We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town Pub! Dont make it what its not!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maxwell's

Maxwell's
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Cedarburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Town Pub! Dont make it what its not!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Maxwells is a small town tavern, local watering stop and a place where you need to wear your real face and not some made up Yuppie your trying to be. The owner is honest, caring and would give you the shirt off your back before taking a dollar from you as a client. The interior is somewhat dated but the entire town is. This is not New York, its the old midwest with real people not trying to be someone their not. Casual, formal, or just plain you, Maxwells welcomes everyone. History is not made by what you think it shoudl be or could be,it's what it is,and Maxwells is the "old time" tavern. The service has never been poor and the help is comprised of local people. Kudo's to the owner for employing students and people in need of work from the area. We will continue to visit the establishment whenever in town, because its a touch of the past and we can slow down a little and enjoy life with real people. Sincerely "Coach" C.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

They must have sorted out the weird hostess situation others have complained about, because we were seated right away for a Friday Fish Fry. Yes, it is dark and old inside, but I like that and consider it "character". Most importantly, the young waiter we had was extremely friendly and gave us great service. The food was very good with a large portion. I had perch & German potato salad, my husband had the haddock and French fries. Sat at the bar after our meal for a beer, and the bartenders were also very friendly and attentive! Will go back for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sconsinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Horrible!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Inside: Atmosphere was very Dark, Dreary, Smelly, Rundown and very uninviteing.
Outisde: Ate outside, sat furthest from the road and our view was a rundown alley.
Service: Very slow, not friendly and didnt bring berverages when asked, asked for honey mustard and ended up with brown mustard. The wait staff was very young, inexperienced, and frankly did not seem to care.
Food: Took an hour to get our food: when it arrived, much of was cold and everything was barely sastfactiory- very bland, average tasting. The best part of the meal was the homemade fries which came with our sandwiches.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBGIRLGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Unclean, still smell the barsmoke that has been ousted over a year ago. Will go there again when (if) they remodel the dark and dreary, smelly inside

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stopped in for drinks after dinner and really enjoyed this local spot!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FeliciaPavlica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell's also viewed

 

Been to Maxwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing