We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Northwoods Resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garmisch USA Resort
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Prime Northwoods Resort”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

23 years ago we moved back to Wisconsin to start our family. With two pre-school children, we decided on a long fall weekend getaway. I discovered the Garmisch after reading an article in Wisconsin Trails magazine. I fell in love with the place, and for many years we went back each summer for a week at the lake. The Garmisch so inspired me that I built my own log home and enjoyed that for many years. As parents, you always look to give your kids fond memories of their childhood. The Garmish did just that for my kids. We sold our vacation home a few years ago and went back to the Garmisch with our grown children. Our daughter brought her fiancee and wanted to show him all the hidden play areas she and her brother remembered as kids.

We stayed in many of the cabins over the years, from the Castle to other old and newer accommodations. All of them were clean and functional. Now, since it is just the two of us and our dog, we stay in the Squid, perfect size for us.

For first time visitors, what impressed me was the main lodge. Walking through the front door, you step back in time to old world Wisconsin and can feel the spirits of Chicago gangsters and lumber tycoons. Cozy up to a nice fire and look out over beautiful Lake Namakagon.

We have always been treated more like family than guests from the dog loving owners. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    21
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed last weekend and loved it. It is inviting, comfortable and peaceful. Our room was cozy with a wood burning stove and high ceilings. The surrounding area is great: nature everywhere with hiking trails/waterfalls and Hayward only a short drive away (check out the Angry Minnow brewery for great food and beer).

Room Tip: Any rooms with a lake view are great, but there are no bad rooms. Although the Squid looked a bit c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have been coming to Cable for over 15 years and still this is our favorite place to go. We had an anniversary party here for 40 of our closest friends and family and they couldn't have been more accomodating. Every detail was seen to and our experience couldn't more have been more perfect.
During those 15 years we have stayed in the lodge and some of the cabins and enjoy each experience. We stay there during the summer for boating on Namakagon and the winter for snowmobiling. At Garmisch the food is always fantastic (Friday night fish fry is the best around, try the Fishermans sandwhich and Saturday they have a Prime Rib Manny's would have a hard time competing with). The hospitatily is hard to compare.
This is a great place to stay and every time we leave we can't wait for the next time!!
If we could give more than 5 stars, we would.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lake Namakagon are the most scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We go to Garmisch in Cable every winter! That staff is great! The food in the restaurant is also excellent! For snowmobilers this is the way to do it. Located right off of Lake Namekagon there is a stick trail on the lake, also snowmobile trails right from Garmisch. The trails up in Cable are very well taken care of too which makes for great snowmobiling. I love eating breakfast here! The coffee is infused with a maple syrup flavor that is simply perfect! All around just a great place to go. We have rented 4 different cabins here and the facilities are very clean! Each cabin has its own nostalgia without a doubt. There is even a castle that can be rented out! There are plenty of other restaurants in the area too, but Garmisch is one of the BEST! Definitely worth going here! I haven't been here in the summer, but I think there are boat rentals and it is a good fishing lake from what I heard from the locals (who are also very friendly). Worth the trip!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, all of the cabins are unique in their own way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petchman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

In October 2011 my boyfriend and I stayed at Garmisch USA, a truly amazing place, for three glorious nights. It was like walking back in time, and we found the atmosphere to be incredibly relaxing. Our large room had picture windows on two full sides with a magnificent view of the sparkling lake. It was simply fabulous. Our room had a king size bed and a romantic fireplace, and would be a perfect place for a honeymoon. A door from our room led to an outside bench facing the lake. The leaves were all changing colors and even over a few days we could see the difference in the colors. During the day we sat in red wooden lawn chairs down by the lake and enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. We ate in the dining room every night, always enjoying the view of the lake... and the food was incredible, especially the fish of the day. Every night we had fabulous service and delicious food! We went for long walks during the day, and came away very relaxed and in love. I would highly recommend this gorgeous place! I can't wait to return next fall. . .

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake ... extra price is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have been staying at the Garmisch castle with my family every winter since I was a little kid. This place is simply magical. The restaurant's atmosphere is absolutely fantastic and we have had the best service imaginable, year after year. The resort is so fun to explore and the architecture is amazingly intricate and imaginative. Staying here as a kid was like living in a fairy tale and the magic continues as an adult. There are so many cool places to explore close by the resort as well, such as hiking and mountain biking trails. I can't wait to come back this winter and hopefully again in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topazbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here 4 nights 12/8-12/11/11 with a bunch of families & friends, for our daughter's wedding. My family stayed in The Bean and we were very happy with the cabin. Very clean with large windows and a great gas fireplace. The kitchen area was open and a good size. The Grub cabin next door was also nice. Both are newer cabins. We saw The Castle that some other family stayed in - the rooms are HUGE and it's great for a large family but an older building and decorated in an amusing way. The Bride & Groom stayed in The Bavarian, which is under the restaurant. The suite is very large, and decorated in many styles over the years. The huge bathroom was very nice. The best part of The Bavarian was the lake view!

Room Tip: Dogs allowed in some cabins only, for an extra charge. The Bean and The Grub have wooded views, NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquablue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
22.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakewoods Resort
Lakewoods Resort
#2 of 3 in Cable
140 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
61 reviews
14.4 mi away
Lenroot Lodge
Lenroot Lodge
#9 of 35 in Hayward
10 reviews
24.4 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garmisch USA Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garmisch USA Resort

Property: Garmisch USA Resort
Address: 23040 Garmisch Rd, Cable, WI 54821-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cable
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing