We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Telemark Resort is great open or closed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Telemark Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Telemark is key the the Birkiebiener race in Feb. when thousands of skiiers arrive and collide on the trails. It's fallen to hard times, and the place looks dated. On the plus side, it has it's own airstrip, great ski trails, bike and hiking trails. We plan to be there for the Birkie this year again, and I'm told, thru a volunteer effort, the lodge will be open. If it closes for good, it will be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sparkomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have so many fond memories of going to Telemark every year. There would be like 10 - 15 families and friends that would rent out the townhouses right on the ski hill. It was wonderful!!! This is of course about 30+ years ago, but really some of the best memories. I hope and pray they can revive this beautiful Resort. <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ManicAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The property is in foreclosure as of the end of winter 2013. Hard time turning it around. Nice area, hopefully someone can come in and make a go of it again. How it will impact the Birkie 2014 is up in the air right now.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
29  Thank southportgirlMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The only positive thing I can say about the Telemark Lodge is that the beds were clean and very comfortable. The lobby was dingy and outdated. The ceiling tiles were falling down and the advertised "roaring fire" was a flicker of gas in the corner of the fireplace. The hallways were dirty with ceiling tiles falling down, the carpets dirty and the doors chipped and dirty. The floors in both the rooms and halls were spongy in places. The furniture in the rooms was retro 1950's. The floor in the bathroom was dirty, cracked and spongy.
The hot tub temp was hot but the jets didn't work, there was sand in the pool and misc hair, etc floating on the top of the water.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant/bar and the hashbrowns were cold and undercooked, the eggs had a rancid taste to them and the toast was hard and crispy. We looked around the restaurant and most people were leaving full plates of food on the tables when they left.
A positive was the coffee shop. The mocha was freshly made and delicious.
The Fat Bike race experience was well organized but I don't think that it was because of the Telemark.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There was no spa or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for the Birkie the last 2 years and can tell that improvements are being made. The room I was in looked like it had some new furnishings in both the bedroom and bathroom but still needed some work. The resort is in the perfect location and the room worked out just fine for the weekend. Looking forward to my stay here next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank StudentTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We ventured up to Cable to snowmobile for a week. We stayed in the time share condo's owner by Telemark. The condo was great, nice layout and ammenities! The administration was very helpful and accomidating! Would definately go back!
We were allowed to use the facilities at the lodge, but there wasn't much to use!
I guess the resort has recently changed ownership and it is in need of some updating.
Lovely lodge and small ski area near the lodge. Stopped in to have a bite to eat, but the restaurant was closed. :( NOBODY was around!
It stil seemed well kept, but it could be a very inviting place.
Hope things get better for them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

our snowmobiling club booked the Telemark resort back in october for our annual snowmobile club ride. We knew they had been shut down for a very long time but the manager was helpful in reassuring us that they were doing everything they could to getthe resort back up and running including accommodating snowmobilers (which they didn't do in the past). When we arrived later in the evening the first thing we noticed was the huge beautiful grand fireplace in the lobby of the reception area. The problem was it wasn't lit which is so unfortunate because it is the first thing you see when you walk in!! (it wasn't lit the entire weekend) Check in went smoothly (we were the only ones checking in) and yes the room was outdated but it was clean! after putting our things in our room we went to the bar/restaurant to meet up with our club. we had 25 people staying at the resort and when we got there we were told they had run out of several types of beer and some types of liquer!! What really you have a bar and you run out of the most popular beer and liquer?? OK so maybe they are used to skiers and not snowmobilers. The manager did run to town and purchase more beer so it did turn out ok. The food at the restaurant was very good but slow slow slow!! There were three bartenders/wait staff and it was all you could do to get them get you a drink wow if they think 25 snowmobilers is a lot wait till the Birkie people show thats like thousands!! I will say one bartender Waylen was really good and tried! Also Peggy the morning waitress also tried and had a witty sense of humer that kept us laughing. The pool was open as was the hot tub minus the jets working on it however the gym was closed. Check out sucked!! There was a huge line and only one worker! I hope they can figure out how to make some changes because the place was and could be once again a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
16.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
191 reviews
16.8 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
6 mi away
Lakewoods Resort
Lakewoods Resort
#2 of 3 in Cable
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
18.1 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#15 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 15 in Hayward
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemark Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemark Resort & Convention Center

Address: 42225 Telemark Rd, Cable, WI 54821-4974 (Formerly Telemark Lodge)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of hospitality, the staff of Telemark Resort & Convention Center extends a warm welcome to you. We are dedicated to providing you with services and accommodations that are beyond compare. When you choose Telemark Resort & Convention Center we want your stay with us to be relaxing and exceed every expectation.Lifestyle abounds at Telemark Resort & Convention Center with something for everyone. With miles of biking, hiking and ski trails, fishing and golf, to endless events and activities, the resort and surrounding area will keep you busy. If you desire a quieter setting, enjoy a book in front of our magnificent field stone fireplace or peaceful pond.Telemark Resort and Convention Center is the largest meeting and recreation destination in Northwestern Wisconsin. We are located right next to the vast Chequamegon National Forest, just 3.5 hours from the Twin Cities, 5 hours from Green Bay and 7.5 hours from Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Telemark Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telemark Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing