We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Downtown B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Downtown B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I spent one night here for a family reunion in nearby West Bend, and we were thoroughly impressed. The room was beautiful and clean, the bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed the whirlpool tub. Breakfast was delicious and we were convenient to everything downtown had to offer. The staff were also extremely friendly, and we would go back in a heartbeat! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    71
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
498
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our favorite place to get away to. We have stayed many, many times and have not been disapointed at all. The city is also a nice place to relax and sit by the bridge with a drink and watch people and dogs. Town is very freindly.

Room Tip: There are a lot of styles to pick from. East side room right behind office is right on sidewalk, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JERRY1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First let me say that the Washington House Inn is a great B&B and we had a first class experience. No complaints whatsoever.

The best part of our stay, however, was the town itself. WHI is right across the street from a GREAT brewery (Silver Creek) which has a really cool outdoor patio adjacent to a fast-flowing creek and waterfall.

There's also a winery in walking distance, and plenty of shops and restaurants in between. I highly recommend a trip to Cedarburg (and a stay at Washington House Inn) if you're looking for a quiet weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast! We are addicted! Beautiful rooms and awesome breakfast!! Met some great people at the wine and cheese hour as well!! Overall AMAZING!!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidget96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What can I say, it was a great experience - from check in to check out, both of which were handled very efficiently, without any snags. The champagne I had requested when I made the reservation, two and a half months earlier, was waiting for us in an ice bucket when we walked into our room. The entire staff, front desk, housekeeping, and dining room servers were very friendly, and helpful. The front desk even called our room in the evening to tell us that we had not properly closed the trunk of our car and that the light was on. The room was very comfortable and oh those sheets! We're sorry we didn't buy any, as they were available for purchase. We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: Make reservations way ahead of time, especially if you attending the Strawberry Festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
170 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a lovely historic B&B, with the quirks of any historic (old) building. The staff are lovely, and clearly work very hard to be sure everyone has a nice stay. Our room was spacious, though the bathroom was not (again a historic building has limits). The hotel was clean throughout. Breakfast offered a good selection.

My only constructive comments on how it could be better:
1 - being a business traveler (~25 trips a year), the standard is really a "heavenly bed" or similar bedding with feathertop and fluffy pillows. The bed here was very hard and pillows were flat. It was fine, but not updated.

2 - parking is an issue. There is a small lot behind the hotel with 8 spots. If you arrive later in the evening or return at a busy time, their small parking lot is filled and the only option is one hour street parking (or overnight street parking to 7am). There needs to be an alternative lot to be utilized by registered guests when the lot is full.

I would stay here again if I needed to be in the area. it's a nice choice and nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My daughter-in-law and I just stayed at the Washington House Inn on June 21st
,2014. We Live close by so it is not far for us to go.
This is our second time at the inn, and we love it so much that we are making it an annual outing. our room was so well designed with 2 very comfortable queen beds. All the people that work there are so friendly and helpful.
We had a great time walking around the town and stopping in the different stores.
The Cheese, wine and fruit hour is well staffed and there was not a time that any of the plates were not full and also the wine,.
The hot breakfast that is served was also well staffed and great. There were many fine items served.
We were very happy and glad to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Property: Washington House Inn
Address: W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing