We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average hotel”

Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berlin
Wildwood, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less than average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I never expected too much from rural area. I only wanted a place to sleep for several hours before moving on, so this hotel was adequate. It serves the purpose.

We arrived around 9 pm at night. The mapquest direction got us to the destination from a road that t'ed into Ripon Road where the hotel was located. The mapquest app announced that we have arrived at our destination. While we looked straight into the side of the hotel but we had not idea that it was a hotel. The hotel entrance was not lit very well and our attention was totally drawn away from the hotel building by the gas station across the street (to our left) which was well lit. For a moment we thought we were lost and pulled over to the side of the road. Then we looked up again, looked around and finally spotted the hotel sign.

Free breakfast began at 7 am which occurred after we had to check out. It's not the hotel's fault; I guess Berlin is not a well travelled area.

It does have free WIFI.

The room was reasonably maintained.

The online re-paid price was right around $90. It's kind of high since it was not like there was a high demand for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in nearby towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StLouisTraveller726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We incurred extra charges at check in that we were not told about when we reserved the room. The room was small and cramped. And when we asked for a slightly later check out time the staff was rude and unhelpful. They said they couldn't because of the holiday weekend when there were only 4 cars in the parking lot. I would recommend staying away from this hotel. Not a good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spike322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Horrible manager, he was so rude to us. Booked onlne with tingo and paid $86.66 for two people,he made fun of us for paying so when we could of had it for $64. Paid $15 dollars extra a night for extra person. Higher than anyone else. Beds hard, dirty hallway, only got 2 sets of towels. He complained about us using too many towels, water and eating the complimentary breakfast. We did not eat breakfast not much there. Don;t recommend any one to stay at this hotel. Worst experince I have ever had. Ice machine didn;t even work.

Room Tip: I would choose none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was in Berlin for business and stayed at the Countryside Lodge. A small and clean hotel, excellent breakfast, rooms are nice with all amenities, free wireless internet, and great fitness room.The front desk Clark was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mardi60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The beds were terribly uncomfortable! The pricing seemed inflated, but it is the only hotel in town. It seemed clean, but is need of a facelift including new beds and bedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My associate and I were visiting in Berlin Wisconsin and decided to stay at the Countryside Lodge. A small very clean hotel.

No it doesn't have the flat screens and a suite but for approximately $80, it is a very good value with continental breakfast. It has a nice work-out area, weight machine, treadmill, bike, stair climber better than some of the Hampton's, Doubletree, Choice hotels etc.at which i stayed.

The sink is in the room itself with toliet and bathtub/shower combo in separate small room.

It has FREE wireless which I find with some name brand hotels in cities is only Free if you are a Silver or above member otherwise at least $9/day.

The hotel is conveniently located to many small stores and restaurant/bars. Supermarket is on the west of the hotel and family style restaurant south hotel. Downtown with other eating options is about a 5-1o minute walk. Note: we were there Monday night so some of these places were not open. We asked the owner where maybe a good place to eat and get a drink and he suggested downtown versus the closer places.

Room Tip: I am not picky so any room if clean is good for me. I was on second floor and did not see an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Beds are had didn't get much sleep. Owner is very rude. Next time I'll stay somewhere else even if I have to drive 50 miles

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank didntknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
8.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
8.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
16.6 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#2 of 2 in Wautoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Wautoma, WI
10.0 mi away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
9.0 mi away
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Heidel House Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Green Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel

Property: Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Address: 227 Ripon Road, Berlin, WI 54923
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Countryside Lodge! The Countryside Lodge offers well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Cable television and high speed Internet access. Other hotel amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, exercise facility, meeting room and free parking. The staff at the Countryside Lodge is ready to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay for all guests visiting Berlin and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel Berlin, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing