We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a motel that thinks it's a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Dwight, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a motel that thinks it's a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

You park outside your door. Rooms are ok, another door takes you to a hallway, so you can walk all the way to the lobby indoors. Indoor pool and whirlpool. Restaurant is also attached. Bar was quite lively for a Wednesday night. Ribs looked good, smelled good too. Staff friendly and accomodating. There's a Country Inn and Suites right next door - that's a hotel.No problems....but it's a motel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TADSSguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimi033003, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us...sounds like everything was fine except for the fact that we call ourselves a Hotel and you think we are a Motel. Yes we do have rooms that open to the outside but we also have rooms with inside access only....believe it or not we have guests that like both. Hope we can accommodate you in the future and please make sure to ask for one of the inside rooms if that is what you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was there for a conference. The facility was older and a little worn. But it was clean and everything worked. The service and food was excellent and reasonable priced. They had a full food menu, made to order breakfast and excellent lunch and Dinner. All the personal that I encountered where friendly and willing to assist. Would stay again and will also stop just for the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimi033003, Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review.....we always like it when past guests take the time to review us. We take great pride in our property....always trying to keep up with rapidly changing times in our industry. Hopefully we will see you again soon.....either as a hotel guest or a restaurant patron next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I travel to this area a couple of times a year for work and always stay at this hotel. It is clean, comfortable and always have had helpful, friendly staff. They DO have king beds, so I'm not sure why other guests did not think they did. The hotel does not smell musty either. The price is reasonable, and although it is not fancy, it is well kept, clean and safe. It is nice to be able to enter the room from the outside door as well. I have not tried the breakfast, or any food there, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeyMDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimi033003, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and feedback........we always like hearing about a guest having a good experience when staying with us. I would like to thank you for your repeat business as well....every guest is important to us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I didn't have a good experience here. My towels were taken by the room service but never returned, so I had no towels on Sunday morning. It's poorly insulated so it's quite loud and you can hear people through the walls. There aren't any rooms w/king size beds - it's either two full beds or one queen. There was also a random extra sink in the room (not in the bathroom) that didn't seem to work. Don't bother with the hassle here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AShearer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimi033003, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I apologize for the towels not being replaced as timely as they should have been...a call to the desk could of rectified this situation immediately. At the time you called I am assuming all our king rooms had been rented out this is why we only had single and double rooms left.....I wish we had more king rooms to offer. As for the wet bar sinks they are now all up and functioning. We have also replaced most of our rooms with new furniture and carpet. Would love for you to give us another try when in the area.......I think you will be surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chippewa Falls hotels

Madison wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I prefer motels with doors that lead to the outside. Our room in the Avalon had a door to the outside, and one to the inside corridor. No need for a coat to get to the bar and restaurant.

The motel is not new, but is kept up well. For the price, it is a fine place to stay. Don't expect fancy towels and pillows, or a flat screen TV. There is a large selection of cable stations.
They have WIFI everywhere on the property, and it works very well.

I enjoyed having a bar and restaurant on site. They do not inflate the bar prices. There is a nice selection of beers on tap.

There are a couple of breakfast items included with the room price, or you can choose to order from the menu, and they discount the price a bit.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub, accessible from outside or though the lobby.

The motel is located on a quiet street, set back from the main road. It was very quiet. There were weddings in the banquet room, and we did not hear it.

Room Tip: If you like a room with an outside door, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfamily900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie F, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. First of all I would like to let you know that we "now" have flat screen TV's in all our rooms....just finished this project along with replacing all the furniture. Changes going on all the time! I agree with you that outside/inside access is definitely a "plus" ...especially in a full service property. We take great pride in our property and try to listen to all our guests. Hope we have the chance to accomodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was beautiful! The exterior of the building could have used a fresh coat of paint, and there needed to be some attention paid to landscaping, pulling weeds, etc.

Room rates were slightly steeper than some other motels in town. Avalon offers a 10% discount for AAA and AARP. Unfortunately, there had been a misspelling on my membership card, so I wasn't carrying it -- and there was NO WAY the registration clerk was going to take my word for it!! I thought she could have cut me a little slack, but apparently I don't have a very innocent-looking face ; o)

The room rate includes breakfast. Be a little careful: when you check in to your room, they give you a voucher card for breakfast. On the back of the card, in fine print, there is a list of two or three items that are covered by the voucher.
Service in the restaurant was friendly, but very, very slow. I ordered an omelette, which was delicious, but not covered on the voucher.
When I paid my check, I mentioned that I had read the back of the card too late. The hostess said, "Oh, yeah, that happens to everyone." Seems a little deceptive ...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComradeCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie F, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us...we appreciate each and every review....this is how we listen to what guest want for the future. Hope you stay with us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place was great for the annual Tilden Mud Run. Great bar and restaurant. Rooms were decent and you could drive right up to them. Go to Bucky's Bar in town while you are there. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie F, Front Office Manager at Avalon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I want to thank you for your positive feedback...much appreciated! Hope your group stays with us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippewa Falls
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chippewa Falls
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites
#4 of 10 in Chippewa Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chippewa Falls
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eau Claire North
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Eau Claire Chippewa Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1009 W. Park Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chippewa Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HotelAvalon Hotel and Conference Center is a locally owned and operated hotel & conference center conveniently located in Chippewa Falls, WI, in west-central Wisconsin, within driving distance from Eau Claire, WI and Minneapolis, MN. Avalon Hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport (EAU). With 67 guest rooms ranging from Whirlpool Suites to Double Queen Bed Rooms, Avalon is the perfect place to stay for any occasion. Guest rooms are all located on the first level, with many having a parking stall conveniently outside your room. The Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Exercise Room, Game Room, Outdoor Patio, Room Service and Bridgewater Restaurant & Pub onsite will allow you and your guests to relax comfortably by having everything you need under one roof! The hotel guest rooms, restaurant, pub and conference center are all equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed internet capabilities. Whatever the occasion, you’ll love the convenience of the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center!Dining & EntertainmentBridgewater Restaurant & Pub is located on the same property as the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center. Being located on the same property gives you the flexibility to enjoy our restaurant dining experience, dinner and drinks in our sports bar or have world-class food delivered right to your room. The pub was remodeled in spring 2013; there isn’t a bad seat in the house! With 6 TV’s and seating for 260, Bridgewater is the perfect place for dinner and drinks with your sweetheart, colleagues, friends/family, or to just get away! Bridgewater is home to one of the Chippewa Valley’s best Bloody Mary’s, Burgers and Pizzas. Whatever the occasion, you’ll have fun at Bridgewater! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing