We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
700
88
18
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
88
18
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese social hour winery tour whirlpool tub cedar creek winery fresh fruit bed and breakfast caramel apple breakfast was delicious within walking distance cocktail hour gift certificate coffee cake relaxing getaway heart of downtown step back in time charming town
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Don't wait for a special occasion - stoke the romantic fires by booking a room at the Washington House Inn now. We drove further than normal for an overnight from Madison, and are glad we did. The historic old hotel with stone walls still showing, fireplace in the lounge area, and perfect setting on Main Street Cedarburg set the mood for a quiet escape from the kids and bustle of everyday life. Nice, unexpected bonuses: some kind of blackberry cobbler in the afternoon upon arrival, a wine and cheese reception from 5-6 PM (which went at least an hour beyond that), and better-than-normal coffee (along with the typically good B&B breakfast.) It's only a 4-block walk to the Cedar Creek Settlement shops, where we enjoyed a lazy afternoon with lunch at the Cream and Crepe Cafe and wine tasting at Cedar Creek Winery. And one bonus we didn't take advantage of - a sauna in the lower level, with changing rooms next door, and a sign indicating only towels are necessary. One more way to heat up your stay, but you may not need it (we didn't.)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208, one of the smaller rooms, but it was plenty of space and had a spacious two-person shower. Even though it faced Main Street, we didn't notice any noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have been planning a winter get-away at the Washington House Inn since the 1990's and hope to keep it up many more times. Why go north in the winter? We go for the beautiful setting, amazing bountiful breakfast, relaxing wine and cheese time, comfortable rooms, and a time to kick back and enjoy a few days away from the usual hustle and bustle. This week was all these things and more since we'd booked a room with a jacuzzi and fireplace. When we awoke to a gentle snowfall on Tuesday morning, all our dreams were realized! The staff is most accomodating and attentive to any need.

I enjoy the shops along the main street while my husband prefers to stay at the Inn and relax during the day. In the evening, after the wine and cheese, we enjoy dinner out, then to the theater next door for a movie. Everything is within walking distance, so once you're there, you are all set.

Whether you are looking for one night, or an extended time away, Washington House Inn should be on your list.

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor facing Washington Street, but you may prefer not to be on the main road. The shops close in the evening, so road noise is not a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmajudy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I have been going here every winter for a weekend for about 5 years. Every time we are astounded by the excellent staff, amazing food & overall pleasantness of the trip. If you are looking for a place to de-stress and relax for a weekend, this is it. We've stayed in a couple different rooms but the "King Suite" or Dr. Frederick Luening room is absolutely worth the extra price. The hot tub room is to die for.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s-antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This place was great! I would definitely come back and recommend to others. The room was pretty, the generous wine and cheese hour was delightful and the breakfast was amazing! Definitely surpassed our expectations. It was a nice romantic weekend away in the winter, but would be even more fun in the summer with the lovely creek and shops in the little downtown. The innkeepers were nice and the only issue we had was the warm and humid temperature of our room that we were unable to get any lower, and it would be nice to have a fan for some circulation and white noise - not that it was noisy at all. If anything, it was really quiet! We are just used to it at home and anywhere else we go. The only fan there was could only be set to blow warm air in the winter and cool air in the summer. Minor complaint for such a lovely place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ludwig Groth room and it was very pretty, but a little warm and humid. If you do not like morning sun, you should choose a room in the back of the building. There wasn't much street noise for being in the front, but there was also no white noise (such as a fan) which we usually like wherever we are.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Staying on business? Apparently it is not listed on the website, but the corporate rate halves the website rate of $160 for the Leopold Jochem Room. The inn is old, very old. The room was small, but decorated nicely. Staff was friendly.

Reason for average rating:
Heat - if you like to be warm it takes 2 + hours for the room to increase from 67 - 73 degrees via a small wall mounted fan switch in combination with thermostat. Interesting but not too interesting when it is 30 degrees outside. The bathroom heat lamp works well!

Bathroom needed renovation. Tub step in was very akward. The step in was well over my knee (I am 6 feet tall), difficult to manage the ingress and egress from tub to floor. Any shorter than me and you would have to crawl in. Shower head only had one thin stream of water and the fan in the bathroom was as loud as a small engine. After tow attempts, I vetoed the use of the exhuast fan and just left the door open.

If the room rate was $160 I would have rated this property with two stars, but for $80 bucks - have to overlook some of the items above. With a few improvements this property could push to a 4 star rating. In WI and traveling for business or pleasure, make the trip to Madison and stay at the Speckled Hen - this is a 5 star B&B!

Room Tip: Advise if you are a business traveler for the BEST RATE! Ask for a room that does not overlook the parking lot to keep the noise levels down.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonHouseInn, General Manager at Washington House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We are pleased you chose to stay with us when traveling on business. We do offer a corporate rate to our registered single business travelers Sunday-Thursday. When next visiting, please be aware we have an Innkeeper on premise 24 hours a day. If you ever need assistance or are uncomfortable in any way, please call the front desk so we may remedy any of your concerns immediately. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, and of course memorable in a positive way. When planning your next visit we suggest you mention you prefer a lower tub surround, or perhaps try one of our walk in therapeutic, or steam showers. Our business travelers rave about them! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Wendy J. Porterfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews