We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In all aspects an excellent stay. Professional and friendly staff. Beautiful room and luxurious wellnessarea. Perfect meals, partly buffet and partly served. Hotel next to the slopes with a perfect connection with Kronplatz ski area.

Room Tip: For a romantic stay choose room 210. This room has a fourposter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for spending your holiday at the Excelsior Resort and the very nice comment. We hope to see you soon and best regards.
Werner Call with family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly family-run hotel in the Dolomites, the town itself is part of a resort Kronplatz. Anticipate the desires, helpful staff, a variety of hearty breakfasts in the format "buffet" and intriguing gastronomic dinners from the chef. SPA pools are not large, but very pleased with the warm pool on the street with mountain views! Easy descent to the lift, parking, ski storage.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julsy_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your comment and spending your ski holiday at the Excelsior Resort. We hope to see you soon and best regards.
Werner Call, family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Excelsior for the third consecutive year for our family skiing holiday. The impeccable service, great kitchen, warm staff and wonderful rooms were as expected. The Call family creates a truly unforgettable holiday experience. We are travelling with four children ranging from the ages of 1 to 12. The location of the hotel - next to the slopes - is great for skiing with children who take lessons. Coming back to the hotel for lunch is a breeze when skiing in the Kronplatz area. We picked up the children after their morning lessons and enjoyed the wonderful lunches at Excelsior. Also, for the little one, we had three days of child care provided by the Call family's eldest daughter. Like the rest of the family, she knows what putting the guest first means. Baby strollers are provided for free. The hotel also a baby phone service.
We had some wonderful skiing conditions this year. The village is at 1200 meters and is usually covered in snow. As it was this year. Easy access to the Sella Ronda and super dolomiti area. If travelling with children, the Kronplatz area is challenging enough. Although a lift pass for super dolomiti is only marginally more expensive. Ski rental from the Bronta lift is excellent. Drop off and pick up of skis in the hotel is a free service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the spa area (4xx - 6xx). They are situated beautifully.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthijs_and_Kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Good moarning,
thank you for spending again your holiday at the Excelsior Resort in the heard of the Dolomites. Thank you for your comment. We will be pleased to welcome you again in our home and best regards.
Werner Call, family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It was the third time I visit this hotel. For the first time it was in winter 2010, then in summer two years ago and for the third time it was now - February 2014. I love returning there as it is one of the most charming holiday places I know.
I really appreciate cozy atmosphere, kind hotel staff and excellent service, clean modern rooms with stylish decorations, beautiful spa and swimming pool, great cuisine, coctail bar...
It is a perfect place for skiers and snowboarders as you reach the slope just by going out from hotel ski room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice, clean, modern...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Good morning,

Tank you for the very nice comment and for spending again your ski holiday in our resort. We hope to see you again in 2015.
Best regards
Werner Call with the family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were for sixth time in this hotel.And for us is a excelsior best hotel ever because there is a nice personnel and best dolomiti mountains,good Italy food. We love Thursday ski race.We look forward to come in 2015. Thanks you very much. Grazie mille❤️

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tutumunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Goog moarning,
thank’s a lot for spending again your holiday at the Excelsior Resort and your very positive comment. We also will be happy to welcome you again 2015 in San Vigilio in the Dolomites.
Best Regards
Werner Call wir the family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Ten of us (grown up family, their spouses, brother and sister in law and some friends) spent a long weekend at the Excelsior, the Call family and their team of excellent staff made us very welcome. My wife and friends wife were non skiers and they enjoyed the spa facilities. My wife had a facial in the spa and she maintains it is the best facial she has ever had. We have travelled extensively and stayed in some very famous and well known hotels and the Excelsior's standards of service were excellent, there

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorResort, Proprietario at Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear guests,
thak you for have choise our Resort, to spend your ski holiday in the Dolomites. Thank you for your good comment. We hope to see you soon and best regards.
Werner Call with family and the Excelsior Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We decided to spend a few days hiking the Dolomites in late October/early November on our way home to Calgary from Croatia, and we're delighted we did. San Vigilio was surprisingly the highlight of our trip. English is not widely spoken in the village, even among tourists, which only adds to its unique charm. By all accounts, the Excelsior is the premier resort/hotel in San Vigilio. When we arrived, the reception manager Patrizia greeted us like old friends and immediately offered us cake and libations before accompanying us to our room. Our room was large, well-appointed and comfortable with a stunning view of the valley and the bathroom was so clean it sparkled. The dining room staff were pleasant, efficient and professional (though somewhat taciturn), the bartender Remy was exuberant and always attentive and the food was DIVINE. All our meals, plus afternoon tea were included in our 3/4 board package and dinner time in particular was a riveting adventure. The food was exquisitely and elegantly prepared and guests were offered a dizzying assortment of delicious appetizers, salads and main courses. Even the salad bar offerings were entirely different every evening. The desserts were to die for. The resort owner Werner Call stopped at each table to chat with the guests every evening and directed us to some wonderful (and challenging) hiking trails at the nearby nature reserve. A lovely vacation from start to finish. I would surely stay here again on my next visit to northern Italy. Useful Tip: Rent your vehicle in Germany (say, Munich) rather than Italy. Cost savings for us were significant, about 1/4 the price quoted in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room in the new wing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Vigilio
12.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
554 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 24 in Alpe di Siusi
445 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#2 of 26 in Sesto
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corona La Magia dei Cristalli
11.1 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
319 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort

Address: Strada Valiares 44 | Bolzano, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Price Range: £179 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In summer: Situated on the quiet outskirts of St. Vigil in Fanes-Sennes-Prags in the Dolomites, a UNESCO world heritage, we provide a supervised program of activities with hiking and biking within a breathtaking panorama. In winter: Best Winter Resort - It doesn't get any better than this! - Ski directly from the Resort. Directly from the ski room you ski to the gondola onto the top ski area of Kronplatz. South Tyrol's top skiing mountain and Alta Badia with the famous Sellaronda. A few years ago, we were also chosen as top ski resort! The perfekt ski slopes from Kronplatz, directly at the resort are connected to the Sellaronda ski paradise. Nothing stands in the way of a perfect skiing holiday! Both together make us - mountain resort Lovingly designed to present the Excelsior with elegant, comfortable and modern facilities and 47 beautiful themed rooms and suites throughout the resort. This good taste makes us a - style resort In the Castello di Dolasilla - the Wellness Castle on 5 floors - our guests are treated wonderfully with different treatments, alone or in pairs. A spacious spa with 17 bathing, sweat and relax attractions, the 1300 m² SPA Hotel Dolomiti included in the price our 3/4 board - spa resort We compete with the leading hotels in South Tyrol and offer the best quality at fair prices. Indulgant living in elegant surroundings, excellent, light Mediterranean / Alpine cuisine, a selection of 300 fine wines, the extensive leisure facilities in and around the resort and a total of 44 friendly and competent satt. This distinguishes us markedly from the others and makes us unique the - Excelsior Resort Because you are worth it! We look forward to greeting you Family Tamara and Werner Call with the Excelsior team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing