We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be Missed in Boulder Junction!”
Review of Big Bear Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Hideaway
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Big Bear Hideaway is so extraordinary that I'm writing this while still enjoying the Polar Bear Palace! This amazing lodging is a true (wood) work of art. Everywhere you turn is something magnificent in wood, a whimsical face peeking out of a tree branch, a carved black bear shooting a layup...it is really quite impossible to describe this incredible experience...you'll just have to see and enjoy it for yourself. Polar Bear Palace is spacious, super comfortable, hospitable and immaculate. The grounds are just delightful; we love sitting in the rockers on our porch and enjoy the smell of the pines. We are delighted that our dog was welcome, too. We will be back, again and again!

Room Tip: Each lodge is unique, so talk with Mary and Joe to determine which space would be most appropriate f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbkatz1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great Great place to stay...from the architecture, to the grounds and especially the hospitality and service provided are second to none. Easy access to snowmobile trails and good places to eat and drink in town.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is our third stay over the past 18 months at the Big Bear Hideaway. Let's just say, we are addicted to the place! Every stay here has been a real pleasure. Owners, Joe & Mary, are wonderful and so accomodating. They bend over backwards to make each guest feel at home. Each cottage has been lovingly and meticulously hand-crafted by Joe. They are truly works of art in the use of natural materials. Every visit, I discover some amazing detail of his craftmanship that I overlooked on our last visit. The cottages are beautifully maintained by the housekeeping staff and have all the amenities to provide for a lovely stay. Kitchens are so well-appointed that if you want to whip up a meal, you'll have everything you need.The best part of Big Bear Hideaway is its location,which is so convenient. When we arrive, we just leave our car parked in front of our cottage and walk everywhere we want to go. Downtown Boulder Junction is just a short walk away with its great selection of restaurants and pubs. Although we are not sledders, the snowmobile trails are so close by that you can be out on the trails in a matter of minutes. Each cottage has ample parking space to allow for both sleds and cars. This weekend, Big Bear was host to many sledders, and it was great to see so many people out enjoying perfect winter weather and well-groomed North Woods trails. Since discovering Big Bear Hideaway, we make it a point to come up here at least twice a year. We have already made our reservations for October, 2013 and can't wait until we're back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife & I have stayed here at least 7 times in 3 years in several different cabins and each time we have been overwhelmed by the beauty of the cabins and the grounds. Each visit we find peace & serenity. The pavilion is a wonderful touch to compliment the buildings. We highly recommend this nice getaway. The owners are so welcoming & make sure we have everything we need.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gman8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have just returned from a lovely getaway at Big Bear Hideaway. We have stayed at Big Bear at least 10 times and truly enjoy the unique experience it provides. Each cabin is one of a kind . We have been lucky enough to stay in all of the cabins over the last few years and each provides its own flair and architechural detail. They are completely log and stone with so many nooks and crannies to explore; There are hand carved features that you will not find anywhere else in the world.In fact, you can spend hours exploring the grounds and open areas such as the the central gathering place, the Welcome Den. Joe Hovel who was the builder and is the current owner is a fantastically gifted artist.Joe and Mary are hospitable and kind hosts. There is a large fire pit to gather around for a cocktail in the evening(or s'mores with the kids), an on your honor bar in the main lodge Welcome Den, a building with a sauna and exercise room, stables. Each cabin has a lovely open living room, kitchen(we have never cooked but it is an option) and at least two bedrooms.But it is the exquisite detail from each hand carved lamp and chandelier to the shelves and the items on them that will take your breath away. Visit their web site at bigbearhideaway.com/ for photos and desriptions of each of the cabins and to help determine which cabin you would most like to stay in. We prefer to travel to Boulder Junction off season in early spring and early fall as 3- night romantic getaways and it is the perfect place to be.Dogs are welcome for an extra charge. I highly recommend Big Bear!! Holly Lang

Room Tip: Visit the web site to check out each cabin and the features within each. Dogs are welcome.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Big Bear Hideaway is a must-stay for anyone vacationing in the Boulder Junction area! We had a fantastic family getaway with our three kids. The wood carvings on the property are one-of-a-kind and the log cabins are truly special works of art. Each of the cabins offer spacious living rooms and comfortable bedrooms. We stayed at the Kodiak Kastle -- the kids still talk about weeks later. The location is perfect -- walk to town and short drive to most everything else. Best of all are the hosts, Joe and Mary. You will not find owners more dedicated to making sure you'll have a memorable time. If you are looking for a truly unique getaway, you've got to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsheFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Big Bear Hideaway was one of the best decisions my wife and I made for our wedding! We had our wedding in the north woods and rented the whole complex for our reception in July 2012. We had our families stay in all of the cabins and everyone loved it, especially the character of each different cabin! The workmanship in the cabins is a work of art. If you are planning to take a vacation with the family or even just going as 2, there are different cabins to choose from, and each cabin accomodates for different size families, from 2 people all the way up to 10 people. Each place is air conditioned and has wonderful charm. Wake up to deer eating and take a short walk to downtown Boulder Junction for breakfast, coffee and shopping or just relax in the sauna the Big Bear Hideaway has. For my wife and I the best thing about the Big Bear Hideaway are the owners! Their service and helpfulness went above and beyond what they needed to do to help make our day special! We have them to thank for making our wedding a beautiful and memorable weekend. They have become our friends and we will gladly be coming back to stay at the Big Bear Hideaway for future vacations. Believe me there is no need to look at a hotel elsewhere! This place alone will make your vacation memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
15.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
173 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
19.5 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Hideaway

Address: 10482 West Main Street, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9766
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing