We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa - would highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lisajane2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa - would highly recommend”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at this villa for one week at the end of May, 2016. The villa is one of a pair (Villa Manolis is right next door). They are owned and managed by Manolis, who is extremely responsive and attentive - he came to meet us and showed us around the villa, and also checked on us once during the stay and again at the end as we departed.
Both villas are extremely private, located at the end of a tiny village located high in the mountains, just off the main road between Chania & Rethymnon. A car is essential, we used Anna Car Rentals who offered great prices and service. The views from the villa are magnificent, overlooking mountains and the sea beyond, you really feel the benefit as the outside areas at the villa are also superb, with a garden and large pool plus a covered eating space and BBQ grill.
The villa is well equipped, with WIFI and air con...plus a washing machine which was also useful. The tv only has one English news channel, but there is a DVD player and a playstation 3 so I would recommend taking something with you if you have a family to amuse indoors when it gets very hot outside.
The beach is 10 minutes drive, Chania is 40 minutes drive and Rethymnon less than 30 minutes drive...I would recommend all of them for a visit. I would also recommend the local village, Vrysses, it has a cash machine, bakery, butchers, three small supermarkets and some very good restaurants which was lovely to have so closeby.
Overall, we loved our time in Crete at Villa Maria, we have already made an enquiry to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa location and setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Villa Maria for 1 week and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest places we've had the pleasure to stay in. Minolis, our host was very kind and his extended family who live in the village supplied us with constant food parcels and gifts from their small holdings.

The apartment is well presented and sits in a very quiet, secluded area of the village, with stunning views over the Cretan mountains and countryside. The pool and gardens are well looked after and the accommodation was very comfortable with everything we needed. I genuinely can not fault it and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
960jules
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hospitality”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Querying Villas more than deserves the five stars that it consistently gets. Situated in the small village of Alikampos with breathtaking views of the valley below and the mountains in the background,it offers a tranquil retreat while still being close enough to the beach. The real jewel in the crown is it's owner Manolis! Extremely warm hearted and very helpful, we also were overwhelmed by his hospitality. Just something that I would like to add is that the photos don't do the place justice. The garden is now more established and very beautiful and the interior of the house is also more inviting. Also just down the road is a very good winery. Thank you Manolis for the 8 nights that we spent there.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertolo...
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We are now entering our third week at Villa Maria and consider how lucky we were to book with Manolis and his family. The premises and location are exactly what you can read and watch on TripAd. The welcome pack is costantly renewed with oil, raki, icecream, moussakà, risotto, dvd, etc. A cleaner comes twice a week when bedsheets and towels are changed. Swimming pool is regularly monitored by Manolis himself, especially in windy or rainy days. We had several days of bad weather, and in the circumstance we experienced how nice was the inside of the villa. Thank you Manolis for pampering us so gently!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good feeling with the owner by the four of us.
Liked least: Lack of a proper shower in the main bathroom.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKOAL
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect villa for a relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were greeted by Manolis, the owner, who was so helpful and kind. The villa was in such a beautiful location and was equipped with everything we needed. It was perfectly clean and the pool/gardens were also faultless. Such a nice thought to have some local provisions awaiting our arrival, and the Moussaka delivered to us during our stay was delicious! Great place to relax and unwind, whilst not being too far from local shops and places to visit. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Crete”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful warm welcome from Manolis to Villa Maria started our holiday, including a very generous "welcome pack" with food enough to not have to go shopping straight away.
The villa is perfect; beautiful views, quiet and fully equipped and cleaned twice a week.
The location is great to get to plenty of sites within an hour.
We would really recommend this to anyone travelling with a young family too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and pool
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan79
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation, sound location, wonderful people.”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed at the villa the first two weeks of May 2014. The venue is among the best I have ever stayed through out the Mediterranean. It combines high quality accommodation with a beautiful and peaceful location. Ideal for families with children. My boys enjoyed their time in the pool. It is also a 10 minutes drive from the famous Kavros beach and 20 minutes drive from the two major cities of the western Crete: Chania and Rethymno. The staff was friendly and willing to help in all cases. The overall experience was wonderful. I will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing