We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting & Friendly”

North Star American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
North Star American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 166 Restaurants in Brookfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brookfield Rd.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
318 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Inviting & Friendly”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We showed up with friends at 6:30 on a Saturday evening and were fortunate enough to be seated immediately at a 4 top in the bar. The menu has some really interesting choices: our group's entrees ranged from meatloaf and steak to char and whitefish. We had an excellent charcuterie to start the meal. Service was very good and we weren't rushed. The décor features lots of wood and white tablecloths. Our server was friendly and efficient. Overall, a very nice meal at a place a little more upscale (and pricey) than most of its culinary neighbors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, local restaurant”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My sister, niece and I celebrated our mother's 90th birthday at this excellent, local bistro last Friday. The decor was clean and fresh, our server, Drew, was attentive, witty and knowledgeable, and all of our meals were wonderful! I will surely return on my next visit back to Milwaukee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great locally owned bistro”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We always try to frequent the locally owned places when possible. NSAB has a very eclectic menu, reasonably priced, very well plated and served in a timely manner. Friendly bar scene too. Thursday happy hours are phenomenal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistent Goodness”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a restaurant that I used to dine at more frequently when I worked near by. This was my first trip back in over 2 years and it was still as good as I remember it. The service is always impeccable and today was no different. The food selection ranges from soup and salad to entrees. All the meals I have ever had has been top notch. I highly recommend it for a business lunch or going out with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I visit here after a spa day with my girlfriends. It's a bit on the pricey side but its a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail and a swanky lunch. I have never been here for dinner,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Star American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to North Star American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing