We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Motel with Great Hosts”
Review of WilloWood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WilloWood Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This is a charming, family run motel very close to Devil's Lake State Park. The rooms are decorated with a theme and are very clean and comfortable. The grounds are well taken care of and you can hear so many birds - there is plenty of seating outside. We were only here one night before heading back to the UK but during that time Steve and Linda were so helpful to us, in letting us check in for our flights and also giving recommendations for dinner and breakfast and directions for our journey home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

This was the WORST experience I have ever had at any establishment. The owners are like vultures trying to find a way to remove you from the property. If you want your family to enjoy a good experience this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank arsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowoodinn, Owner at WilloWood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2010

This family was a part of a family reunion group who held 12 of our 16 units. The reunion group had a wonderful time throughout the day utilizing our picnic areas, the yard games, and the playground - ending the day enjoying the campfire at the fire pit.

We did not anticipate any problem and were surprised when at 11PM this family returned to their unit and allowed their children to run back and forth between rooms, talking loudly, and causing a general disturbance to the units on either side of them. Since we guarantee a good night's sleep at WilloWood Inn, we asked them politely to show consideration to others.

They were away from the Inn the entire next day, returning at 10:30PM when they again allowed their children to create a disturbance. Once again we had to request that they respect other guests who were already in bed. At this time they threatened us with a billing dispute.

We asked them to leave the next morning and did not allow them their 3rd night.

We have numerous family gatherings at the Inn and welcome children. Many of our families make our Inn their annual vacation spot.

It is unfortunate that some parents believe that "vacation" means allowing their children freedom to do whatever they please/whenever they please. These families do not belong at our quiet little Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After two years in a row of being rained out, my friend and I didn't want to take a chance on camping at Devils Lake. So we spent 2 nights here, in the "Southwest" room, and it was absolutely perfect. We had the best parts of camping--grilling out and sitting around a campfire--and also a warm bed at night, a fridge, microwave and hot coffee in the morning!
There are several Weber grills around the property, one of which sits beneath huge old willow trees; it's just beautiful. You can cook out in your own private paradise.

The decoration in the room was superb; very creative with several small touches and no detail overlooked. Also, we were thankful that the owners provide ashtrays outside for smokers and clear delineation where the smoking area is--that was very nice for us smokers, and I'm sure nice for non-smokers, too. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here.

The owners were really friendly and helpful and the property is gorgeous. I came from Denver to stay at the Willowood Inn, and will definitely be returning next year! Thanks for a great mini vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueCarrizales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We just concluded another good stay at the Willowood Inn. Can't beat the clean rooms, immaculate grounds, and friendly hosts. Steve & Linda have done a terrific job of making the motel a wonderful spot to relax & enjoy! We look forward to our next trip to Devils Lake and the Willowood Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank litterbughater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We love this motel. It is the closest motel to Devil's Lake State Park, and is truly a family friendly place. I have stayed here several times; each room is unique with it's own 'theme." The grounds are beautiful and full of an incredibly wide variety of birds. The owners provide a campfire every night out back, there are plenty of things to do for families and children. They are pretty strict about their quiet times, so this is NOT the place for people who want to "party loudly all night." But for those of us who seek peace and quiet, in a beautiful location, this is the place.They no longer have a swimming pool, but now in place of that is a lovely, landscaped sittig area and additional parking. As for the pool, I don't miss that a bit as Devil's Lake is perhaps the finest "swimmin hole" in the entire midwest. This place is reasonably priced, in a great location, and easy to find. I couldn't be more pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I have nothing but good comments about our stay. We felt very welcomed and comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kgold1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

No need to look any further than The Willowood for quality lodging while traveling through the Devils Lake area...The owners are sincerely wonderful hosts---This is a well run and friendly place to stay---clean rooms, great service and an excellent bargain...I highly recommend The Willowood and very much look forward to my annual summer stay there...It should be noted the swimming pool is no longer available due to various reasons beyond the owners control, and this is not a place for any raucous gatherings---The inn keepers strive to maintain a peaceful environment with what might be a bit too many rules for some, but I'm easily able to see past this being the positives of a stay at the Willowood far outweigh the rather long list of "no-no's"---All in all you won't be dissapointed---Big thumb's up!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
6 mi away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Baraboo
43 reviews
6 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
158 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts at Glacier Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WilloWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WilloWood Inn

Address: S5509 County Road DL, Baraboo, WI 53913-9207
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest motel to Devils Lake & minutes from WI Dells & ski areas. Step back in time to this clean, quiet, and affordable "mom & pop'" motel nestled in the picturesque hills south of Baraboo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing