We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall nice place; a few issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overall nice place; a few issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

PROS: Room was clean and good sized, bed was comfortable (triple sheeted), comfortable settees and ottomans, soaps and shampoos were good quality, marble counters, rain shower, fridge, micro, lots of outlets to charge devices.

CONS: Why do hotels pile ugly dirty decorative pillows on top of the clean linens on the bed? Yuck. There was one thin blanket on the bed. No extras in the room and I couldn't turn the temperature up. Brrr! Could have used more clean towels. The bathroom lighting is very dim. The TV stations were very few. No directory of restaurants, TV channels, etc. Bars and restaurants don't take credit cards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Customer Service is our main goal.
I will address your issues with the appropriate departments.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    84
    62
    32
    26
See reviews for
58
144
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

the room was big and spacious. loved the private balcony that we had off the room. also there was a long shelf in the room which was great using it for a bar and other things. the bed was super comfortable and loved the rain shower. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your favorable response. We strive to make Customer Service our number one goal.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ho-Chunk Casino Resort this past Sunday and it was great. We had a Premier King room with private balcony overlooking the courtyard! Very impressed with how modern and clean the room was. Everyone from the front desk to the bellman were all friendly which was nice to see. Food at the Steakhouse was phenomenal with exceptional service. This was our first visit to the property and were very impressed, however, we didn't like how none of the casino bars took credit cards, which was pretty annoying and made no sense to me, but otherwise, great place. Slots were pretty tight, but I guess it is a casino. Would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
i am so glad you enjoyed our facility. Customer Service is our main goal. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend of fun and gambling, was quite put off when I waited in line 20 minutes to check in at 8pm on a Friday night, with only one person working the front desk. Although busy, she was nice and apologized for the wait. We asked if there were any promos included with our room and she included us on some deal so we could get promo cash and food GC's, which we would not have otherwise gotten. The rooms are a very far walk from the front desk, at least our was, and it's a really long walk from the front parking lot to the hotel entrance. The room was large and clean, and overall pretty quiet. I heard doors slamming and everyone's toilet flush but it was tolerable since I wasn't in the room much. My only other room complaint is that they don't have enough linenes on the bed. Just 3 small pillows on a king bed and a thin blanket on the bed, not a comforter or duvet, but a very thin blanket and a sheet. I like to be warm at night and it was uncomfortably cold for me, even though I turned up the room heat. The next night I asked for an additional blanket and got a nother thin one, but I was definitely more comfortable. Housekeeping came by at 8am, and asked if I wanted them to clean my room. I felt like I was bothering them by saying yes and felt rushed to get out of my room for the day. Yet when I came back at 5pm, there was still housekeeping people in the rooms next door. I know it's a big place but really, 8am? We walked arounf the pool/hot tub area, which was very nice, but a far walk from our room again. Breakfast buffet wasn't memorable but it was only $8 per person so I think we got our money's worth. I would stay here again in the future. Oh, and there's the baraboo candy company across the street that makes their own chocolate, very good and worth a trip but a little pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mschuh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your comments that happened during your stay. I will inform other departments of your experience. Please come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the HoChunk Casino hotel recently. Although we found the hotel's layout a bit widespread, we were very satisfied with our stay. Our room was of decent size, and it was certainly clean and comfortable. We both had a good night's sleep.

We definitely enjoyed the pool area too, what with it's swimming pool, full size spa, hot tub, and sauna.

The only thing we didn't like was the bathroom. It was dimly lit and only had a shower stall-no full bathtub.

My only other nitpick was the TV only had a few basic channels and I believe one local channel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolvesfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the casino. We are trying to improve the lighting in the bathroom. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Food is great, casino is clean, hotel rooms are clean. Great place to hang out and gamble. Slots payback good at night. Free soft drinks. Only downfall is bars/servers/restaurant on gaming floor dont take credit/debit cards. So bring cash for drinks or you'll have to keep hitting atms

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olfclvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monticello
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We checked in later in the evening, so had no problems at front desk. We were there on a Thursday, so room was a little closer to the restaurants and casino. It seems like usually we are long walk from them. After getting our room key, we pulled around to the back door to unload. The key machine to open the door was broken. We had to walk to the north door, that was about a hundred yards away. Not to bad for us, but it could have been different for elderly customers. There was a small sign taped to the door. The rooms were nice a clean, as always. Except for the the door issue, I find this a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencer516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I am sorry to hear about the issue with your door lock. This has been addressed with our maintenance department.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Address: S3214 County Road Bd, Baraboo, WI 53913-9405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ho-Chunk offers premier Wisconsin Dells lodging in a resort-inspired atmosphere. Our 302 elegant rooms and suites feature exceptional amenities and luxurious upgrades. You may choose from a wide selection of room types and configurations. We have spacious 350 sq. Ft. Rooms in your choice of Premier Rooms, Luxury Rooms, Custom Rooms, and Deluxe Rooms available in King and Double Queen configurations. We also have several different suite types: Hospitality Suites, Executive Suites, VIP Suites, and romantic Honeymoon Suites. So whether you're a professional looking for Wisconsin Dells lodging with room to work and play, or newlyweds who want a total romantic package, Ho-Chunk has your perfect room preferences with 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, year-round, services at your disposal. Ho-Chunk is proud to offer Rhapsody Spa services including relaxing massages, facials, and pedicures. By appointment only and while many spa services are offered onsite, some services are only offered at Rhapsody Spa Lake Delton location overlooking beautiful Lake Delton. Our expansive property also boosts 5 onsite restaurants offering fine dining, a breakfast cafe, a sports bar, buffet, and 24-hour grill. Enjoy all this while having fun on our over 1,900 slot machines and 45 tables games voted #1 in the Midwest 3 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Wi
Ho Chunk Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Casino Baraboo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing