We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here and had a wonderful time! They offered a wonderful continental breakfast with many great things and a fun social hour in the evening with local wine and snacks. The Inn was located in the heart of downtown Cedarburg, so the location was perfect. We stayed in the 210 Gerhard Wurthmann room, which was fantastic. The only thing I would caution is the shower was within the jacuzzi tub so getting in and out of that might be an issue from some folks. Otherwise, a complete A+ and we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    78
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
63
523
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visit Cedarburg often and the only place we would consider staying at in the area is the Washington House Inn. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets are very soft. We enjoy the rooms with fireplaces and whirlpools. Everything is very homey and comfortable. And then there is breakfast in the morning - amazing - and wine and cheese at night - always really good!

While we have seen kids on occasion - I really would suggest this is a get-away for adults. The town is a wonderful place to explore - shops, restaurants, trails... - again primarily for adults. There are events that on occasion include kids but as an adult I like places that focus on adults.

Room Tip: Use the website when picking a room - what you see is what you get. We have never had a room we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spend two nights at the Washington House Inn. We found the staff to be very friendly and our room was lovely with a king-size bed and huge bathroom with original bricks as the floor. This is a renovated old hotel, and they have kept the ambience of originality, yet have done a good job incorporating modern amenities. I throughly enjoyed the "enhanced" continental breakfast. There were several freshly baked items, along with a hot dish. Yummy! And of course, I loved the free wine and cheese hour from 5-6 p.m. Check out their website as the room descriptions and pictures are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Anniversary get-away weekend stay was very comfortable. The location can't be beat for any activity in downtown Cedarburg. Easily walkable to lots of restaurant choices and cute shops. Room was larger than expected and while maintaining the charm of a long ago era, provided all the modern comforts we've come to expect. Parking is at a premium right in back of the inn, but overflow lots are available. Very good wine and cheese offering in the afternoon, as well as a very nice breakfast in the morning. Many healthy choices are presented along with delicious not so healthy options! Always had coffee, and iced water with fruit infused, as well as fresh fruit and muffins available for a snack. The bed and bedding were top notch, as well as the provided bathroom amenities. Would recommend to anyone for an enjoyable weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensethfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Even though we had only a single night to stay, we really enjoyed the town and the room which was in the front of the buiding on the first floor. Thought it would be noisy with the traffic out front but wasn't at all. Great breakfast choices and even ability to bring back to the room. Also it was nice to have the cheese and wine in the afternoon and was just right before dinner. It didn't seem that they were busy but appeared that way in the morning when we went for breakfast and this explained the difficulty keeping a parking spot in the small parking lot. Most of what you want to see and do is within a walking distance for most people including a winery, theater, and numerous restuarants and shops. Am looking forward to going back but hope to have a little more time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Washington House Inn, and we were absolutely delighted. Beautifully appointed rooms with all the extras. Staff was extremely courteous and friendly when answering any questions we had. The breakfast was delicious and abundant. We'll definitely be back for more weekend getaways!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms are beautifully designed, beds very comfortable. They offer a mid day wine tasting and snacks at 5:00 which is really GREAT! Everyone is really helpful. Situated in the center of town and plenty of parking. We had a nice stay, even tho for only a night. Cederberg is a great place to visit. Don't miss the wine tour.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Property: Washington House Inn
Address: W62N573 Washington Ave, Cedarburg, WI 53012-1941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing