We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here with my hubby on a Living Socail deal. It was a second time for us in the area and we had walked in to look at this in passing last time we were in area, and thought it looked nice. Gave my husband the deal. First, the building is fairly charming. There were some issues however. The room we had was ok, but on the small side with a very run down bathroom. The tub ( a whirlpooll,) had clearly been reconditioned with some type of rebath product according to my husband, or else it just strted with a bad finishas the whole botom of tub was cracked terribly. As a result it looked pretty dirty. We also found long black hairs on the wall of the shower. 5 or six at least- ugh- did not want to take a bath there! We had tickets to Rivoli which was nice but they have very limited showings. The winery was having some type of case club event so we couldnto get tours but settled for just the wine. Wine and cheese and hotel sould be called cheese spread and wine and no actual chees is served. Shameful in the dairy state! The breakfast was ok but just not up to the standards of my previous experiences with B and B's where the food is really awesome. It was just cold buffet average. As someone else said, only slightly nicer than Holiday Inn. All in all it was ok. We enjoyed Cedarburg, Morton's Wiscons Inn and the wine but might stay elsewhere if we come back.

Room Tip: If you are light sensitve in am try to get a non-east facing window as the light through shutters qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent a single night at the Washington House Inn in Cedarburg, Wisconsin this past week. Our room was clean, quiet, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was big, full of thick, fluffy towels and lots of soaps and shampoo, The welcome wine and cheese gathering on the first floor parlor was generous. Many bottles of a good variety of wines! Breakfast was also presented nicely. Hot and cold foods, juices, fresh baked scones and breads, along with bacon, eggs, and fingerling potatoes was continually being replenished. It was nice to see that gluten free bread and rice and almond milks were also available for the asking. I will just say that we didn't want to go back home! The staff is so friendly! We plan to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Book early for busy weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Twenty-eight miles from home...what can you say? Charming, friendly, helpful,great wine/cheese hour, great, bountiful breakfast! Did I say we like this place? Wine is good. The newly remodeled movie threatre, the Rivioli, shows new release films.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_AI9143TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here using a Living Social coupon. It included a wine tour; cocktail hour, breakfast and tix to the Rivoli movie theater. Everything was top notch! The rooms had a lot of character and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amf091566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed two nights as a little break from the rat race. It was perfect with delicious homemade items at breakfast each day and different hot foods as well. Appreciated the easy to access Wi-Fi for free as well. Helpful bucket with menus for surrounding restaurants in their visiting room and big bed very comfortable. A little trouble getting the heat adjusted. Hostesses knowledgeable about the area. Perfect location for walking to shops and restaurants. We didn't use our car at all. Didn't get there in time for the wine and cheese reception the first evening but enjoyed it the second evening. Glad there was sparkling grape juice for the non-wine drinkers also. Having someone always at the reception desk when we needed something was great as well.

Room Tip: Don't know that whirlpool and fireplace worth the extra money. I'd go for a more inexpensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice now, and had a great experience both times. The rooms and ambiance are just so warm, inviting, cozy, and peaceful. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I can't believe some of the negative reviews are for the same place! We've stayed in both a low end room and a high end room, and found it to be the same level of cleanliness and charm to both, just a difference of size and amenities. The breakfast is so so good, and even offers gluten free bread as well as coconut or almond milk for people with dietary restrictions! We only wish we had room to eat more! The only thing about this place that we wish was perhaps a bit different was the price of the rooms for what you get. The rooms are indeed very nice, but at the higher price its hard to come here as often as we would like. This last trip we took advantage of the LivingSocial deal, which was wonderful. The room was very nice, but we probably wouldn't have paid the normal price for that size room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bats102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for an anniversary trip and were very happy with our experience. The building is beautiful and full of historic charm and character. We stayed using a groupon certificate and had room 209, which is a smaller basic room. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and quiet. Bathroom was clean and everything was functional and the jetted tub was very nice after a long day of walking around Cedarburg. Bed was comfortable and the sheets were amazing!!! The room was smaller, but we knew staying with a groupon certificate would limit our room choices so that was not a problem. I am hoping in the future the hotel will consider doing a groupon rate for the larger jacuzzi rooms for a higher price. I would love to stay again in a bigger room with a hot tub for 2. The wine and cheese hour was lovely and relaxing and featured local wine and Wisconsin cheese spreads. We truly enjoyed both nights of just having some wine and snacks and talking about our day. They also played lovely classical music in the background which was just another one of those small touches that really means a lot. The breakfast was wonderful, my husband and I are not big sweet eaters, so we were very happy to see eggs, cheese, sausages, savory pastries and fruit offered along with plenty of other sweet offerings. Cedarburg is a historic town with lots of shops and great places to eat, we were not bored at any point during our 2 night stay. Overall this was a great place and hopefully we will be back if they offer another groupon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon7281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,769 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
2,016 reviews
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Address: W62N573 Washington Ave, Cedarburg, WI 53012-1941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range: £108 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing