We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch”

North Star American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
North Star American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 165 Restaurants in Brookfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brookfield Rd.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had lunch on a recent weekday with another couple at the Brookfield location. None of us had been to North Star before, but we did receive a recommendation from friends. The restaurant has quite an appealing décor. It looks formal, yet feels very comfortable and relaxing. Our wait person was excellent, providing advice pertaining to the menu and ensuring that we were not in need of anything. The food was great. WE started the meal with a cup of basil tomato soup, which was thick, fresh and had a terrific flavor. Three of us had salads which were fresh, nicely presented and quite tasty. The fourth member had a baby back rib Panini which was tender, juicy and delicious. Overall, this was an excellent experience with a tasty meal. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

North Star American Bistro has become a go-to favorite for us since moving to Brookfield almost two years ago. We have found the food to be consistently excellent and the servers friendly and knowledgeable. We have been there in a variety of configurations: as a couple, in a group of seven, and with another couple. Each visit was enjoyable.

The restaurant appears to be clean, and white tablecloths, covered with white butcher paper, dress the tables. It has a welcoming and somewhat formal feel.

We were there on a Friday for lunch, when the fish fry is on the menu. If you enjoy fish fries, do try this. The cod is lightly battered and delicate. The meal comes with delicious potato pancakes, cole slaw, and apple sauce. Other selections that I can personally recommend are the beef bourguignon with mashed potatoes, and the warm chicken and apple salad. The French onion soup is one of the restaurant’s specialties and is very good, as is the mushroom soup.

There are different items on the lunch and dinner menus, and there is something for everyone, from salads, soups, and sandwiches to dinner entrées and pizzas. Seating is available in the bar as well as in the dining room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dare2BGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs better supervision of staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I like North Star American Bistro in Brookfield. I live withiin walking distance. I enjoy eating in the bar area. On several occasions the bar and waitstaff are so busy talking amongst themselves that it was hard to get anyones attention. On an occasion several months ago I was waiting at the hostess desk to ask about a table and I could see her and a server in a back room that was clearly visible at the hostess desk, rough housing with each other and were clearly irritated when I interrupted them. I like the food here and it is convenient, I hope management gets their act together and pays attention to what is happening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DblmtDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It all adds up to perfect”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

All of the parts add up to a perfect evening; at the Shorewood location there is a dining room for families, so mom and dad can have a more enjoyable meal, the drink menu is extensive, the food is amazing, and the staff most welcoming. Everyone will love it! And they appreciated that we were there for our anniversary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueDanube2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable price!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

No complaints at all for this east side gem. Wonderful drinks, a menu ranging from burgers and pizza to unique entrees. Have eaten several times and never disappointed. Sometimes there's a wait, but well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rclarkMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Star American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to North Star American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing