We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great locally owned bistro”

North Star American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
North Star American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 166 Restaurants in Brookfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brookfield Rd.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great locally owned bistro”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We always try to frequent the locally owned places when possible. NSAB has a very eclectic menu, reasonably priced, very well plated and served in a timely manner. Friendly bar scene too. Thursday happy hours are phenomenal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistent Goodness”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a restaurant that I used to dine at more frequently when I worked near by. This was my first trip back in over 2 years and it was still as good as I remember it. The service is always impeccable and today was no different. The food selection ranges from soup and salad to entrees. All the meals I have ever had has been top notch. I highly recommend it for a business lunch or going out with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I visit here after a spa day with my girlfriends. It's a bit on the pricey side but its a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail and a swanky lunch. I have never been here for dinner,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the 6th time I've eaten here and I was very disappointed. Six of us met for a birthday lunch on a Saturday. Three of us ordered burgers and they were served warm, not hot! All three were very dry. Two of us had the Cowboy Burger (which I've had before and was delish). The buns were not toasted, hardly had any BBQ sauce or onion strings. Very disappointing especially since I had raved to my friends about how great the food was. Another had the shrimp with pasta and it looked like half an order! The other two entrees were fine. Although one of us had to wait for her duck pizza because the first one had burned while they were making it. Service was slow, which was strange since only 3-4 tables were filled with people. While our server was very knowledgeable about the specials she never came back to ask how our food was. We did complain when she came back at the end of the meal. We were comped for dessert due to our complaints about the food. (Maybe a new chef that day.....)

I will return and see if it was just a bad chef day! Hopefully our complaints will help. North Star also does the food for the Sharon Wilson Center's outdoor concerts and it's always been very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailLee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
174 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great menu, good drinks”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We visited with friends and enjoyed their extensive selection of choices on their menue fromfresh fish to ddteaks and everything in between. Terrific atmosphere for just about any venue. Service was friendly and timely. This was our second visit and we'll definitely return. Just a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonW763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Star American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to North Star American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing