We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Jefferson)
US$109
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Edgerton)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
120
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary janewonderful hostsdukeinnkeepersmadisonaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really wonderful! The b &b is beautiful and immaculate, a very well cared for historic home.
A great getaway weekend was as relaxing and peaceful as we could have hoped. We also had the right amount of fun with a beautiful cross country ski trail just a few blocks away and a unique dinner theater experience just a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The place is really a step back in time and beautiful. The rooms are beautiful, clean and the bed was so comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was attached and LARGE with at double clawfoot tub and double shower. Breakfast was amazing and so delicious I could not eat it all. It was brought to our room.

The hosts are so friendly and helpful but are not underfoot so much so when breakfast was brought to our room, it was a quiet knock on the door. When it was opened the only thing there was our beautiful tray of breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetadolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The Oscar Hanson House is the gold standard for Bed and Breakfasts. MJ and Duke emit a warm hospitality that makes you feel very at ease and comfortable. We stayed in Mia's room and were not disappointed. The room is well appointed and very spacious. There was a king sized, comfortable bed with fine linens. The room also had a sofa, an arm chair and a small table with chairs. A refrigerator was in the closet stocked with complimentary pop. Everything was sparkling clean. Our private bath across the hall was gorgeous. The clawfoot tub had an overhead rain shower. We used the Oscar Hanson House for a base while exploring Cambridge and a few other small towns nearby. We took advantage of the 15% coffee only discount during the week, but when we return we hope to indulge in one of Duke's breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DideeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Home was ideally located within a few blocks walk from the downtown shops, but located off the busy street so was very quiet. The rooms are tastefully and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom in the Townsend room where we stayed was very large with a two person soaking tub and two person shower. Two TVs in the suite - one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom to watch as you relaxed in bubbles. The gardens were beautiful, colorful and if I had more time would enjoy viewing the flowers with a refreshing drink. Breakfast in the morning in the dining room was fun meeting other guests and listening to Duke's (host) stories. Wish I had time to spend a couple nights there. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

My wife and I visited the Oscar H. Hanson House on our honeymoon and it was far and away the perfect spot to honeymoon, or even have a nice get away. The rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped. We had a two-person shower, two-person bath tub, and a TV in one bathroom! How perfect is that? The other rooms were also gorgeous.

As for the "breakfast" in the "Bed and Breakfast," Duke and Mary Jane were nice enough to accommodate our dietary needs and even went out of their ways to bake us a plethora of gluten-free goodies. Overall, it was a great experience for our honeymoon. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

The town of Cambridge, WI was also welcoming and friendly. Where ever we went, we were greeted by friendly people and invariably got good customer service and even got a few free pieces of merchandise, like a bottle of champagne and pizza from a delicious baker on main street. The town is not far from Madison or the Wollersheim winery, which we visited. Check out the Riesling and Prarie Fume. Unparalleled.

If you're looking for a place for a quiet weekend to de-stress or enjoy that significant other, look up the Oscar H. Hanson House.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucienNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews