We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order dessert first!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luckenbooth Cafe - CLOSED

Luckenbooth Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Order dessert first!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stopped here by chance while traveling through the area on a Friday evening, and had a delightful casual dinner! This is a charming, quirky, small town place, with the owners doing the cooking and also serving as staff. We were greeted very warmly by Yvonne, who not only took good care of us, but entertained us with stories of the evolution of the business.

We started with bruschetta; Yvonne and her husband Cliff had made the whole-grain bread and salsa earlier in the day. It was unusual, but delicious. We ordered pizza, which again was unusual (more cheddar than mozzarella, with chunks of link sausage), but somehow it worked!

We then took Yvonne up on her suggestion of bread pudding for dessert. HOLY MOLEY!! It was amazing! Served warm and crispy with ice cream, whipped cream and cherries. Thank goodness we shared it, or it would have been overwhelming. The creator of this masterpiece, Cliff, came out and told us about his other favorite desserts and breads. He also suggested that next time, we order the bread pudding first, then fill any remaining hunger from the rest of the menu. Excellent idea!

From what I gather, the Café is only open for dinner on the weekends, and specializes in breakfast and lunch. It's fun, unusual and imaginative food. What more could you ask in small town Wisconsin?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlottes_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simplicity at it's best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

20 miles west of Madison, WI on highway 14 turning on Mills Street by the Shoe Box in Black Earth, WI you will find the best hidden treasure you have experienced in a long time. The address is 1204 Mills St., Black Earth, WI. This is the best hidden treasure in dining I have found! I stumbled across this magnificent treasure of a small town café a short time ago. The atmosphere is friendly, the staff is great and the owners are always present and available to talk to. FOOD, now that is a mouth watering experience!! The prices are very reasonable for the amount of food you receive and the biggest plus is the down home feeling you get as you sit and enjoy your food in a relaxed being at home feeling. Everyone there whether they know you or not feels like you know them. Their hours are: Sunday through Wednesday 6:30 a.m. to 2:00p.m and Thursday, Friday and Saturday 6:30a.m. to 9:00p.m. See you there soon!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland Center, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You won't find this in the big city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

What a charming little gem! All the food is made from scratch. The locals that we sat near eat there every day- at least once! I had Sheppards Pie and it was wonderful. We also had pie for dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
268 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Go on line and get the secret phrase for free desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is one of the most interesting restaurants I have eaten at for some time. We were here on a Friday night fish fry. Does not appear as if it is open every night. There were 4 of us. 2 had the fish and loved it. One had the all you could eat shrimp and it was unbelievably good and they kept it coming even thought it was almost closing time. All with a smile. All the deserts look wonderful. If you get the phrase from the web site you get a free predetermined desert. We said it and they gave us a huge piece of carrot cake. It changes every week. This week the phrase was "what's up doc?". Get it . Bugs Bunny, Carrot Cake. I thought it was funny. Prices were more than reasonable. You will feel very comfortable in jeans or dress up a little. It is worth the stop. I think I will take a drive up there one of these days for breakfast. It sound wonderful and if my dinner was any indication what the rest of the meals are like, I would like to try them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very warm, inviting little out of the way place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We went for a little drive west of our Madison with the intention of revisiting Luckenbooth Café for breakfast. Once again, we were warmly greeted, and seated at a nice window table. The place was moderately busy at about 9 am on a Saturday. This is a very clean restaurant with a small town flavor and home cooking style meals. Their specialty is foods of Great Britain, including some interesting sausage, the owner/manager being from somewhere in Britain. We were served quickly and very efficiently. Our coffee cups were kept full. The breads and eggs were done perfectly. Yes, we are looking forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing