We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner”
Review of Farmstead

Farmstead
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner
Antioch, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hard to find, but worth the effort. The atmosphere is cozy and softly lit. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and efficient. We knew to arrive early as there are very few tables and they fill up quickly.
We were there at 5:15 on a Thursday, and by 6:00 all the tables were filled. Food is expensive, but delicious. (Note: Avoid sitting in the 2 back-area booths--too close to the bathrooms.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 91paulkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    60
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anxious To Go Back”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had an excellent meal at Farmstead. Went on a Friday evening so there was a long wait, but the bartenders and staff were so friendly it didn't matter. The dinner was well worth it. The steaks were cooked to perfection and very tender, and our leftovers made great sandwiches the next day. Sides were excellent too. Great waitress, hostess, bartender, everybody.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sconsinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steaks and seafood!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stopped here with my wife for her birthday and had an amazing dinner with wonderful service. Drinks were always filled and food was plenty and delicious.
Every time we stop in the food is cooked to our exact request and we barely have to wait if we have reservations.
You must put this place on your short list for great steaks with great service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnymack5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of My Go-To's For Great Steak!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nestled right off the main road in Cedarburg, this old, small stone farmhouse serves up some of the best steak I have ever eaten. My favorite: the garlic crushed filet with sugar snap peas and home made steak fries. DELISH!

The menu rarely changes, and is rather limited compared to other steak joints in the area, but this should not deter you.

Opening at 4:30 for dinner, plan on getting there early, or prepare to wait at the bar. This place fills up very quickly, and the wait can be long, especially on a Friday or Saturday night - but it is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent waitress! Even better food! Can't say that very often :)”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

So...not what you expect. I mean..I read great reviews. I know it's a favorite of my brothers Fam..they go often. So we finally went. It's so well hidden off the road! You would never see it. Can't even see it when you turn into the parking lot! A hidden farmhouse in the middle
Of a fantastic fun little town! Literally an old house! But rather dark..and strangely romantic..full of people having fun in little private areas everywhere. Great waitress!fun and on the ball! Great food. Great drinks!!! Great place to celebrate! We love great food..private spaces..fun wait staffs...down to earth environments. This has it all. You can go in jeans to celebrate a promotion with a friend...yet order delicious drinks...high quality food..fun..yet private. Great job Farmstead! An hour drive for us..we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmstead also viewed

 

Been to Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing