We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Brookfield, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and Clean!”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Lake Ripley Lodge was wonderful! The wrap around, grand porch was a delight! The lodge itslef was charming and very clean. (no dust bunnies under the bed). The beds were compfortable . Jim & Janice were very helpful and kind! I would love to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surita7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We discovered the Lake Ripley Lodge in the fall of 2008 and made our first visit there in late October that year. Our intention was to escape the nearby Chicagoland NW suburbs for a weekend in Wisconsin checking out the fall foilage. We accomplished our goal, and then some. Our visit to LRL was so enjoyable last year that we made plans and returned again this year over Labor Day weekend. This time our stay was true perfection. With perfect weather, we divided our time ourdoors relaxing in the chairs, double-swing and picnic tables located under huge pine and oak trees that offer shade to all below them. Lake Ripley itself is directly in front of the lodge, and those sunsets.......Wow! They were absolutely spectacular. The three-side wrap-around porch is completely enclosed and screened, and this porch is truly grand. If offers a great spot to kick back with an acoustic guitar or a book, or simply capture views of the lake. Each morning starts with coffee and juices quite early followed by a wonderful breakfast. It's your choice to eat on the porch overlooking the lake, or inside the grand room dining area in front of the fireplace. No matter where you decide to eat, you will enjoy your breakfast experience. Jim and Janice make us feel so welcome, making our stay not only enjoyable, but comfortable. They do a terrific job as hosts. Our only complaint is that time passes too quickly. We are planning a third visit again in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakeman14075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2009

A few years ago my husband surprised me with a weekend stay at B&B he found in the WI B&B guide. We had our first stay at Lake Ripley Lodge and we were HOOKED. We have been there at least eight times in the last few years. Jim and Janice are WONDERFUL! Their hospitality is second to none and we are always greeted with hugs when we arrive. We've come to know them and stay in touch throughout the year. Lake Ripley Lodge appealed to us because it does not boast your "typical" B&B Victorian, frilly, lace, environment (no offense to those who enjoy those type of B&Bs). We wanted to enjoy the lake and stay somewhere comfortable. We always stay in the Lake Ripley Room. We like that we don't have to worry about being out of our room by a certain time-they don't bother you. If we ask for more towels, we receive them. If we need anything, we simply ask and they grant our request (as applicable). They are the only B&B in Cambridge ON the lake-which is awesome. We live around an hour away, and have a special needs child. Lake Ripley Lodge provides us with a get-a-way that is just far enough away should we need to return home for our son. The breakfasts are wonderful-our favorite is the Southwest Souffle with Jalapeno Cornbread muffins-delicious! Jim and Janice can tell you exactly where to go depending on what your appetite calls for. They always know about events happening and things that guests may be interested in. We enjoy the fishing and the sound of the water at night. Sitting on the pier is calming as well. Jim and Janice provide an environment where you can be involved as much as you'd like-and if you'd rather go off and do your own thing-thats ok too. We make it up there at least twice a year-and hope to return soon!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GuataMama06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Life is crazy. Hectic schedules, dealing with deadliines and the "real" world. When I need a place to get away and step back from it all, I never hesitate to come to the Lodge. This is my third stay this year, and I am never disappointed with the accommodations, the friendly confines, and the ability to kick back and relax in an unpretentious environment. Jan and Jim welcome you from the start and have figured out how to provide a setting where you can engage as much as you choose. I love it - as does my family. Did I mention the breakfasts?

  • Liked — scenic views, local ambience, accommodations, flexibility
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ValueYourTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This is the second time I've stayed at Lake Ripley Lodge B&B, and both times have been wonderful. Jim and Janice are great hosts and provide a comfortable stay. My room was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast is always a treat.

I've been there twice with family. The first time there were 10 of us, and this last weekend, five of us stayed there. We had several special requests--inviting family to visit, hosting guests on the great front porch, inviting friends and family to breakfast, showing up late on Saturday night--all of them were accommodated.

I've stayed in many hotels and B&B's, and I've found none friendlier or more accommodating. I can hardly wait to return to Cambridge and Lake Ripley.

  • Liked — Location, quiet and peaceful, very comfortable and welcoming
  • Disliked — that I had to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-roams-the-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We are sorry to score lower then previous reviews but feel we must report our own experience and you can draw your own conclusions from that.
We arrived at 3.00 o’clock and were told to come back at 4.00 as we were an hour early. There was no offer of sitting in the lounge but still we were early!
We had experienced a problem with the road toll fees around Chicago and asked if they would kindly check on the internet to see if we could pay these fees via the internet. We were told that they were too busy to do it now but to ask the next day which we did and received the same reply, so we gave up on this one.
We were staying four nights in the garden room this is two bed rooms joined by a bath room. We were asked the next morning when we wanted the bed linen and towels changed. Being reasonable people we said half way through our stay. We were then informed that they do not visit the room during our stay except to change linen and towels. This means that on other days the beds were not made and bins not empted, the room was therefore exactly as you left it in the morning. When the linen and towels were replaced the room itself was not cleaned nor the bathroom attended too and no cleaning facilities to do it yourself. For us when we have had a busy day touring it is lovely to return to a refreshed room, this was not the case. We believe that this policy should be made clear when you book or at least have the option to have your room serviced or not. We have travelled extensively in the USA and Europe and have NEVER been told that the room will not be serviced, maybe it’s the way it’s done in Wisconsin but not for us. You might as well except for breakfast self-cater. If you are staying for one night it makes no difference.
The condition of the furniture in our room went from good to something we would put in a tip but with a covering over it to disguise it (see photo). The towels were a mismatch and one was stained so we did not use it (see photo). There were only four coat hangers but more were supplied when asked. There was no alarm clock; again this was supplied when asked. We could not find the fridge in the room as per web page, there was one on the landing but not plugged in.
On a positive note we would agree with other visitors that the location is great and the breakfast was very good. Don’t forget if you want a TV you must pre-book as per web page as there is only one portable to go around.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Rooms not serviced nor an option to have them cleaned
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This Bed and Breakfast Lodge is an absolute delight. The hosts Jim and Janice were so helpful they really have the balance right between engaging their guests and leaving them to relax. The atmosphere of this place is just so relaxing and calming. It overlooks the beautiful lake.

The rooms were immaculately clean as was the shower room. The bed was comfortable. The guests have use of a lounge are and the rocking chairs on the porch. we also enjoyed walking on the private jetty to the little bench where you could sit and watch the water.

Free internet connection was provided.

I wish we had booked two nights on our touring journey.

  • Liked — The lake view and sitting on the porch in a rocker watching the water.
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank youdontknowmeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
21.0 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
#1 of 2 in Johnson Creek
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: N4376 Friedel Ave, Cambridge, WI 53523-9719
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 mile from quaint downtown Cambridge and 20 minutes from Madison, one hour from Milwaukee and 2 hours from Chicago. You can feel the breezes of beautiful Lake Ripley and watch the spectacular sunset from the Grand porch swing. In brisk weather warm yourself by the grand room fire at this historic shoreline lodge. Lake Front rooms have private baths, whirlpool, Luxury king, queen or twin beds, WI-FI and Air Conditioning. Retreat to the quiet Grand porch swing or private dock with our kayaks and canoe. The innkeepers serve breakfast on the lakeside porch or fireside. Hike or rent bikes nearby on our trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing