We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garmisch USA Resort
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband & I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Garmisch Inn. I think "welcoming" is a perfect description of it. Our room was clean, spacious & charming. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. The view of the lake was beautiful! The whole place had a comfortable, laid-back, sit & relax sort of atmosphere. It was just what we were looking for! We stayed in the lodge, but the many cabins on the property looked wonderful too & were being enjoyed by lots of families. We would definitely visit again, just the two of us or with family and friends!

Room Tip: Visit the website to choose the room best for you. Our room was just as advertised :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBgal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We journeyed to Garmisch in Cable, Wisconsin the day after Thanksgiving for a one night getaway. While everyone else was out shopping on Black Friday, we were traveling over the river and through the woods, as the song goes. If you are in the mood for the holiday season to begin and want to step back in time to an old-fashioned Christmas, Garmish is the place to be.

Picture a large, great room with big windows and a view of the lake, knotty pine walls, a soaring ceiling, and carved-wood bannisters decorated with garland and lights. Then picture yourself curled up in an old rocking chair beside a roaring fire in the massive stone fireplace in the alcove, or sprawled on one of the big brown leather couches beneath a towering 20 foot Christmas tree, or sitting halfway up the stairs with a drink in your hand, or leaning over the second floor railing to get a birds-eye view of the party below. This was the gathering we experienced for Garmisch's annual lighting of the Christmas tree.

The real charm was that it all seemed to occur somewhat spontaneously and haphazardly, kind of like an experience at grandma's house or your own home. There was no agenda. Things just happened. People wandered in and out, they sang carols, they danced to the music where they could find space. Which brings up the music. Imagine your "Uncle Frank" getting out his electronic keyboard he bought in 1986, popping in a floppy disc with a rhythm background, and singing Christmas carols…only sometimes he'd forget the lyrics, so he might make them up, or just hum until he remembered the words. This was our evening, and no one seemed to mind. Even with the lighting of the big tree there was no official countdown; someone just plugged the socket into the wall and the tree lit up in the middle of a song. All part of the informal charm of Garmisch. Everyone was relaxed and having a good time, it was warm and cozy, and I haven't felt that "in the moment" in a long, long time. It was truly a magical evening. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Gorgeous views. Nice staff. Very comfortable room. The view from #7 was incredible. Our friends stayed here and we knew it was nice but it was nicer than our expectations. The landscape of Cable area is beautiful. The continental breakfast was not good. Cereal, yogurt, a packaged frozen roll, coffee and orange juice. That was it.
The one draw back was the bierstube. I was looking for a great German brew on tap however there weren't any. I thought that was odd after calling it a bierstube. We ordered food from the bar because the restaurant was closed do to the off season. The honey chicken I had was fried so long it came out like jerky. My wife did enjoy her walleye though.
I would go for the stay at the inn but not for the food. Drive into Cable to eat.

Room Tip: #7 views were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a VERY welcoming resort. The staff is wonderful! They go out of their way to assist your every need. At this time of year the menu is just a bit limited, but an excellent selection. This is a great location for those who enjoy winter sports and summer fun. The grounds and views of the lake and sunset are stunning. Take some special time for you and relax by the huge fireplace in the center of the lodge! Just soak up the ambience. You will leave, longing to return.

Room Tip: Room 6 and 7 have amazing views of the lake and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great location for riding the trails and the lakes. Very good restaurant and bar on premises. All the employees were extra nice and very helpful. The only con I would have is that we stayed at Zug's and the walls are paper thin. When our neighbors came home at 2AM and stayed up drinking till 4 it was a sleepless part of the night.

Room Tip: Expect noise from neighbors if staying in the 4 room Zug's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend b/c he does a ski marathon from cable-hayward. We stayed in the bean cabin. It was very cozy, and the staff was very friendly. The best thing about this resort is the meals, which are included. If you can wait until after 10am on Saturday (or 11am the other days) I would recommend going for the later breakfast when you can order right off the menu. The breakfast buffet was only so-so, but the dinner and the later breakfast were both fabulous! My other recommendation would be to bring your own toiletries, the ones they give are not that great, and there was no conditioner in our bathroom. I always bring my own anyway, but if I didn't I would be disappointed by the ones that were offered. Oh, and next time I will bring my own hairdryer. There was not one in the cabin, and in retrospect, I should have realized this (my fault) b/c our cabin had 3 bathrooms and theres no way they could supply hairdryers in every bathroom!

I did request a king size bed next time, the queen size bed in the bean cabin was too small for us, but we were lucky to get a reservation because someone cancelled at the last minute, so I cannot complain too much about that!

The issues listed above were only minor issues, nothing that soured my opinion of the resort and were only intended to prepare those reading my review. I would recommend the resort, already booked for next year and would love to see what its like in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We love the Cable area for it's primitive perks: mountain bike trails, fishing, and beautiful forests/lakes. We stayed the week of Aug 14-16 in room 6, a lodge room. It had Gorgeous views of the lake and the grounds were clean and well maintained. My son and I played several games of chess in the lodge as it is truly a unique place to hang out with old world, up north, German charm. The staff is very courteous and helpful and the owner even gave my four year a whole roll of quarters while hanging out in the bar. Needless to say, this made his trip. The food in the restaurant was good but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms away from the patio are likely quieter but I wouldn't worry about it on a weekday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wowitsreallyhardtoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
22.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakewoods Resort
Lakewoods Resort
#2 of 3 in Cable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lenroot Lodge
Lenroot Lodge
#9 of 35 in Hayward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
24.4 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garmisch USA Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garmisch USA Resort

Property: Garmisch USA Resort
Address: 23040 Garmisch Rd, Cable, WI 54821-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cable
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing