We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”
Review of Black Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Bear Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked a room here based on the positive review on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! The room we were given was exceptionally clean and had been recently redone with new carpet and furniture. The double bed was comfy and the recliner was awesome. We were not there to hole-up and veg in front of the tube, but it would have been nice to have a larger screen size and even better yet to have a flat screen...but that doesn't dampen my review. The staff were great bringing us a cot for the granddaughter to sleep on and extra towels. I would definitly book here again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talor919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When first arrival, room looked clean. Pulled sheets back, found 3 black hairs between sheets. Would not sleep in that. 2nd bed, found what looked like blood smear on underside of bedspread. Gross. Towels were stained. Looked like maybe coffee stains. Furniture looked nice. Coffee pot provided, but no coffee. Shampoo and conditioner provided, but no soap. No hair dryer. No phone.alarm clock was unplugged....good thing I brought one. Owners would not answer phone and would not come to the door.I left message, they never came to the room to make things right. Do yourself a favor...pay $130 to stay somewhere else...wish I would have ! I could hear guy next door snoring.

Room Tip: Read ALL reviews....believe the bad ones !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have just put brand new sheets & towels in the rooms as you could see, since this property is a small independent motel we do not have 24 hour front desk as it states when you booked the room. Our normal office hours are 8am to 10pm, I am sure there was no blood on the comforter. Comforters at all of my properties get washed on a regular basis. As far as hair, I know are washer machines do miss hair, as well as we miss hair every now and then as it is hard to see/remove at times. I invite you to come back the next time you are in the Cameron are as I can guarantee you that you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cameron hotels

Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, and had a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and we would definately stay again. It's a nice quiet place to stay. A liitle pricey for a 2-bed room, but not outrageous.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Sara went above and beyond helping us secure a room for a family get together. They were fully booked when I called and I asked if I could please leave my phone number just in case a room became available. When they had a cancelation Sara called me and put us at ease. It was nice to know that she had not only kept my number but called me right away. It was so nice to experience her good old fashion sense of common courtesy and excellent customer service! Thank you Sara!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 728bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cute little motel. The owners are on site, (im pretty sure they live on site) The rooms are exactly as described. My fiancee and i got a double queen room. appliances are up-to-date. The bathroom is really cute. The rooms are clean an fit the whole "northern" like theme. Flat screen tv, wifi, what more could you need? Oh yeah! They have candy bars and snacks in the office to buy which is nice of them to provide those as well. lol.

Only one thing I need to note ; We got room #3 and the walls are kind of thin, either or the people who were in room #4 were very loud. but you could practically hear whole conversations if the room was quiet enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Room wasn't ready when we got there, and the service was extremely horrible and rude. Room wasn't very clean, faucet leaked, and was out dated. I would rather save my money and sleep in the car than go back there

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chop3584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am sorry you had a bad experience. We have recently renovated the property, and have replaced virtually everything in the rooms. We don't claim to be a fancy top notch hotel, as to why our prices are the lowest around. I invite you to come back to the property as we have renovated and check out all the improvements, such as new carpet, beds, sheets, dressers, night stands, light fixtures & all furniture's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I rented the room i had for 8 das while i was in the area on business. My wife scheduled the room for the two of us. One day i have a knock on the door saying our room is horrible and we had to clean it to which i did cause i did have some clothes on the floor. Then they told me i had an unallowed guest as my wife was never marked as staying there. The next day the owner said we were smoking and creating a fire hazard. First off we dont smoke ever and second this fire hazard was my personal tv and an xbox 360. Not hazards at all. Then he claimed my wife was homeless and we were filthy and not up to their standards. I would have loved to leave early and request my money back but with these shady owners i doubt i would see it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcarlson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I wish we could of had a better ending here, but lack of respect toward myself, staff & property I had no choice but to ask you to leave! The room was atrocious! We are a motel, not an apartment. We tried many times to reason with you to try get the room where we could at least walk in the room or even open the door all the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
4.5 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Barron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
6.2 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
56 reviews
4.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Motel

Property: Black Bear Motel
Address: 201 S 1st St, Cameron, WI 54822-9705
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cameron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Cameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing