We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Monte Sella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monte Sella
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel has the charm from the beggining of 20th century.It has the 110years old tradition and you really feel back in time.On the other hand it has everything a modern man needs-great internet,gondolas around,comfor,excellent food...From the moment you come you feel like at home.Such a wonderful staff,especially Nada,give you warm welcome and afterwards whatever you ask ,you get.
The small complaint is about the uncomfortable sofa bed and noise from corridors,if you are lucky to be with a lot of teenagers in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a walking tour in the Dolomites. The staff and proprietors made us feel most welcome. The new pool and sauna were lovely, as was the new dining room. Although the hotel was not full at this time of year, it was a lovely spot. The food was very good. My only complaint was the noise of traffic from the street since we kept our windows open during the warm weather. The view of the moon over the mountains was more than an adequate trade-off however.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here as part of a summer walking tour of the Dolomites. The Monte Sella is well worth the stay. It has a newer section, but the original section with its Art Nouveau decor and features is lovely. My room was a corner room and was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The views from my room were stunning. The pool, spa and "relaxation areas" were well used after a days hiking. Norberto is a gracious host and the staff friendly and attentive. The restaurant offers a great selection of regional food, beautifully cooked and presented.

Room Tip: If you don't have children, ask for a corner room in the original building. The views are stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for a few days right before Christmas.

The ski lifts are 100 ft from the hotel, ski rental, ski school are just across the road! The lovely small village is a short walk away.

Brand new spa, amazing food, Norbert and his wife are amazing hosts. We forgot our iphone charger in our room. We received it in the mail a few days after we left.

Only a small request: water in the swimming/relaxing small pool is a bit cold for me and my wife. Kids loved it anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davide V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

After a long drive we arrived in MONTE SELLA. The hotel is located in a little village but with all the necessary facilities in the village : a few pubs, restaurants, 2 supermarkets etc..The valley it lays in is stunning. Although it is situated along the main road, there's few traffic and the centre is only a 5 minute walk.
The rooms are very tidy and when you open the door, you're welcomed by the sweet smell of pine. Some rooms have a balcony which is very pleasant in summer time.
There are only a few suites who are brand new and quite superb.
Breakfast is plentyful : all sorts of bread even organic, croissants, fresh sliced fruite,pastry,various sorts of cold cuts,cornflakes etc.
No hot breakfast however..but I'm sure if you'd ask they would provide it for free.
Dinner kicks off with a grand salad buffet (which changes every evening) followed by a first course and a main course and dessert.
The menu changes every day and you have the choice for the first and main course and dessert between 3 dishes. Even in the unlickly event that you don't fancy any of the dishes, you have got to ask and they will cook something to your liking.
The quality of the food is more than excellent considering it's half board. Some of the dishes we had : spaghetti with baby lobster, ravioli stuffed with ricotta and a superb basil sauce, deer ragout with polenta, chocolate moeullieux, dessert buffet..
I had also a body massage during 50 minutes, a real treat after a whole day walking in the mountains. The wellness facilities are also very good.
Norbert and his wife are excellent hosts and even if the weather is bad they make sure you're not bored.
In short one of the best hotels we've ever had, and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johan-vero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sical L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montesella, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Sella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vigilio hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corona La Magia dei Cristalli
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel Emma
Bella Vista Hotel Emma
#4 of 25 in San Vigilio
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#12 of 25 in San Vigilio
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teresa
Hotel Teresa
#10 of 25 in San Vigilio
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#9 of 25 in San Vigilio
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Sella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Sella

Address: Strada Catarina Lanz 7, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in San Vigilio
Price Range: £169 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Sella 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Sella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing