We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Place”
Review of Canoe Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canoe Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Place”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

what a place can't believe a little piece of heaven here in the middle of the woods. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were well thought out .
The food was true to it's word with simple presentation and incredibly cooked . What a treat everyone should share in this .

  • Liked — Location, Comfort, Food
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greatf00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    25
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
204
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Dont waste your money! We just spent a weekend at Canoe Bay and were completely disappointed with the lack of service. Food was terrible - overcooked, tasteless, and unimaginative and served by unexperienced help. We stayed in a Dream Cottage which was the only highlight of our stay. It was spacious and comfortable and had a view from the deck of woods and a small pond( that the hotel refers to as a lake). There is no pool nor spa although they do have a person who will come to your room for a massage. Service was non-existent...Our towels and amenities were not replenished unless it was requested on a form given to us at breakfast that day. The bed was never turned down at night and there was no way to request more towels because there was no phone in the room. As a Relais and Chateau property, we expected alot more than they were capable of.

  • Liked — design of cottage
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trip-agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We recently stayed at Canoe Bay for a much-anticipated relaxing weekend. Having read the website and knowing it was a Relais & Chateaux resort, we had high expectations that we felt justified the high prices. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. While the resort portrays itself as a place to relax, we found it to be regimented and inflexible in a way that made it difficult to relax. For example, the dinner seatings are only within a 45 minute time period, arranged in advance. There is only one menu for the $75 fixed price three course dinner, and while other options are available they can carry supplemental charges of $25. The food was very good at times, but not always, which made it hard to justify the $75 or more fixed price price tag. You must specify when you will have breakfast a day in advance, leaving no flexibility to sleep in and call when you wake up (by the way, there are no phones in the rooms, meaning that any requests you have for personalized service must be made by walking or driving a quarter-mile or more to the reception desk). One day, we asked in advance to have breakfast served earlier the next day and were told it was not possible. We were genuinely puzzled that, rather than accommodating guests' preferences, Canoe Bay seemed to focus on the schedule it set. While it may take more staff to provide more individualized service, given the prices that Canoe Bay charges, we were surprised that it did not have the staff to accommodate reasonable flexibility in its guests. On the plus side, Canoe Bay had an excellent wine list and we enjoyed trying hard-to-find wines. If you like hiking outdoors, we suggest you try elsewhere than Canoe Bay, because we were covered with ticks after just a short walk on the property's trails (using the Canoe Bay-provided DEET spray). We concur with the other reviewers who commented that there is little to do in the surrounding area. Overall, while we liked some things about Canoe Bay (the library, wine, and quiet), we thought it was significantly over-priced for the quality of experience it provided.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
20 Thank Wilson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
all over
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Our stay at Canoe Bay was exactly what we expected – and needed. We both have unimaginably hectic lives, and we came to Canoe Bay for a weekend getaway. We travel frequently and have very high expectations of a property like this. We were more relaxed and refreshed after our two days here than after recent weeklong trips to Paris and French Polynesia (at Le Taha’a).

Our goal for the weekend was to relax, sleep in, reconnect, have some great food and wine, and maybe hike or canoe a little. If that is what you are after, then Canoe Bay is the place for you. We stayed in the Heavenly Suite, which is in the Inn. It is about 20 feet from the restaurant, and we enjoyed this proximity immensely. The room was outstanding – wall-to-wall windows overlooking the lake, two very private decks, and Frank Lloyd Wright-esque décor. The bathroom was very nice as well - a large double whirlpool tub and double shower.

We had two fabulous prix fixe dinners just steps from our room – one in the intimate lakeside dining room, and the other a private meal in the wine cellar. In the popular restaurant rating guide I’m sure you are familiar with, I’d rate the food a 26 (out of 30), which is on par with most top big-city restaurants. The wine selection is also outstanding – there are so many great vintages offered that we had trouble choosing. Breakfast and lunch were equally fabulous, and delivered to our room.

We even hiked on the trails for an hour or so – but had to get back to our room for our fantastic in-room massage!

The resort is expensive. Don’t come here if you are going to worry about that your whole stay. Although it is isolated and peaceful it is a relatively small property and if you are looking for an extreme Northwoods adventure, this probably isn’t the place for you either.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank IslandChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Heights, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2006

I booked at Canoe Bay for three nights after seeing a glowing write up in Chicago Magazine. When making the reservation the person answered all my questions and was quite accurate about the accomodations she suggested we choose. We had one of the "Deluxe Duplex Cottages" and it was delightful - the king sized bed was heavenly with luxurious bedding. There was a generous living area with a TV, small kitchen area with microwave and fridge. And it was SPOTLESS....I can't say enough about the whole property being so well maintained.

My husband enjoyed the catch and release fishing and I enjoyed kayaking for the first time ever...the lake is small and private and I felt quite comfortable.

The library is outstanding - the building is beautiful and the decor lovely, and then there are the books!!! This is a real treat for a book lover. Canoe Bay has it all.

Our only (minor) complaint was our dinners in the Dining Room at Canoe Bay. The service was excellent, the wine quite good, but the food was just average. Good, but not great.
On Tuesday night the dining room is closed and we went to Lehman's Supper Club in town as recommended the helpful front desk staff - an excellent meal!!

This is a wonderful place to wind down and enjoy nature; we'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dedeepaloshtsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at Canoe Bay two weekend nights and loved it. The seclusion of this place cannot be denied. We felt as if we were in the middle of nowhere (we were!) and hardly heard any noises beside the occassional golf cart delivering food to our doorstep. The entire weekend felt so private. When something is delivered to the cottage, a simple knock indicates it is there and the personnel delivering it disappear. We loved that! The lake was chilly in August but warming up on the sunny dock was heaven. The lake is small (as a previous review mentioned) but definitely gave us enough space to explore. Same with the trails.

We found the staff to be very friendly, the food great and the accomodations nice. The cottage is perhaps the one place I would suggest improvement, although we did not stay in the most expensive. It was certainly adequate, just not luxurious.

Canoe Bay is the kind of place to go to when you want to spend some serious down time. It is a place to sit on your deck drinking coffee and talking, listening to/watching music/movies (checked out at reception) or napping! It is _not_ a place to go if you want an action-packed weekend with multiple activities to keep you busy. The slow pace is a huge part of the appeal.

We will return!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank go_Kristin_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 October 2005

It is truly lovely -- the architecture, the rooms, the grounds, the native plantings. This is a wonderful example of some of the best of American style, i.e., the Frank Lloyd Wright inspired architecture, the Alice Waters inspired food. My husband and I were there in late August and appreciated the peace and quiet, the beauty and the excellent food with its emphasis on fresh, local sources. I didn't see any cabins or rooms other than our own. However, I would think that all are very comfortable based on ours. We were in Lakeside Cabin 11, and I can wholeheartedly recommend it. If you appreciate peace and quiet, good food, good service and lovely surroundings, then you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
8.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
15.9 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
16.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
19.5 mi away
Gathering Place Resort & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Property: Canoe Bay
Address: W16065 Hogback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728-9457
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek, Wisconsin
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing