We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, terrific breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in Ana's room; beautiful with stained glass transom windows, comfy bed, updated bath and private entrance. Loved the garden right outside our room and left the patio doors open all night to enjoy the cool night air, peace and quiet. Our hosts were happy to serve our breakfast in the garden the following morning. A real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was our second trip to the Hanson House. We fell in love with the house a few years ago and wanted to return for another weekend getaway. Mary Jane and Duke make you feel at home and even though they offered to bring breakfast to our room, we enjoyed having our meal outside on the front porch while visiting with them instead. Our breakfast was amazing as it had been in the past. Our room was beautiful with an antique bed, fireplace and a cozy seating arrangement for breakfast if we wanted to eat there. The bath had soft lighting, an oversized jacuzzi tub, and other amenities to add to the ambiance. Each room is a treasure to see with details such as an old camera in the parlor or a fountain outside in the gardens. If you want to go to a romantic, quiet destination, the Oscar Hanson is the place to be. Mary Jane and Duke are two of the best innkeepers we've had the pleasure to meet. We would highly recommend this B & B for anyone wanting a peaceful retreat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was the perfect B&B for us. The house is beautiful and comfortable and spotless, Mary Jane and Duke were nice and made it clear that we could contact them for anything we needed but also clearly appreciate giving people their own space, the room (we stayed in the Cambridge) had character as well as conveniences like a thermostat for central air or heat, a huge jetted tub, roomy shower, mini fridge tucked away in a cabinet. The house was located far enough off the main street to be quiet and peaceful but close enough for us to easily walk into town. The vegan breakfasts were delicious; even the weekday breakfast basket included home-baked touches, the weekend breakfast was extra-special. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't peek into other rooms, but the one we stayed in, the Cambridge Room, was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at this simply beautiful inn. Mary Jane and Duke were as gracious and welcoming as can be. They are exceptional hosts who are attentive and helpful without ever hovering. We took advantage of their local knowledge of the area as well as tapped into their biking expertise and had great time exploring on our bikes. As we were up and out early one morning, instead of breakfast, we came back to a wonderful afternoon treat. And our Sunday breakfast was the best meal we ate all weekend. Just delicious! While we are no newlyweds, we stayed in the Townsend room (exactly as it looks in the photos!). It was luxurious and romantic. Despite the drought this summer the gardens are beautiful,and we were even treated to freshly picked tomatoes! Our weekend was a wonderful blend of rest and realaxation as well as riding and romance all set at this exceptional inn.

Room Tip: Check out their website to see the individual specialty of each unique room. The bathtub in the Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The breakfast was amazing. Being a vegan they had a dish for me every morning and a meat dish for my wife. They pay attention to detail and I felt at home. I will come back again. The most memorable part is when we watched some of the DVDs. We loved the terminal and relaxed in the nice bedroom and had a great time. We felt had comfortable service and had our space as well.

Best inn keeper I have seen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and daughters recently stayed at the the Oscar H. Hanson House. We had a great time, the rooms, beds, and furnishings were terrific as was the Sunday breakfast. Duke and Mary Jane were terrific hosts. Despite the report in a prior review, I found the posted pictures quite accurate, taking into account our brutal upper Midwest summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

You can't ask for a nicer and more comfortable place to stay. Great food, cozy comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. Incredibly accommodating and the kindest, warmest innkeepers ever!!! We've stayed in many B & B's and this one is a keeper!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursing4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 E North St, Cambridge, WI 53523-8709
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanson House Weddings, a destination wedding venu is located in Cambridge, WI, a bedroom community of Madison. The home was built in 1883 as part of a dowry for James and Janet Townsend. After remodeling and restoring, we opened as a Bed & Breakfast 2005. Now after almost 10,000 reservations and 12 years in hospitality, we have retired as innkeepers to spend time to grow Hanson House Weddings. On Saturday's why not honeymoon with us after the ceremony? Two bridal suites are available. When you marry at Hanson House Weddings, you experience the best of both of us: my delight in seeing couples in love and Duke who believes life is better when you’re laughing. We have set a high bar for service so we hope you will let us know what we can do to make your wedding a day to remember Hanson House Weddings continues the long tradition of romance in this house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing