We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Canoe Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canoe Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We rented a Lakeside cottage and were so pleasantly surprised by the luxurious accommodations, with 2 fireplaces, 2 A/V systems, double steam shower, sauna, double Jacuzzi, elliptical, and wonderful service. By far the best romantic getaway I can imagine. They treated us like honored guests, as if all their attention was just for us.

The "Destination Package" was a good value, with dinner for two nights, hot breakfast instead of Continental, one lunch, and 10% off our third night.

Room Tip: Lakeside cottages are worth the extra, with lots of room and full in-cottage spa facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPLSBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    25
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
206
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I spent just one night at canoe bay. We are already planning out next stay. From the moment you check in and are greeted by the calming receptionist to the warm chocolate cookies we were given upon leaving, this getaway was very special. We enjoyed walking their miles of trails, canoeing, reading, and of course just relaxing.

Room Tip: i have a hard time believing there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyguystw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in one of the Dream Cabins at the property on a beautiful fall weekend. Canoe Bay exceeded our lofty expectations. The cabin was beautifully appointed, and the rest of the facilities were fantastic. What an amazing resort! We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tst1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is one of those special places where memories are made. This was our third visit to Canoe Bay. We loved them all. Our only regret is leaving. The fall colors were spectacular. We hiked the trails on the most beautiful autumn day - wow!

This time, we stayed in the Heavenly Suite. We loved the deck - so close to the water. The views were fabulous. We also liked having two rooms (and two fireplaces!) It was just down the hall from the dining room. Our dinner was absolutely delicious (and very filling!)

We have now stayed at the Lodge, in a cottage, and at the Inn. You really can't go wrong with any of these choices. There are some pros and (minor) cons to each...other than the price (which you just should forget about because it's expensive and you already know that).

The Lodge has been updated since we stayed there in the mid '90's. There is a nice library, DVDs, and fitness room if that's your thing.

The Heavenly Suite was very nice - it's closest to the lake, has two fireplaces, and is close to the dining room. But we did hear some chatter in the hallway as people left the dining room, and heard some fans cycling on and off (kitchen ventilation?) when sitting on the deck. It was a very minor con.

The Lookout Cottage was very private, albeit not as large as the Heavenly Suite. The view was not quite as nice as the Heavenly Suite, but beautiful nonetheless. As mentioned earlier, you really can't go wrong!

Breakfasts are delivered to the door at the time you designate. You choose what you want ahead of time.

We always appreciate the homemade cookies for the drive home. Thank you, Canoe Bay!

Room Tip: Cottages are the most private. Heavenly Suite has a heavenly view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usable_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very special. Wonderful for an anniversary. Honeymoon or just a getaway. We came during autumn and it is just gorgeous. Food is phenominal. Someone in an earlier review suggested you didn't receive enough food. Not true at all. More than we could eat and my husband is a very tall man. They cater to your every need. It is more spendy but you know that ahead of time. Great for a special treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights while traveling from Minneapolis to Green Bay for a Packer game on Sunday afternoon.

First the room and bed were spectacular. The bed had linens that were better than any other hotel bed that I have ever slept in. It was totally lovely. The fireplace was lovely as well. The view over the lake was beautiful as well.

We stayed during the peak of fall colors on a day that could not be any better. We saw some of the prettiest fall sites that I have ever seen, even though I grew up in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

While expensive, the meals were great as well. We had halibut on the first night and beef short ribs the second night. Both of these meals were four star events.

I would only suggest that the resort would offer a couple of menu options at dinner. While we both enjoyed the entre offering, having two or three options would have been much better at the high price point for the meal.

I would love to come back and enjoy another season at Canoe Bay. I am sure it is lovely in any of the four seasons that Wisconsin has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medas2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Canoe Bay is top notch. From the moment we arrived the service was unbelievable. The grounds are beautiful and serene. The cottages are amazing and a true escape. There is a reason why you receive information on how to purchase these beds-because they are the most comfortable beds you will experience! The garden is breath-taking. Dinner was remarkable and absolutely delicious. Kudos to the chef; especially for the warm chocolate chip cookies they sent home with us! Having breakfast delivered to your room in the morning was such a treat. Everyone must experience Canoe Bay - it is superb. Hats off to Manager, Katie!

Room Tip: Hilltop is the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
8.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
15.9 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
58 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
15.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Property: Canoe Bay
Address: W16065 Hogback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728-9457
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek, Wisconsin
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing