We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Little Falls, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not sure if we'll be back”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Check-in process was smooth and orderly. However, checkout was not so cordial. When I pointed out a grammar error on a sign, the clerk became annoyed & did not respond to my comment or talk to me again. (Attention: Guest that are paying with a debit card...) 2nd - The pool was over "chlorined" and the smell was enough to make you sick. 3rd - The dining room that offered some free breakfast entrees to hotel guests was not well organized. There were no signs to indicate that there is a hostess to seat you & rude guests were choosing to sit wherever they wanted (even at dirty tables!) Other guests budged in line at the cashiers - again no clear signs of where to line up & the harried cashier did not know who was next. The bright side: helpful housekeeping staff & the room was very clean. Not sure if we'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laproffrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I have never had a worse hotel experience in my life! The Avalon was awful. They charge way to much for their outdated rooms. The rooms did not smell fresh, not sure if our non-smoking room was at one time a smoking room! When we stayed there was a storm and the power went out, but was restored by about 7:30 a.m. We went to have our 'free' breakfast at 10:00 a.m and the kitchen was not running and they could not check us out. They said try back in about an hour. Finally we were able to check out and we said we didn't want to eat our 'free' breakfast and asked if they could give us some kind of a discount. They would not, so we ate at their restaurant. The breakfast was not free--it was $2 off a selection from the menu or eggs and toast. After waiting for 45 minutes we were served our awful breakfast. My eggs benedict yolks were totally hard. We waited 10 minutes for our bill that was wrong. We finally threw down some money and left. We will never return to the Avalon Hotel and Conference Center!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chippewa Falls hotels

Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Well, I cant believe that stay 2 coming all the way from Madison, the pool was out AGAIN! This is an ametity that they advertise. I had to call the front desk to report that their 5 feet marker read, 2 feet, LEAK. They did give me 10.00 off this time, last time, it was infected bacteria so closed. So I went out this a.m.to atleast use hottub and the hottub had no jets working...I must say, for the price, and the wonderful people working there, so what. The rooms were clean, food great at the restaurant and actually a nice place. They do need to renovate, doors to bathroom in room had fist through, walls marked up. Comfortable beds, QUIET, and I would recommend. They need to really update their pool/availability/hottub.....

Best to staff...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnauzer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Pros:
* Had two rooms available on short notice.
* Showerheads were decent.
* Rooms had small kitchenettes. Fridge worked. (We didn't use other facilitities.)
* Free/discounted breakfast.
* Door opened to parking lot.
* One of the rooms had a flat screen TV.

Cons:
* Smoking rooms were converted to non-smoking rooms but still stank like smoke. Horrible stentch!
* Carpet was sticky, filthy, stained.
* Sofa and chairs were sticky, filthy, stained.
* Mattress/boxsprings were stained. (The boxspring in one of the rooms had yellow/brown stains on the side. Impossible to know if the stains were from humans or pets.)
* NIghtstands felt sticky.
* Air conditioners were noisy.

We were glad we weren't traveling with young children. We would not have let them walk on the floor or touch anything in the room.

We will not stay at this hotel again unless it undergoes major renovations and gets new beds and furniture. It was disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom_MarketingExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Avalon Hotel. The room was interesting because it had indoor hallway access and direct outdoor access on the other side of the room. This was nice because we were able to walk to the restaurant and pool without going outside, but we were also able to park right outside our door, it would be very nice if you were traveling with a pet.
You get what you pay for here. We paid $59 one night and $79 the second night. The carpet was stained and the room smelled like pet urine. The wallpaper was peeling, and the whole place desparately needed updating. The pool was so cloudy you could barely see the bottom. We were told that the hotel offered a hot breakfast. The hot breakfast is not a continental serve yourself option, rather it is a sit-down restaurant. We were given coupons for eggs and toast or pancakes at the restaurant, anything else costed extra.
The best part of the hotel were the bartenders Dylan and Patrick who made excellent Bloody Marys. Stay at the hotel across the parking lot and stop in at the Bridgewater Bar for some drinks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvMex828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We got a hotel rate of $144.90 a night and were there for 3 nights. We were unable to cancel a reservation unless you had a weeks notice. We also ended up paying for breakfast each day. The breakfast special allowed us to get $2.00 off the breakfast menu. There was no make your own waffles, fruit or cereal available to us. We felt for that if a person pays $144.90 a night, breakfast should be included for free. It is a higher priced rate than many other chains and they offer a full FREE breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed at the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center just last week. It was set back from the main road behind a Country Inn -- kind of easy to miss -- but glad we found it! The rooms were very clean. I could tell the bedding was relatively new -- and the beds were REALLY comfy!! We had a fridge in our room, which was so convenient b/c we were travelling with our two kids. We also ate at the restaurant on site. They had a wonderful breakfast buffet on Sunday morning -- and their menu had really good choices as well. Decor in the restaurant was classy & homey -- as was the lobby. My husband liked the flat panel tv's in the bar area. Overall, it was a great stay. We will definitely stay here again -- and I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness, restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravelMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippewa Falls
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chippewa Falls
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites
#4 of 10 in Chippewa Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chippewa Falls
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eau Claire North
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Eau Claire Chippewa Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1009 W. Park Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chippewa Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HotelAvalon Hotel and Conference Center is a locally owned and operated hotel & conference center conveniently located in Chippewa Falls, WI, in west-central Wisconsin, within driving distance from Eau Claire, WI and Minneapolis, MN. Avalon Hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport (EAU). With 67 guest rooms ranging from Whirlpool Suites to Double Queen Bed Rooms, Avalon is the perfect place to stay for any occasion. Guest rooms are all located on the first level, with many having a parking stall conveniently outside your room. The Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Exercise Room, Game Room, Outdoor Patio, Room Service and Bridgewater Restaurant & Pub onsite will allow you and your guests to relax comfortably by having everything you need under one roof! The hotel guest rooms, restaurant, pub and conference center are all equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed internet capabilities. Whatever the occasion, you’ll love the convenience of the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center!Dining & EntertainmentBridgewater Restaurant & Pub is located on the same property as the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center. Being located on the same property gives you the flexibility to enjoy our restaurant dining experience, dinner and drinks in our sports bar or have world-class food delivered right to your room. The pub was remodeled in spring 2013; there isn’t a bad seat in the house! With 6 TV’s and seating for 260, Bridgewater is the perfect place for dinner and drinks with your sweetheart, colleagues, friends/family, or to just get away! Bridgewater is home to one of the Chippewa Valley’s best Bloody Mary’s, Burgers and Pizzas. Whatever the occasion, you’ll have fun at Bridgewater! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing