We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Wawanissee Point
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
WilloWood Inn(Baraboo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
4 Winds Motel(Baraboo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
131
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseb bbordeaux roombed and breakfastoverlooking lakethe secret gardenhiking trailsnatural beautyromantic getawayfrittatathought of everythinggracious hostsdevil's lake state parkwords cannot describegive it a shotamazing weekenddevil's head
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The grounds of the Wawanissee are beautiful and very relaxing. The innkeepers were fabulous people and our room was spotless and cozy. We hiked Devils Lake during the day and sipped on wine and cheese at night. The town of Baraboo was delightful and charming as well. Dave and Trudy (the innkeepers) even had a fire in their firepit the weekend we were there for all the guests to enjoy. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway and an outdoor experience we would recommend this B&B to anyone. We will definately be returning!!!

Bruce and Erin from Illinois

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We travel fairly extensively and typically seek accommodations in the finest
hotels we can find. Unfamiliar with the Baraboo area, I selected the "Inn" by chance (online) because we needed to be near the Dells for our daughter's
cheerleading competition. We hit the jackpot, as Dave and Trudy's inn is a shining gem situated atop the 3rd highest elevation in the state. From the spectacular vista (courtesy of Mother Nature) outside the huge picture window in the magnificent great room (courtesy of Dave & Trudy), to the
design, architecture and character of the inn itself, only superlatives can begin to provide an adequate description. Not a detail is overlooked, whether it be binoculars on the breakfast table or a convenient little booklight in the night table. Everything about the inn is first class, and the
final ingredient is the company of Dave and Trudy. From Trudy's gourmet breakfast to wine & cheese in the bar in the evening, this couple redefines the concept of hospitality. I could go on and on, but will conclude with the promise that we plan to return to the inn at every season to enjoy the 42-acre property and its miles of hiking/snowshoeing trails, wildlife observation,
natural beauty and serenity, and the excellent company of our hosts. The land has a wonderful history, and the hosts and the inn have become part of that history.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhtphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have been to numerous bed and breakfast inns in southern Wisconsin (and throughout the U.S), yet our stay at this Inn left a lasting impression. The views from this lovely home were spectacular, the breakfasts delicious, and the hosts most gracious! Both Trudy and Dave made everyone feel welcome, and they appeared genuinely delighted to share their home with us. Their wine and cheese reception provided the perfect setting in which to socialize with them and the other guests. This is an inn that we hope to return to very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teckeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Our first reaction when viewing the Inn was WOW!
Who expected this grand place at the end of a Wisconsin country road? This modern mansion has a European look and feel.
It could also be the setting for a new Woody Allen film.
After two nights, we were still being 'wowed' by the delightful details we continued to discover in the house and on the grounds.
The Inn was built to be a bed and breakfast from the ground up; the grand lobby and evening lounge, the kitchen and breakfast rooms, the work out room and the bedrooms were designed with guests in mind.
A stay here provides an elegant yet relaxed retreat. There are thoughtful touches at every turn: chocolate truffles on your bedside table, a kit of fine toiletries, comfy robes (to wear to a hot tub under the stars), even a pair of binoculars on the breakfast table, for the long view down to a salt lick and Lake Wisconsin.
Dave and Trudy Holdener are ideal hosts, striking a perfect balance between friendliness and reserve. Dave, who has a hospitality industry background, conducts a most congenial cocktail hour from behind his classic, richly burnished bar.
Trudy's hor dIoeuvres, a tasty array of cheeses and home made dips, are a perfect compliment to the fine wines. We imagine most guests will want to schedule their activities, as we did, so as to not miss this very happy hour. Trudy and Dave are both fine storytellers and good listeners.
The room we had (the Secret Garden), an example of Trudy's artistry of interior decoration, was quiet, spacious, and spotless.
The breakfasts (and pre-breakfasts of coffee, fruit, Trudy's home made granola and coffee cake) were some of the best we've ever had. (And we travel a lot.) We felt like royalty beginning our day, thanks to their stellar service.
What a gift the Holderners offer - sharing their wonderful home and land.
We rate this B&B Five Stars and Rising

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamoTso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Trudy and Dave were fabulous hosts in an amazing environment. Thanks to the two of them, their guests are privy to the most spectacular view, meticulously manicured grounds, inviting trails and scrumptious breakfasts. We didn't want to leave, and are planning a trip back for snowshoeing!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews