We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Are you looking for a great Bed & Breakfast? Look no further. This is the one for all the reasons listed in the other Trip Advisor reviews listed here. This was my first bed & breakfast experience and it was a good one.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
106
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hanson House is easy to book online, an easy drive from Chicago, and is the perfect romantic weekend get-away. My husband and I keep going back to Hanson House for many reasons, but one of the most important is that it is so relaxing and is a beautiful place to decompress and reconnect. Little Cambridge, WI is very charming, and is easily walkable in nice weather. Innkeepers Duke and Mary Jane are the best! They are thoughtful, welcoming, kind and they make out-of-this-world delicious breakfasts - delivered to your room in the morning! They are very attuned to dietary restrictions -especially gluten free, but they deliciously created a dairy free breakfast for me. Just let them know when you book that you have a special request, so that they can plan ahead. The inn is so lovely and intimate (and spotlessly clean!), with 4 beautiful guest rooms, a cozy common area, a relaxing wrap around porch, and a garden that is beautiful in any season. On our most recent visit, we stayed in Ana's room on the main floor for the first time. The view of the snow-covered garden was beautiful. The king bed was very comfortable, and I LOVE the dual-controlled mattress warmer and the gas fireplace. Additional features of Ana's room include a sink/vanity is located just outside of the bathroom, a whirlpool tub that fits two, a TV over the tub for watching while you soak, gorgeous views of the gardens, and a private entrance to the room. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ana's room is on the main floor, with a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We came to the Hanson House and were greeted by Duke and he was very thorough in explaining how they worked and where to find everything. Able to just relax and no pressure. Very comfortable bed and EXCELLENT breakfast brought to the room. Looking forward to coming back for more R&R. Booking online was very easy and they were very responsive with communications. All the amenities you would want for a romantic getaway either in the room or just outside. They are also very helpful concerning things to do in the area and given the proximity to Madison the choices are plentiful. Give it a try and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I decided to getaway for the weekend and I looked at B&B's. This B&B was easy to book online (which I love - i really don't like having to call a B&B and have them talk me through what they have!). I booked the Townsend Bridal Suite and it was superb!

The room was spacious with a king-sized bed. It had a flat screen TV with a DVD player and a heated mattress pad. There was a very large bathroom attached with all the amenities and ambience you could want: claw foot tub, double rainshower two person shower, beautiful fixtures and fluffly towels. They thought of everything - extra outlets, and very tastefully done tile floors and shower.

Best of all was how they did breakfast. They brought it to your room at a designated time on a tray so we didn't have to get up and look "pretty" to sit with strangers and make small talk! The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a B&B. Waffles, bacon, fruit, apple-baked crisp, coffee and oj. It was very filling.

The owners are very friendly and even have a "game" for guests to do if they so desire to win a prize. It has to do with the house and the surrounding community - very clever.

I would recommend this place for a wonderful night or two!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the feel of the Townsend Bridal Suite - and it's great if you love to soak in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were looking for a quiet and romantic escape from the daily pressures of life where we could unwind and reconnect for an autumn weekend, and we were not disappointed. The innkeepers' hospitality was welcoming but not overbearing, the room and bed were very comfortable with many nice appointments and amenities, and the breakfasts were lovingly prepared and quite delicious. We didn't mind that our bathroom was across the hall from the bedroom, but being at the top of the stairs we did hear everyone else's comings and goings. A few more hangers in the closet would have been nice, but all in all we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Mia's Room is nice, but separated from its bathroom by the hallway, and the bathroom is smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Pfauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Oscar H. Hanson House! We were looking for a good place for a little one-year anniversary/babymoon getaway, and decided to stay a night at the Hanson House. The location is great, with varying activities for all tastes in Lake Mills, Fort Atkinson, and Madison. The innkeepers, Duke and Mary Jane, were very warm and hospitable. They welcomed us right away and were very accommodating to special dietary needs (they can do gluten-free, vegan, you name it). Our room was cozy, comfortable, and elegant. Everything we needed (toiletries, snacks, microwave, mini-fridge, and hot water with tea and hot chocolate) was provided in our room and in the hospitality area in the hallway. They had a large, varied selection of DVDs. Breakfast was absolutely AMAZING. When we were there, they served the best thick bacon we've ever had, along with belgian waffles with a sprinkle of powdered sugar, fresh raspberries, a berry sauce, syrup, and freshly-whipped cream. There were also fresh fruit & yogurt parfaits, chocolate pastries, coffee, and juice served alongside our meal. We weren't hungry again until dinner that day! We also enjoyed that they brought breakfast to our room, so we didn't feel the need to get dolled up and ready before breakfast-time. This place is well worth the price for all that's included. We can't wait until we have an opportunity to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rookie71985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was taken here for my birthday and it was a very nice old B&B with a lot of history. The breakfast in the morning was awesome! It was very quiet and the owners were wonderful with the accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
14.2 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
340 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
#1 of 2 in Johnson Creek
161 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
8.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Mills
32 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 303 E North St, Cambridge, WI 53523-8709
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE OSCAR H. HANSON HOUSE B&B Experience the romantic personality of our rooms with in-room breakfast service, fireplaces, stained glass, spacious showers, and claw-foot soaking or Jacuzzi tubs in an eco-friendly environment. The Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast is a romantically appointed 1883 Victorian Mansion nestled in Cambridge, WI (20 miles east of Madison and an easy 50 miles west of Milwaukee). Enjoy small shops, including Row pottery, Camrock Sport or stop into some of the resale shops and be sure to stop in one of our wonderful coffee shops. We are also 15 miles west of the Famous Fireside Dinner Theater, a must see in our area. Great spot for all events in Madison Wi, Badger Games, Events, or taking in the unique Madison farmer's market. Our spacious porch, comfortable parlor, beautiful gardens, and fountains invite you to stay and bask in the quiet of our inn. Feel the passion in your surroundings and renew your commitment to your heart and to that of another. We look forward to your stay and invite you to enjoy the pleasures of this incredible B and B. We are Gluten-Free Experts Free Wifi In-room breakfast service Beautiful gardens and Solarium HD TV, with all local channels in HD 1st and 2nd floor hospitality areas Microwave for guest use in second floor hospitality area Smoke-free and pet-free environment Central air Softened water Humidified air Select sundries available upon request (toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, lotion) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing