We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, relaxing, great nearby day trips, felt like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time, enjoying the beautiful views of the lake, the large screened in porch and rockers, the dock and canoeing on the lake, and the clean and comfortable rooms. There was plenty to do nearby: hiking, biking, antiquing, touring a microbrewery. The only drawback was that breakfast is no longer being offered at this "B&B."

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bevshurmanlavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We rented the entire B&B for an annual family reunion and it was perfect! Enough bedrooms to accommodate all of us and between the kitchen and dining room tables we could even all eat at the same time. We have a mix of older (60s and 70s) and younger families (infants to age 10) and it worked out well for everyone. Relaxing on the screened in porch, playing croquet on the front lawn, grilling, taking out the canoe, swimming off the dock, we rented bicycles in a nearby town. Even with the heat wave at the time, it was thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelbugAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We loved the Ripley Lodge. The location is excellent - on the water front and in a quiet section of town. It realy feels like you're out in the country but then it's only 20 miles from Madison. The owners know the area and can really recommend where to go. Many parks are around for hiking and biking.
The rooms in the upper floor are more private and are worth the extra fee if they are available. All rooms are in great condition with everything you need. The images on the B&B site do not do them justice. We had a great time and will go out there soon again!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagorelocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We needed a much needed break and Lake Ripley Lodge was the answer! The hosts made us feel very welcome - including getting the canoe out for the season and storing our bikes. Smores around the fire were fantastic as was the conversation with the other guests. Our room was small but cozy and clean. Food was great and coffee hot. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Despite the great effort of the owners this place disappointed us. Yes, it is clean, and the hosts try hard to be helpful, but there are more important constituents of a good vacation then that.
The biggest turnoff was a really moldy muffin for breakfast. Now, on to the general comments.
If you have not been to Lake Ripley you should know that it is a really small lake surrounded by cottages with tons of parked boats and cars on all sides. So do not look for anything too picturesque in that area. It does have a lot of green, but it feels more like a suburb than a small cozy town.
As for rooms -- the ones downstairs are tiny and, being surrounded by the porch, you feel like you're exposed to all other guests, since they can peek into your room through the windows and the doors. Also, it is impossible to sleep in since there is no noise insulation and you hear all that is happening in the lobby and on the porch.
The porch is nice but not heated, so you can only use it in the summer.
The upstairs rooms are nice but not all of them have private bathrooms. Take the suite if you can afford it, and you will be happy.
In short, this is not a good deal for the money they charge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volleygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytripWI, Owner at Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

• We do make every effort to ensure that each and every guest enjoys a relaxed and comfortable stay.
• We are sorry you were not satisfied with your room choice. This is one of our most popular lake front rooms and the blinds in combination with the window coverings give the guest complete privacy. Our lakefront room locations and sizes are described on our reservation system and we are happy to provide additional detail by phone. We uphold quiet hours from 10 pm until 8 am for the comfort of our guests. Guests have loved our often requested homemade lodge muffins for years.
• We agree that Lake Ripley, a 418 acre swim, fish, ski lake, is not in a wilderness area but an area of cottages 1 mile from a small unique shopping village. Guests enjoy the Grand Porch and expansive lake front pine tree grass area with lawn glider and fire pit. Photos of the lake and lodge area are on our website. (we have also added photos to TA )
• To extend the use of the porch in cooler weather, we have added an electric fireplace. Our Grand Room with wood burning fire place, comfy sofa and rockers continues as a popular gathering area.
• We want our future guests and many returning guests to experience an enjoyable time at Lake Ripley Lodge. We are eager to ensure their comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We spent four nights at the Lake Ripley Lodge and loved it. We were looking for a nice place to kick back and relax, and relax we did! The home was welcoming, clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Jim & Jan, were wonderful and helpful, recommending many area restaurants and things to see/do in the area. We took their advice and were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the front porch and in the front yard where we could enjoy the vivew of the lake, the friendly passers-by, and the serenity of the area. We would highly recommend the Lake Ripley Lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnRadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Had a great weekend and loved the location, with sunsets across the lake. Our hosts were very accommodating, supplying plenty of info on area dining and points of interest. Our room was very clean and the bed very comfy. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammerjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
21.0 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
735 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Mills
34 reviews
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
362 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Stoughton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: N4376 Friedel Ave, Cambridge, WI 53523-9719
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £124 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 mile from quaint downtown Cambridge and 20 minutes from Madison, one hour from Milwaukee and 2 hours from Chicago. You can feel the breezes of beautiful Lake Ripley and watch the spectacular sunset from the Grand porch swing. In brisk weather warm yourself by the grand room fire at this historic shoreline lodge. Lake Front rooms have private baths, whirlpool, Luxury king, queen or twin beds, WI-FI and Air Conditioning. Retreat to the quiet Grand porch swing or private dock with our kayaks and canoe. The innkeepers serve breakfast on the lakeside porch or fireside. Hike or rent bikes nearby on our trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing