We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The Oscar Hanson House is the gold standard for Bed and Breakfasts. MJ and Duke emit a warm hospitality that makes you feel very at ease and comfortable. We stayed in Mia's room and were not disappointed. The room is well appointed and very spacious. There was a king sized, comfortable bed with fine linens. The room also had a sofa, an arm chair and a small table with chairs. A refrigerator was in the closet stocked with complimentary pop. Everything was sparkling clean. Our private bath across the hall was gorgeous. The clawfoot tub had an overhead rain shower. We used the Oscar Hanson House for a base while exploring Cambridge and a few other small towns nearby. We took advantage of the 15% coffee only discount during the week, but when we return we hope to indulge in one of Duke's breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DideeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

Home was ideally located within a few blocks walk from the downtown shops, but located off the busy street so was very quiet. The rooms are tastefully and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom in the Townsend room where we stayed was very large with a two person soaking tub and two person shower. Two TVs in the suite - one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom to watch as you relaxed in bubbles. The gardens were beautiful, colorful and if I had more time would enjoy viewing the flowers with a refreshing drink. Breakfast in the morning in the dining room was fun meeting other guests and listening to Duke's (host) stories. Wish I had time to spend a couple nights there. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

My wife and I visited the Oscar H. Hanson House on our honeymoon and it was far and away the perfect spot to honeymoon, or even have a nice get away. The rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped. We had a two-person shower, two-person bath tub, and a TV in one bathroom! How perfect is that? The other rooms were also gorgeous.

As for the "breakfast" in the "Bed and Breakfast," Duke and Mary Jane were nice enough to accommodate our dietary needs and even went out of their ways to bake us a plethora of gluten-free goodies. Overall, it was a great experience for our honeymoon. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

The town of Cambridge, WI was also welcoming and friendly. Where ever we went, we were greeted by friendly people and invariably got good customer service and even got a few free pieces of merchandise, like a bottle of champagne and pizza from a delicious baker on main street. The town is not far from Madison or the Wollersheim winery, which we visited. Check out the Riesling and Prarie Fume. Unparalleled.

If you're looking for a place for a quiet weekend to de-stress or enjoy that significant other, look up the Oscar H. Hanson House.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucienNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Duke and MJ run an outstanding inn. We were welcomed with the warmest hospitality. We immediately felt "right at home". Our room was perfect. We wanted a very mellow new years eve, just the two of us, and that's exactly what we got :) The DVD collection was fantastic, the fireplace kept us warm, and in the morning we stuffed ourselves SILLY with a gourmet breakfast. They accommodated our vegetarian diet and we even left with a cookbook! These two are inspiring and it was a pleasure to meet them both. We hope to return one day, and of course we will send all friends and family their way.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalieandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

What a lovely inn! We were amazed at the attention given to every detail. Our room and bathroom were spotless. We loved the heated mattress pad, electric fireplace, and the small Christmas tree in our room. It was so nice to have hot water for tea available for us at any time of the day or night, and we liked having the snacks and small refrigerator in our room. Although our bathroom was across the hall, robes were provided for our use. If you prefer, you may have breakfast served in your room, but we liked coming down to the beautifully set dining room table to visit with the other guests. The food was plentiful and good--no excuse for walking away from the table still hungry. Mary Jane and Duke were so kind and friendly and ready with tourist suggestions. Don't miss having dinner at the Mill on Main and the Velvet Lips Supper Club--delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twobears76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Each visit whether your first or your fifth affords new, enjoyable experiences while having the benefits of feeling like you’ve just come home. MJ and Duke offer fine attention to detail from the subtle touches of their warm friendly greetings at the door to the elegant breakfasts of delicious pastries and delectable main courses that they provide each morning . There are comfy throws on the beds, and snacks by your bedside. They are up on all the local happenings to insure that your stay is as restful, and quiet or fun filled and action packed as you desire.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccartro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We are just back from a night at the Oscar H. Hanson House where we had our best B&B experience to date. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. The inn was pretty and comfortable and our room was incredible in every way.
Attractive, meticulously clean, bright with window light. We stayed in the Cambridge Room which has an adjoining bath with 2 person jacuzzi, 2 person shower and a calming color scheme. There was a hidden refrigerator in the bathroom with complimentary beverages including wine and glasses were provided. Soft, thick towels with a light fresh scent. So much better than the bleach-reeking hotel towels.
The bed was beautiful and very comfortable; firm with quality sheets and heated mattress pad.
The breakfast was outstanding; fresh fruit, vegetable fritata (sp) breakfast sausage and freshly baked scones that were amazingly light, and tasty.
I can't say enough good things abouosts.t the inn, the accommodations and the gracious hosts. If you are looking for a perfect B&B experience then choose this inn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanzMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
14.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
428 reviews
13.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Magnuson Grand Hotel
#47 of 63 in Madison
190 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 E North St, Cambridge, WI 53523-8709
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £66 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanson House Weddings, a destination wedding venu is located in Cambridge, WI, a bedroom community of Madison. The home was built in 1883 as part of a dowry for James and Janet Townsend. After remodeling and restoring, we opened as a Bed & Breakfast 2005. Now after almost 10,000 reservations and 12 years in hospitality, we have retired as innkeepers to spend time to grow Hanson House Weddings. On Saturday's why not honeymoon with us after the ceremony? Two bridal suites are available. When you marry at Hanson House Weddings, you experience the best of both of us: my delight in seeing couples in love and Duke who believes life is better when you’re laughing. We have set a high bar for service so we hope you will let us know what we can do to make your wedding a day to remember Hanson House Weddings continues the long tradition of romance in this house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing