip: This hotel is approximately an 18 minute drive from the Dells Strip. It is not in the heart of the D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcpjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da UP of Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We find the Clarion Hotel and Convention Center a very clean and comfortable place to stay! Rooms are very good size, with plenty of accessible outlets to plug in our cells and computers. TVs are LG flat screens and there are more channels available than we've ever seen in our hotel stays! Our only disappointment is that there is no continental breakfast available, at least for free. Now they give you a $2.00 coupon towards purchasing what amounts to a continental breakfast for $6.99. What is available is hardly worth the $2.00, let alone $4.99 plus tax! Unless this changes we suggest eating breakfast out, and getting your money's worth.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
442 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple times in the past and had done one prior review. My last stay started off with an unworthy employee at check in trying to multi - task with the phone and several people checking in...This time I encountered Cheryl....literally one of my best experiences ever...I booked on line which I screwed up and had to call them directly to get straightened out, so I had her on the phone and she was also working when I got there...She was fast, efficient and friendly....recognized my hotel membership offered upgrade and covered eating establishments in area...I had a king bed room which was on the top floor, it was on the older side for furniture and decorations but had everything I was looking for..quiet, comfortable bed, coffee pot, flat screen and a nice hot shower and most of all Clean...all at a good price from AAA.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Clarion a number of times over the past few years. It is centrally located within a region of western Wisconsin that I travel within. Here are the good things- it is clean. The beds are comfortable. There is a restaurant. There is a bar. There is a nice pool. The staff is friendly. The cons? It shows it's age. Peeling paint. Tired carpets. Hollow doors. The hotel is used by many youth groups (circus world) and by the Casino Crowd, so if your sensitive you may be offended from both extremes. Overall ..... Average.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BuyReallyLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhotelmanager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear a place to lay your head,
I would like to Thank you for the time you took to fiull out the guest survey. We review every week with our staff about the review we recieve and go through them to see if we can improve on our service. I am not understanding what you are telling me about groups. But yes we cater to groups and appreciated them coming to us. Circus World Museum is a locate attraction theat we are very happy that is located in Baraboo and also Ho Chunck Casino .This attraction bring people to a town of 12480 peole We love it very much.
As for carpet in hallways and rooms they were all prepalce two years ago. Yes we are a older hotel but have been in the last 13 years remodeled three times . We are always upgrading and now we are adding refrigerator to our .rooms. Again thank you for your review hope to see you again

Mark Horenberger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
8.1 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing