We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family run hotel in St. Vigilio with great food”
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carmen
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent one week in St. Vigilio di Marebbe at Hotel Carmen in mid-February 2013. Our overall experience with the resort and the hotel was great. Sunshine everyday, great snow, great runs, cross-country and great Hotel Carmen. The family run hotel is very close to the centre of the town and a 10 minute walk away from the main lifts. The hotel has a shuttle service to the lifts and back every morning and afternoon. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and they attended to all our needs right. The room we stayed in (Edelweiss) was very spacious, around 45 sq.mt and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and one child. The daily cleaning service was very good. The hotel also has a beautiful, spotless spa which we enjoyed very much after a long day of skiing. We stayed on a BB basis but we highly suggest their HB. We ended up staying at the hotel for dinner most nights for their executive chef Walter prepared an outstanding 4 course menu every night at a great value. They also had a great breakfast buffet. If you go to St. Vigilio with children keep in mind that the owner of the hotel Filippo is also an instructor and owns the main ski school in town. We had a wonderful time at Hotel Carmen and we thank the Clara family for their hospitaliy and for making us feel at home. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms were spacious. If you travel with children I recommend the Edelweiss suites
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cemUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed this year for a week in February 2012 at this fine, family run hotel. There was 6 of us in total, 4 adults and 2 children, Hotel is overall very comfortable with excellent bedrooms, good restaurant and a really nice " Italian Laura Ashley" type bar and lounge area. Spotless everywhere. Bedrooms very big and well equipped, as are the bathrooms. Food served for breakfast good, and even better dinner in the evenings. 4 courses and all delicious, home cooked and fresh. Most enjoyable. Not the cheapest, but then this is not a low-cost area. Hotel very well positioned for ski lifts to Miara ( Kronplatz) or the link into Sella Ronda. We will go back. Not cheap, but worth the money. Hghly recommended. If it had some sort of pool in wellness area then instead of 4 we would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Speak to Filipo, the owner, but rooms are large with lovely views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victhegeordie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A group of friends stayed at Carmen just before Christmas 2012. To make it short - it's great and I will return there with my family. Some details :

1. The good
- location. For those who ski, it's 500 meters away from the cable cars, with private shuttle service. A bit far away to walk, but with the shuttle service - You get royal treatment.
- services. Heated ski room for equipment, friendly and helpful staff, relaxation area, sauna, hammam - all great, especially after intensive skiing.
- food. Be warned - it's extremely difficult to resist, especially at dinner. 5 plate served menu may look small when single plate is served, but trust me - You will leave the table full (and begging for mercy ;-) ) but also the quality - absolutely fantastic. Kudos to the chef. Selection of wines and drinks from the bar also up to everyone's taste.
- rooms. Nice, clean, with modern and nice furniture. Plenty of space in Edelweiss suite, even for a family of 4, or 3 adults. Really plenty of clean space. Safe box available without extra charge, quite big and clean bathroom. Just one awkward thing - bathrooms had a window outgoing to living room ... feels a bit uncomfortable when sitting on the throne with Your friends roaming around the living room :-). It was also a bit too warm to my personal taste during the night, although heating was off. But I like sleeping in cold.
- the hotel. Charming, decorated with wood, nothing to complain about, maybe apart having fireplace in the entry hallway, rather than inside cafeteria/restaurant. But it's a minor thing.

2. Not so good
- internet access kept going down. Only one connection per room allowed, so when You are travelling in pack - You need to coordinate access. Not a biggie, but annoying.
- already mentioned window from bathroom to the living room in Edelweiss ... I would suggest covering it somehow :-)

3. The bad :
- haven't found anything that would be bad or that could make me wonder about returning there.

Now, to sum it up - I am coming back there with my family - for skiing, for apres ski, for the hotel offering comfort and quality service. If You are looking for a hotel in St. Vigilio - You can book it blind and You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed at Carmen 10 days last summer: 3 nights at the Hotel, a week in one of their apartments next door.
I cannot add much to the other dithyrambic reviews you'll find here: the standards of the South Tyrolean tourist industry are, in my experience, generally very high and Hotel Carmen is very good even by those standards. Spotlessly clean, very nicely appointed, nice and helpful staff, good cuisine, mountain bikes freely available to guests, etc.
It deserves each one of its stars. And San Vigilio is a real gem.

P.S. If you stay in self-catered accommodation in the area and feel like cooking, a couple of hundred metres away from Carmen you'll find a pasta-making workshop, whose "canederli", a local delicacy, I found really mouth-watering. And so did the kids and the missus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanoBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We turned up unannounced and they managed to find us a space, despite the hotel being full. The Clara family and staff were professional, but friendly and relaxed from the outset. Although in the village of St Vigil, the hotel is set back a little and is quiet with a lovely open view. The rooms are comfortable in the cosy Tyrolean style and the food was plentiful and tasty - a mix of Italian and Tyrolean. We had a large room with a balcony and, after the eye-watering cost of Venice, the hotel seemed an utter bargain. We spent 6 nights there, walking in the mountains. Although we generally prefer to eat out in the evenings, given the exertion of the day, we were happy to come home to a half board meal. This did mean there was no choice, but the food was generally of a high standard and they will cater for exceptions if you tell them in advance of the meal. They also have a very good selection of wine from the region and are happy to make recommendations, as you are unlikely to have seen these in the UK. A very tasty Merlot from the Suedtirol was most unexpected! Italian and German are the main languages spoken, but all the younger generation seemed to speak English. Being in a ski resort, there is a sauna and steam room with loungers for lolling around. These benefit from a glass wall which affords a view over the village and surrounding mountains. The room had plenty of space for outdoor gear to dry, but they have the usual ski room too. They also have a couple of apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyldelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Georoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vigilio hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#12 of 25 in San Vigilio
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corona La Magia dei Cristalli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Claudia
Piccolo Hotel Claudia
#15 of 25 in San Vigilio
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Teresa
Hotel Teresa
#10 of 25 in San Vigilio
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#7 of 25 in San Vigilio
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: Strada Al Plan Dessora 17, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Price Range: £102 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen in the heart of the Dolomites with his particulary fine position allows you to make in the summer a huge rage of hiking and trekking in the Dolomites and particularry in the Natural Park Fanes Sennes Braies.In the winter the Hotel by the Plan de Corones gives you a strategic point of departure for your skiing in the Dolomiti Superski.Wood-panelled rooms, a fire in the tiled stove, the genuin housemade dishes and the honest hospitality of our family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing