We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boulder Bear Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Minocqua)
US$82
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Saint Germain)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Lodge(Boulder Junction)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
19
10
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgas stationnorth woodsmotor lodgeair conditionerin townvilas countynext morningthe location is perfectright next doordeer feedinghot tubrefrigeratornoisebouldertrailarea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 32 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This place was fantastic. Very clean - I don't think I'd ever been to a hotel that was this clean that wasn't new. And, they vacuum every day - another big surprise. The refrigerator in the room was a wonderful thing to have. We didn't eat the complementary breakfast because we were looking for more than is offered here, but if you want just cereal and a small pastry this would be fine. The location is great - close to downtown and convenient to the gas station. Lots of eating choices within a few miles too - or you can just walk downtown. Not many shops in town if you're looking for shopping but the ones there are nice. We liked it that a paved bike trail is just across the street and there is a bike rack on the property which is also very nice. The only con we found with this stay was the bed was pretty uncomfortable - very lumpy, firm mattress and pretty firm, flat pillows. The room temperature was comfortable and when we ran the heat just to get the chill out of the room each morning, the heater ran very quiet. We'd definitely stay again if we are in Boulder Junction. The price was right and the owners friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We'd recommend a room in the back - it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackm0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The rooms are basic but very clean. Try to get a room in the back so you have a better view of the deer. The kids loved that! The location is great. It is walking distance to many things in town, such as trails, shops, restaurants and ice cream. Although, we found many shops and restaurants have limited hours, especially on Mondays. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. They gave us some good tips on places to visit. You could tell the owners not only cared about their place but they cared about the reputation of the whole community.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed here with my family for a few days last week. The motel is quite basic, but acceptable. I would probably have given a 4 star rating if the air conditioner had worked properly.

Pros:
*Room was very clean. The bathroom and room carpeting were exceptionally clean.
*Location was very convenient, although I was surprised at how lifeless the town was. I expected it to be more touristy and have more going on. There were very few shops, and the ones there were seemed to have very limited hours.
*Room was very quiet. I didn't hear any noise at all while trying to sleep. Rooms in the back are slightly more expensive, but seem much quieter. Front rooms may have more noise from the road and parking lot.
*Whirlpool was nice.
*Nice to have a good size refrigerator in room.
*Good water pressure in shower.

Cons:
*The weather was exceptionally hot during our visit, yet the air conditioner did not work acceptably. On our first night, We couldn't get it to work at all, and we had a hard time sleeping. The next night, it turned on, but then turned off and wouldn't go back on. We woke up feeling very hot again during the night.
*Bath towels are extremely small.
*Beds were not very comfortable.

Advice:
*Reserve a room in the back.
*Ask the staff when the best time to see deer in the back is. If you go by chance, you may not get to see any. There is a very limited time window in the evening of when they show up.
*Bring your own bath towels if you have room in your luggage.
*If you don't want the cereal and doughnut breakfast provided, yet don't want a big eggs benedict or 3-egg omelet type breakfast, go to the bakery shop next door, They have great breakfast sandwiches that are very tasty, but not excessively heavy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paanbrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel was clean with a very friendly staff. Access to little downtown Boulder Junction was great - shops, wine bar, awesome greenhouse, The Granary restaurant, and a paved bike trail that is definitely worth checking out.

Downsides - The parking lot is gravel and dusty. Continental breakfast could be upgraded just a little bit to include better coffee fixin's and real oJ.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amarielew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews