We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little cramped but Awesome experience.”

Sheeley House Saloon
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located in downtown Chippewa Falls right along the Chippewa River, the historic Sheeley House Saloon, serves traditional and unique pub fare in vintage surroundings. Featuring weekly entertainment. Trivia on Wednesday's beginning at 7PM.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little cramped but Awesome experience.”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Awesome experience in an old historical and haunted house. Food was really good, seating was a little cramped but what do you expect when they turn an old house into a restaurant. We love history and had to try this one!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Friday Fish Fry”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Sheeley House is a restored old boarding house. The ambiance is very nice in the upstairs restaurant especially when they have the lights dimmed. The lower bar features live music and has a cozy atmosphere. We cannot speak for the other food items as we always get the fish fry on Friday evenings. The entire entree is prepared well and the fish is very good without being greasy. The house brownie is made by the owner's wife and is also a favorite of ours. Occasionally they will have an inexperienced wait staff but normally the service is very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCandVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saloon VS Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We chose the upstairs restaurant for dinner and was sorely disappointed. I chose the special pork roast - hideous .... over seasoned and it tasted like it was poached in the marinade instead of being roasted. The rice side dish was better - but so hot I think it was nuked. The veg consisted of undercooked carrots and an entire bunch of cold green onions (weird). My hubby's steak was seared well but totally devoid of any seasoning. The oven-roasted potatoes may have been cooked in the oven once... but had seen more time in the deep fryer. His veg were cold and undercooked too. We decided to head to the saloon downstairs ... and that's where we should have started and stayed! Great service, great atmosphere, and an excellent musician entertaining the patrons. The 3 points are mostly for the saloon .... which would have earned 5 if it was for the saloon alone. Sorry, but the restaurant dragged our rating down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Wonderful Food and great atmosphere. I would go back again

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly59843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We really enjoyed our dinner here. It looks a little shabby on the outside, but inside the place is just charming. The downstairs tavern is cozy, and the upstairs dining room was nicely decorated. Our waiter was very friendly and the food was delicious. The prices were quite reasonable too. All in all this was a winner!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMVDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheeley House Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Sheeley House Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing