We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Chunk gets it right with renovations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The newly renovated rooms are senstational! Love the two chaise couches in the room. The beds are dreamy. The color designs are rich and soothing. Bathrooms are modern. The showerhead is one of those tropical rainshower types which isn't my cup of tea. No bathtub in this room. Towels smelled strongly of bleach. All in all, thumbs up to HC on their room renovations!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twobings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel has been renovated and the furnishings and the rooms are very nice but----------the lighting in the bathroom and the rest of the room is so dim that I bought a lamp so I could see to do my hair and make up. It didn't help much . There is no iron or ironing board or hair dryer in the rooms now . There was before the renovation. I am very disappointed because the two of us could come and go to the casino when we wanted without looking for each other since we were right there. We won't stay there any more because of the lighting and that is too bad since we have been going twice a year for quite along time. For a room that is $119 per night you would expect to be comfotable in every way . I know they have put in bulbs to save energy but you can get daylight bulbs that are still energy savers. I hope they wake up and smell the coffee before our next trip. We just got back and it was a challenge to get ready to go anywhere when you can't see what you are doing. Also there are very few channels to watch on the TV. Whoever designed the renovation forgot about seniors who need some light. Disappointed guests !!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't need light, these rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peruvian61354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

my friends and I went to the casino for a night of fun, boy were we disappointed. we went to the casino about 7:00pm on a friday nite, the place wasn't to busy, so we went to the buffet. very disappointed in the quality of the food and selection. it was a seafood buffet. the selection included every kind of deep fried fish all cold and tasteless. the beef brisket was ok but we were treated very rudely by the cook who was supposed to be grilling it, we felt like we were an inconviencing her! the german potato salad was not fit for a dog. everything was one color brown, cheese manicoti was a pan of melted cheese no color or taste. i have been in the restaurant business for twenty plus years and would be FIRING employees for that buffet. they need to hire a new buffet manager and rehire staff that can prepare food in batches instead of mass quanity. after we left the buffet we went downstairs to play the slots two of my friends spent their night in the restroom with diarria. THANKS

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessa53925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The woman at the front desk was very helpful and a joy to deal with. She checked us in an hour early. She also found another room for our friends when their room was not ready at this time. Rooms were clean and spacious. The only negative is the room and bathroom are awful dark with the use of CFL bulbs. And their checkout times (10:30) are awful early. And as far as the casino, well let's just say it's a typical casino.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had reserved and prepaid for 9 rooms for a Saturday night in July. When we arrived at 5 p.m., they informed us that they were full and our rooms had been given away. We had 24 people who had just spent the day at the water park - many still in swimsuits - and the plan was to have dinner and family time together in the suite we had booked. Instead we stood around for over 2 hours while they figured out what to do. We were told that there was not a manager on duty. When we asked for something for our trouble, they offered half of us dinner and the other half would have to get cards from the casino in order to get dinner. That involved more lines and another half hour before someone in the casino found a manager who gave us all the buffet. The rooms they "found" for some of us were in the wing they were remodeling and quite nice. The buffet was good too, but by the time we got rooms, changed, and went to dinner, we lost our family time together. They did resolve the issue well in the end, but it should not have happened and when it did, they should have given us a room in which to change and leave our belongings and dinner while they prepared the other rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weaver56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

First the good: they are remodeling and the rooms have been updated and now are all non-snmoking. They let us have our room an hour prior to the standard check in time. The people at the desk were very nice. Now for the bad: the safe did not work and we had to call security twice to get it fixed -- it never did get fixed but rather they had to pry it open. My husband did not like the fact that the room had no drawers. In the hallway at night there was a domestic disturbance and although security was there and handled it well, it was a little disconcerting. We do like the casino and the buffet

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanside-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We ate at the buffet, it was seriously the worst meal we ever had. Prime Rib was dryy and tough, baked chicken was dry and over cooked, spaghetti was tasteless, the salad bar needed to be cleaned up things were spilled over and running together, desserts were almost empty and not much to choose from. The "free" wifi wasn't working and also the phone in our room didn't work staff was not very helpful. I have worked in retail/ food service for over 30 yrs and this is not how i expected to be treated, very bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gwnipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
3.6 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
10.6 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

Address: S3214 County Road Bd, Baraboo, WI 53913-9405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range: £96 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ho-Chunk offers premier Wisconsin Dells lodging in a resort-inspired atmosphere. Our 302 elegant rooms and suites feature exceptional amenities and luxurious upgrades. You may choose from a wide selection of room types and configurations. We have spacious 350 sq. Ft. Rooms in your choice of Premier Rooms, Luxury Rooms, Custom Rooms, and Deluxe Rooms available in King and Double Queen configurations. We also have several different suite types: Hospitality Suites, Executive Suites, VIP Suites, and romantic Honeymoon Suites. So whether you're a professional looking for Wisconsin Dells lodging with room to work and play, or newlyweds who want a total romantic package, Ho-Chunk has your perfect room preferences with 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, year-round, services at your disposal. Ho-Chunk is proud to offer Rhapsody Spa services including relaxing massages, facials, and pedicures. By appointment only and while many spa services are offered onsite, some services are only offered at Rhapsody Spa Lake Delton location overlooking beautiful Lake Delton. Our expansive property also boosts 5 onsite restaurants offering fine dining, a breakfast cafe, a sports bar, buffet, and 24-hour grill. Enjoy all this while having fun on our over 1,900 slot machines and 45 tables games voted #1 in the Midwest 3 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Wi
Ho Chunk Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Casino Baraboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing