We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry Pancakes OUT OF THIS WORLD!”

Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Blueberry Pancakes OUT OF THIS WORLD!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

OK - we drove 50 miles specifically for their blueberry pancakes. LOVE them. They're loaded with little wild blueberries & the flavor is incredible in a buttery, fluffy pancake that's over the top delicious. They do also offer Pecan pancakes, buttermilk, & others. The hasbrowns were also cooked to perfection - non-greasy, yet with a buttery flavor. And their salad's, mama-mia, so fresh with homemade dressing. Delightful quaint little cafe. We have tried their soups & they're fantastic as well - too early in the a.m. for that today. It's awesome that they offer Superb Soups with a VEGETARIAN option that are equally superb. Highly Recommend, greatly little place to visit & eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and local welcome!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We found this on tripadvisor and it was on our way home from the Dells. They were close to closing but welcomed us in for the last meal that day. Very much a diner with a quirky sense of style and knick knacks! We'll go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nansview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabulous spectacular Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place is a total throwback! Charming and old-timey. We always make a point of visiting this place - worth the drive up f. Madison. Diner food, but unusually good. Tomato florentine soup during a recent visit was outstanding. Several items for vegetarians. Good service, great ambiance. Popular among locals

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where would you find a diner like this in the big cities?”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I come here for the great food and old fashioned charm. I love the breakfast and lunch menu. I feel the price is good too. Nice folks work here and the service is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutandAboutAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast & nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here for breakfast on our way back home from Devil's Lake. I was a little iffy at first just because it looks quite old, but once we got in and sat down I was impressed. The atmosphere inside is older looking but very nice, clean and comfy. Coffee was great. We both had omelets which were delicious. My boyfriend had a pancake on the side which was sooo good too! Overall it was an unexpected great breakfast experience and pretty average priced. We would stop here again if we are back in the area. I would recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn also viewed

 

Been to Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing