We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Telemark Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Many disappointments”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Telemark Resort's website is very misleading... "In the spirit of hospitality, the staff of Telemark Resort & Convention Center extends a warm welcome to you. We are dedicated to providing you with services and accommodations that are beyond compare. When you choose Telemark Resort & Convention Center we want your stay with us to be relaxing and exceed every expectation."

A small group of friends went for a little ski getaway. We entered the grand lobby which was very dark and the fireplace was not on and there was not a very noticeable employee at the front desk. The hallways were all very chilly. Our suite was very outdated (very apparent that it was built in the 70's) with the brown metal kitchennette and blue thick carpet, etc. There's probably a reason why pictures of the suites are not on the website. There was not bedding for the pullout sofa so we went down to the front desk to ask for bedding. The guy said he would see what he could do to find some. Strange to think that he would not know where the bedding was, plus we seemed to be one of the few guests there. He did bring up some sheets and a thin blanket. But after the first night, we realized it was not enough as the balcony doors were very drafty and some in our group were cold. The next day the housekeepers stopped by, but did not clean our room - just brought more towels. We asked them for more blankets, which they said they would but never did. Then in the evening we asked at the front desk, and again were told they would see what they could do. We had to actually stop by again and finally they got a comforter from another room. It was just so strange that bedding was so hard to come by in an empty lodge.

The website says "enjoy a book in front of our magnificent field stone fireplace" but the truth is they hardly ever turn the fireplace on since "it's too expensive" as we were told. The lobby & sitting areas were chilly so not at all cozy. The hot tub was out of order and we were told it might be fixed that next day but we later found out that it has been out of order for months. The sauna & bathrooms were not near the pool so you had to walk down the cold hallway to get from the sauna to the pool.

The hallways were dirty and were never vacuumed the whole time we were there (2 days). Some doors had stickers with the room #, others did not. Some rooms didn't have door knobs or locks. Some of the hallways were stinky and some smelled for smoking. We also saw people leaving with dogs.

The front staff didn't seem to know much about the ski trails though they are maintained by the resort. The trails were beautiful but never groomed the 2 days we were there (Fri & Sat).

You can tell it was a grand place at one time, but it needs a LOT of updates. I think they may be doing some renovating, but it seems to be in scattered areas. But the biggest thing that does not cost $ is good service and training the employees where things are and about your facility.

The stay was very strange and puzzling, and I would not come here again.

Room Tip: I guess ask for a renovated room as others have said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luv2Travel527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amery
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I've stayed at Telemark several times. I really feel you have to know the history of the lodge and events surrounding it to appreciate it, otherwise, it's mediocore at best. We stayed in a renovated room. The beds were comfortable and new. The furniture really did not blend in with the 70's feel of the room with the barn board on the wall, but that's not important to me. The shower dripped the enitre time we were there and there was a puddle of water on the floor from the shower when we first checked in. The price is high for a nights stay considering what you get with your stay. Sometimes they have bagels and coffee in the lobby for breakfast and sometimes they dont. The lobby is striking with the fieldstone fire place. Location is nice outside of Cable if you like the out of doors. Lots of trails availablel to try close to the lodge. A great place to stay if you love winter sports. Close to snowmobile and cross country ski trails. They have a boat landing on Lake Namekagan about 5 miles down the road if you like fishing. I've heard the lodge is a feature on a history channel show called "Hotel Impossibe". Hopefully they'll do some further renovating.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ShelleS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here for the Birkie Run in September. Online reservations are not possible, which is hard to believe in this day and age. Receiving information over the phone on room rates was cumbersome, and I don't like having to pay a one night's deposit in advance, but apparently that is the way things go here. On arrival I thought the hotel would be bustling with activity, but alas, it was fairly quiet for an event that had more than 1,000 participants. The main area of the lodge was impressive with a grand fireplace and sitting area. Rooms were old but had been updated with more contemporary furniture. The bathroom was dated, and the water was just warm enough to be tolerable. Hotel provided soap was about the smallest bar of soap I've ever seen come out of a package, which to be honest seems an odd place for hotel management to save a few pennies (literally). The carpet in the hallways was a trip hazard and needed to be stretched throughout the facility. Our room had a lengthy book that provided a lot of history on the lodge, and clearly the lodge thrived in another era many decades ago. The condition of the lodge is dated and is in need of serious repair. Despite the failing conditions of the lodge, the location is terrific with immediate access to a large network of trails for skiing, biking, and running. I would stay here again although I would not come here for the lodge itself; instead, I'd come for the location and the outdoor activities that are so convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cable hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Had a very nice stay at Telemark for the Birkie Trail Run. Lots of history in this unique venue. Staff was very accommodating. Food and service were excellent. Room had several improments , including a fridge and king size bed bathroom needed work. Look forward to coming back in January.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtiss, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed there the first weekend in August as there was no place to stay that weekend in Superior or around there so we were led to this place.... We would definitely stay there again and the food was awesome too!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarleenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Java place is the best. The staff is great ans the location is in a very nice part of WI and everyine need to stay here at least once. the airport next door is very nice to watch planes. they have lots of fun things to do inside and outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KC9NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon (round one), and upon arrival, were disappointed to find our room disheveled--bed not made, bathroom not stocked, etc. We reported this to Darrel in the main office, and he promptly upgraded us to a nicer room--fully prepared and stocked--twice the size and with a large Jacuzzi!! We were amazed and very grateful. One negative was that the AC never kicked in full-force, and it was July...

It was clean and has beautiful surroundings. There were many other guests, but only heard our neighbors upstairs once. It was the perfect "get-away" we were looking for. Five minutes from the cute town "Cable," and relatively isolated with beautiful landscape in every direction.

The restaurant on the property was amazing, too! Great service, and the food was outstanding!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voelker126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
17.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
186 reviews
17.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Hayward
99 reviews
17.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#12 of 14 in Hayward
21 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakewoods Resort
Lakewoods Resort
#2 of 3 in Cable
142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemark Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemark Resort & Convention Center

Property: Telemark Resort & Convention Center
Address: 42225 Telemark Rd, Cable, WI 54821-4974 (Formerly Telemark Lodge)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of hospitality, the staff of Telemark Resort & Convention Center extends a warm welcome to you. We are dedicated to providing you with services and accommodations that are beyond compare. When you choose Telemark Resort & Convention Center we want your stay with us to be relaxing and exceed every expectation.Lifestyle abounds at Telemark Resort & Convention Center with something for everyone. With miles of biking, hiking and ski trails, fishing and golf, to endless events and activities, the resort and surrounding area will keep you busy. If you desire a quieter setting, enjoy a book in front of our magnificent field stone fireplace or peaceful pond.Telemark Resort and Convention Center is the largest meeting and recreation destination in Northwestern Wisconsin. We are located right next to the vast Chequamegon National Forest, just 3.5 hours from the Twin Cities, 5 hours from Green Bay and 7.5 hours from Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Telemark Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telemark Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing