We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Wisconsin Friday Night Fish Fry”
Review of Mary's Cafe & Pub

Mary's Cafe & Pub
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Chetek
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“True Wisconsin Friday Night Fish Fry”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We Wisconsinites love our Friday Night Fish Fries, and Mary's did not disappoint. The baked fish was so good, and it's kind of fun to eat in an old pub. The wait staff was very friendly. We stopped here on our way further North and would stop again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came here 3 times during my vacation. Great fish/shrimp fry on Fridays! None of us could finish all of the food we received. Our waitress checked on us often and was very friendly. The bartender was great too.
We were also in on a Thursday night and shared various appetizers and a burger - again awesome food, big portions, and great prices!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VikesGirlPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Food & Lots of It”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Recommended by the staff at American Inn and did not disappoint! We had breakfast - two omelets and a waffle. Omelets came with toast and homemade hash browns. The young waitress was delightful and on the ball with coffee refillls. Oh and dont let the sign out front scare you away. Its a oub in the front, just walk thru to get to the cafe. Worth the stop!

Helpful?
3 Thank CathyK76837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ate breakfast here twice during our vacation. The portion size, price and taste were all very good. Our party of 4, all had different items and everyone was well satisfied. If you order the pancakes, beware they are extremely large (as in 10-12 inches). Waitress was attentive and very pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent1of1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had breakfast there, the food was good and reasonable. There were locals there eating there so that is a good sign and it was busy. If there are two of you get only one order of the hashbrowns and split them, they give you enough for more then two people!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank isabellaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Cafe & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Mary's Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing