We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Capsule Resort in a Beautiful Setting”
Review of Lakewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakewoods Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our experience was pretty good while staying here for a family wedding but you've got to understand what you're getting into:

1. Pool/lodge rooms. DO NOT book these. They are outdated, musty and not very nice. The doors to poolside room are literally 6' away from the pool edge so you'll get all the noise, smell and humidity in your room.

2. Condos are hit/miss. All are independently owned so they vary in decor and amenities. My advice is to request photos ahead of time and confirm for a specific unit vs. a generic 2-bedroom. I can fully recommend #218 as very updated, clean and comfortable with a huge TV + 2 fireplaces. Our family had 3 other condos which ranged fom "kabin kitsch" to "somewhat outdated" to "downright awful" so it's critical to know which unit you'll be getting.

3. Wifi also is hit/miss. Sometimes it worked well for brief periods but mostly it didn't.

4. The restaurant is "meh". It's ok for bar food but if you want a good meal drive about 2 miles to Garmisch.

5. The bar is fun, especially is Kerry is bartening. He makes a mean old fashioned.

6. There is a golf course, some fairly rundown tennis courts, a nice small outdoor pool (heated!) and a decent indoor pool with a big hot tub. Great for families, but don't expect luxury.

In short, Lakewoods had it's heyday in the 60's-70's and could use some updating. Enjoy it for what it is - a time capsule to "the old up north".

Room Tip: Confirm specifically which condo you are getting and request photos. # 218 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just stayed here this past weekend, will not be back until they complete a whole scale renovation. Room we had was right off the pool, and the outer walls and doors were warped from moisture. The electronic key reader had mold and mildew as well, keeping this polished in a high moisture environment should be on every housekeepers check list. Room was clean for the most part, though very outdated. The mattress in 403 was terrrible, wife and I both woke up with back aches and neither of us slept all that well. TV was old tube type and with very poor reception and only a few channels. It almost looked like there was no shower head, but it was there, just a tiny 'shotgun' head, had to turn on shower to be sure! Had a patio overlooking the lake that was a nice view. The patio needs a power washing, and the light outside did not work, bare bulb on old socket, no cover.. Was going to have dinner there, but checking reviews, could not find a single even decent review of the restuarant, and given what we were looking at in the room, made sense. We went up the road to the Rookery, and that was a great place with fantastic food! All in all, really could not wait to leave on Satuday morning. As an FYI, I was a Rooms Division Manager for Sheraton for many years and know what I speak of. In this day and age, hotels have to either step up or step out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaverneFishpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group over 4th of July. It is so nice on the lake. Very nice beach but the pier thing sunk while we were at the beach. Nice sand volleyball court. Great bonfire pit. Love the outdoor pool. Now for the inside. Pool area and hot tub. DIRTY. bathrooms by pool are consistently slimy disgusting. There is no way they are cleaned more than once. Standing water by toilet. Ick. Restuarnt is so so.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sickofwinter07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

just spent a couple days at Lakewoods and so sad to see how the lodge has deterioted. we have always loved visting lakewoods but the lodge rooms are in such need of an update. may as well take the tv out of the rooms and no microwave or frig...room very outdated. Will give the workers a plus, plus grade and food was AWESOME! but overall with the room conditions... we would not stay there again but definetly stop by for the food and the great bartenders!. music in the bar/restaurant was terrible until a few of us commented but that changed the next day....

Room Tip: your customer service was wonderful but lodging was so disappointing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeaconWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My Nephew and I reserved a snowmobile for rent and Lakewoods two days before driving four hours to the resort. I had a sled of my own and we only needed a rental for him. The entire purpose of the trip was to get a full day of riding in on Saturday. At dinner Friday night, we were flagged down and told that one of the machines broke down and that we may not get one; we understand that these things can happen. The owner assured us that they would work on an alternative and to check back the next morning. When we checked back in, we were simply handed a piece of paper with a phone number to a rental place and were told to "check them out." Apparently it was now our problem to go find another snowmobile and I called multiple places over the course of 1.5 hours. As it turned out, Lakewoods ended up having a machine available as another party didn't show at 10:00am; two hours after we had planned to be on the trails. We rented this machine and after riding it for a short period of time, we could tell there was something wrong. The machine slid all over the trails and was very difficult to control for my Nephew. After my Nephew expressed concern, I rode it and could tell there was something very wrong with how this machine tracked over snow; I've been riding snowmobiles for 25 years and this was not normal. We were too far out to turn around (after all, we had one day to ride and this was the sole purpose of the trip) but I called Lakewoods to notify them that I felt something was wrong. In the end, we returned the sled and were refused a refund of $210.00. In addition, I was billed for the phone calls to the other rental places in the area if you can believe that. It's really a shame that they don't understand true customer service and satisfaction. They'd rather collect their $210.00 than to see our normal crew of 15 come back like we have for 10+ trips; unfortunately those days are over. I would recommend the Garmish as a place that truly "gets it." Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MNTravler6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakewoodsFamily, General Manager at Lakewoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

It is unfortunate the party needs to place blame for circumstances beyond our control. The snowmobile they had reserved suffered a mechanical failure when the previous operator burned out a cylinder on a machine with under 2,000 miles. We contacted the party as soon as we found out and located an available snowmobile at a local rental outfit. However, we are unable to rent snowmobiles for other parties and it is necessary for them to do so themselves. We gave the party the contact information and instructions to contact them in the morning. When another party did not pick up their reserved machine in time, we did rent the available machine to them. If something was “very wrong with” this machine and it was noticeably malfunctioning in “a short period of time” we question why it was not brought in earlier so we could remedy the problem. Instead, after a full day of use, they asked for a complete refund of the rental. Phil, Lakewoods’ owner, went with the renter and examined the snowmobile for mechanical defaults. Finding none, they discussed snow conditions as being the primary factor to the handling issue. At no time did the renter discuss phone charges with him. Although arrangements were made locally, we would be happy to reimburse him for long distance charges which were used to check on other rentals outside our area, as we do not charge for local calls. The machine was used for the full day, so we did charge them for the use of the machine. We’re sorry the renter felt this was unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have no idea how this place got any good reviews? It is a dump, unsafe, unclean and would not ever go back. Nothing worked in any of the rooms are party rented. Low expectations will be fufilled. Pictures are so deceiving.Owers should clean up the rooms in the lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I chose this resort and the home rental(Snow'd Inn) online. We had a great one-week vacation!
The home was large and beautiful. The firepit was used every night. We rented a like-new pontoon boat from the marina and kept it at the house--used it for tubing and to go to dinner. We loved the walleye and roast beef! The resort outdoor pool was perfect for the children(they liked it better than the beach). The golf course was excellent. The only negative we found was very slow service at lunch in the dining room. We didn't try breakfast. Service was not a problem at dinner.
We enjoyed Hayward and the Wilderness Walk & Lumberjack show.

Room Tip: Snow'd Inn is a beautiful home. It was totally comfortable for our family of 10(6 adults, 4 chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCS3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
190 reviews
21.9 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Hayward
102 reviews
23.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#13 of 15 in Hayward
22 reviews
53.8 mi away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 9 in Superior
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Address: 21540 County Highway M, Cable, WI 54821-4509
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range: £86 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewoods Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lakewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing