We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, incredible lodging!”
Review of Big Bear Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Hideaway
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Joe & Mary Hovel, owners & builders of Big Bear Hideaway, have truly created one of the most unique lodging experiences in the Northwoods. We stayed in the Grizzly cabin and could not believe the attention to detail and the overall coziness of the place. Everything was ultra-clean as well. We also loved that we were able to bring our dogs for a small extra charge!

The setting is beautiful as well, with conserved, very majestic Red Pines everywhere. While not on the water, the place is walking distance to the charming town of Boulder Junction. We also dined at Aqualand Ale House, almost next door to Big Bear, and were not disappointed, so make it a point to head over there for a meal or two during your stay.

If you're looking for high-quality lodging at a reasonable cost that is close to amenities, do not hesitate to give Big Bear Hideaway a try!

Room Tip: The Grizzly Cabin is perfect to couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenellynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just back from our second trip to Big Bear Hideaway. We love it! There's plenty to keep the kids busy and yet the adults can relax. The owners are awesome! They have created a fun but calming environment for all ages. We love watching the deer and being so close to downtown. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Big Bear Hideaway is so extraordinary that I'm writing this while still enjoying the Polar Bear Palace! This amazing lodging is a true (wood) work of art. Everywhere you turn is something magnificent in wood, a whimsical face peeking out of a tree branch, a carved black bear shooting a layup...it is really quite impossible to describe this incredible experience...you'll just have to see and enjoy it for yourself. Polar Bear Palace is spacious, super comfortable, hospitable and immaculate. The grounds are just delightful; we love sitting in the rockers on our porch and enjoy the smell of the pines. We are delighted that our dog was welcome, too. We will be back, again and again!

Room Tip: Each lodge is unique, so talk with Mary and Joe to determine which space would be most appropriate f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbkatz1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great Great place to stay...from the architecture, to the grounds and especially the hospitality and service provided are second to none. Easy access to snowmobile trails and good places to eat and drink in town.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is our third stay over the past 18 months at the Big Bear Hideaway. Let's just say, we are addicted to the place! Every stay here has been a real pleasure. Owners, Joe & Mary, are wonderful and so accomodating. They bend over backwards to make each guest feel at home. Each cottage has been lovingly and meticulously hand-crafted by Joe. They are truly works of art in the use of natural materials. Every visit, I discover some amazing detail of his craftmanship that I overlooked on our last visit. The cottages are beautifully maintained by the housekeeping staff and have all the amenities to provide for a lovely stay. Kitchens are so well-appointed that if you want to whip up a meal, you'll have everything you need.The best part of Big Bear Hideaway is its location,which is so convenient. When we arrive, we just leave our car parked in front of our cottage and walk everywhere we want to go. Downtown Boulder Junction is just a short walk away with its great selection of restaurants and pubs. Although we are not sledders, the snowmobile trails are so close by that you can be out on the trails in a matter of minutes. Each cottage has ample parking space to allow for both sleds and cars. This weekend, Big Bear was host to many sledders, and it was great to see so many people out enjoying perfect winter weather and well-groomed North Woods trails. Since discovering Big Bear Hideaway, we make it a point to come up here at least twice a year. We have already made our reservations for October, 2013 and can't wait until we're back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife & I have stayed here at least 7 times in 3 years in several different cabins and each time we have been overwhelmed by the beauty of the cabins and the grounds. Each visit we find peace & serenity. The pavilion is a wonderful touch to compliment the buildings. We highly recommend this nice getaway. The owners are so welcoming & make sure we have everything we need.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gman8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have just returned from a lovely getaway at Big Bear Hideaway. We have stayed at Big Bear at least 10 times and truly enjoy the unique experience it provides. Each cabin is one of a kind . We have been lucky enough to stay in all of the cabins over the last few years and each provides its own flair and architechural detail. They are completely log and stone with so many nooks and crannies to explore; There are hand carved features that you will not find anywhere else in the world.In fact, you can spend hours exploring the grounds and open areas such as the the central gathering place, the Welcome Den. Joe Hovel who was the builder and is the current owner is a fantastically gifted artist.Joe and Mary are hospitable and kind hosts. There is a large fire pit to gather around for a cocktail in the evening(or s'mores with the kids), an on your honor bar in the main lodge Welcome Den, a building with a sauna and exercise room, stables. Each cabin has a lovely open living room, kitchen(we have never cooked but it is an option) and at least two bedrooms.But it is the exquisite detail from each hand carved lamp and chandelier to the shelves and the items on them that will take your breath away. Visit their web site at bigbearhideaway.com/ for photos and desriptions of each of the cabins and to help determine which cabin you would most like to stay in. We prefer to travel to Boulder Junction off season in early spring and early fall as 3- night romantic getaways and it is the perfect place to be.Dogs are welcome for an extra charge. I highly recommend Big Bear!! Holly Lang

Room Tip: Visit the web site to check out each cabin and the features within each. Dogs are welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
248 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
17.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
19.5 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Hideaway

Address: 10482 West Main Street, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9766
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing