We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location in the Dells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Location in the Dells”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Clarion Hotel is located conveniently in Baraboo, close to all of the attractions in the Dells. Although fairly non-descript on the outside, the rooms are very clean and well maintained. The room was a bit pricey, $179 plus taxes per night, but that price seemed fairly competitive in a resort area. Our room did have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, which was nice. The room also had a large jacuzzi, but we did not use it. We also did not have breakfast at the hotel, so we cannot comment on that feature.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisH018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
61
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
351 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a nice room with comfortable beds. We had wifi for a while then it went off. In the morning the wifi was back on. It seems to happen at a lot of hotels. They gave us coupons for the morning breakfast buffet in the attached restaurant, $1.00 off, which we did not use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkimperial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very dated hotel in need of a major renovation project. Handicap rooms were small with no room for wheelchairs or walkers. Bathroom had very short toilets, making it difficult for an older person with disabilities. Carpets were so dirty, it looked like they have not been changed for 30 years. There are not very many hotel options available in this town to choose from. We booked two rooms for two nights, with one being handicap for my parents. After looking at the rooms, we decided to stay in the hotel across the street which was more bright, clean and modern. Unfortunately, the other hotel did not have a handicap room available. The front desk clerk was not very friendly and had a really bad attitude when we decided we were not going to stay there and was going to charge a cancellation fee. However, Mark, the Manager, was a very nice guy and made things right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff60468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baraboo hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I read reviews before we stayed here regarding the breakfast buffet but I did it anyways..bad idea and waste of money!!! The scrambled eggs were rubber, the bacon was hard, bananas looked gray ..they should not be charging for breakfast!! Free continental breakfasts that I've had are way better. The room was nice, bathroom tiny and loud air conditioner. The pillows were nice though and the water pressure was good. I'd stay here again but go somewhere else for breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was just an add on to our weekend. Our room was really nice and clean, but no microwave. Internet is nonexistent there, but that seems to be Baraboo anywhere you go. The workout room was dismal with no dumbbells, so I made due without. The coolest part was the pool, except the kids didn't get to swim, but WOW! They thought it was really cool looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaraGollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I had a get away for our 40th wedding anniversary. Our room was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Free high speed internet was advertised but when I tried to log on it would charge $3.00 for connection. I too was disappointed with the breakfast. When we checked in we were given coupons for $2.00 off of $6.99 breakfasts. When we left we were charged $7.99 each minus the $2.00 coupon. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in recent years and always appreciated the fact that a free breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. Upon checking in this time (June 2014) I was shocked to be told that breakfast now was $6.99, though a $2-off coupon was provided. Even worse, it turned out that my glass of orange juice was not included in the quoted price! I will definitely be seeking other accommodations in the area the next time I visit Baraboo. While it is true that the website no longer advertises a free breakfast, as a regular customer it did not occur to me to reevaluate the amenities list for a place I had stayed multiple times before. Other than this disappointment, the room was clean and comfortable as usual and the attached restaurant continues to provide very good food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucewashere_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
986 reviews
8.1 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing