We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyable weekend in Cedarburg!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable weekend in Cedarburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have yet another rave review for Washington House Inn. My husband and I spent a Friday night in Cedarburg and our stay was wonderful. The atmosphere was so relaxing and the staff was incredibly attentive. Our room was cozy and comfortable, despite the smaller size - I loved the sheets on the bed! We had a glass of wine and snacks at their 5pm cocktail hour; they put a pretty nice spread out and offered local wines. We wandered around Cedarburg and did some shopping, had some dinner and saw a movie - everything was within walking distance which made for an even more relaxing experience. The breakfast in the morning was delicious as well. I'm gluten free so I couldn't indulge in any of the incredible looking pastries, but they offered a lot of options that I could enjoy as well - they even had gluten free bread available!

Washington House Inn, and Cedarburg, were the perfect combination for a lovely evening away.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the parking lot; did not have any problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farr0146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    71
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
60
487
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, the best breakfast anywhere. The wine and cheese reception is wonderful too. This was my second time here and I plan on staying here any time I'm close to the Milwaukee area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This B&B is a great value and a perfect place for a romantic weekend. The inn is a beautiful reminder of times past yet has so many comforts and little touches to make it very cozy and relaxing. They offer a wine and cheese hour that is an extra little perk along with the breakfast that was very good with lots of choices. Fresh squeezed OJ! Yum! A great value and comfortable. Cedarburg is such a nice little town, the people at the inn are friendly and so are the shop owners and employees.

Room Tip: We stayed in 214 in the main house, beautiful, well decorated, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Could not think of a more relaxing, unique place to escape for my birthday. The room was a complete diversion from the outside world and whirlpool tub, fireplace, and amazingly comfortable bed helped melt away all stress. Thoroughly enjoyed chatting with other guests at the complimentary wine and cheese hour, and again at the amazing spread for breakfast with fresh baked goods,egg dish, fresh fruit juice and so much more. If you are looking for more than just a place to lay your head, this is it, and the staff treats you as if you were in their own home. Definitely a place to come back to!

Room Tip: Room 216-John Roth with whirlpool tub, fireplace and vaulted ceiling is above the neighboring candy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room we stayed in was beautiful and cozy and quiet. It had a second floor loft area with fireplace and whirlpool tub. It was a perfect getaway for my husband and I. The wine and cheese hour and the breakfast were quite a surprise---both were very well done and the food was delicious. You definitely get what you pay for at this inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My sisters and I brought my mom for a get-away birthday celebration and we had a terrific time! The staff at the Inn were great, the beds were so comfy, the food was delicious, plentiful and beautifully displayed. The staff were even gracious enough to allow us to sit in the dining room to chat and eat our caramel apples after we had checked out and gone on our way for the day. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Washington House Inn is an old place and therefore has it's aging building faults but the service and food make up for that completely. They offer free local wines and fantastic hors d'ouvres as well as the best breakfast I've found. Happy hour was comfortable and everyone sat around and talked. The room was tastefully decorated and the sunken whirlpool bath was a treat. The town itself is historic and fun--lots of good shopping and eating--also not far from the Lake Michigan. We took a beautiful hike, went to the WI Quilt Museum and saw the 1st covered bridge in the state. It was a relaxing and entertaining stay.

Room Tip: check out the rooms online to make sure you reserve the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outnabout53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Property: Washington House Inn
Address: W62N573 Washington Ave, Cedarburg, WI 53012-1941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing