We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Awesome PAVED trail!

Annual rail to trail ride with my sister....not too many other riders...very pleasant ride, though... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
mongoose10
,
Austin, Texas
Great bike trail.

Rode the Old Abe Trail from Brunet Island State Park to Jim Falls. Very nice ride, even though we... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2018
fdlkerr
,
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
35
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island state lake wissota nice ride cornell dairy bike bridge paved woods scenery route park stacker wildlife uphill riders
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Annual rail to trail ride with my sister....not too many other riders...very pleasant ride, though we did figure out direction so we could ride with the wind on our return, so had to drive north to the state park(it looks awesome too)!

Thank mongoose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Rode the Old Abe Trail from Brunet Island State Park to Jim Falls. Very nice ride, even though we rode in 90+ temperatures. We did notice that we were on a down hill grade most of the way, so that helped out. Trail is paved and has a few road crossings. We enjoyed the views of the Stacker and the old suspension bridge at Coppan. Also the blue barn with the large cupolas on one of the road crossings.

Thank fdlkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

19.2 mile asphalt trail with 5 parking lots so you pick how much to do.
Mostly flat, well maintained, with mile markers with distances to end points and Jim Falls.
Saw lot of wild life. Very scenic north of Jim Falls.

Need $5 per person pass.

Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Old Abe is a great urban trail. We walked, but talked with others who rented bikes nearby. We did an out-and-back to keep the distance under control since we were walking, but there is a lot of distance depending on your stamina or especially if biking. The scenery is pretty. Much of where we walked was shaded, so it didn't get too hot.

Thank WiscoWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Excellent bike trail. Nicely paved and currently in good condition. Great views of the Chippewa River, with plenty of spots to stop and loaf. A must stop is the outlet store at the massive Cheese factory in Jim Falls. Door is on the west side. Cornell at the North end has a number of great cafes and taverns to grab a bite at. Also there are two ice cream shops. Follow the trail all the way into Burnet Park. Just a nice place to be. We have seen a lot of wildlife along this trail including bear. Go pretty soon or you will miss seeing the historic Cobban Bridge at about the half way point.

Thank BigMitch036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We biked from Cornell to Jim Falls. Stunning views! Peak leaves in early October. Highly recommend. Easy biking, pretty flat.

Thank Laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This trail is definitely the most well maintained one I've ridden! It's a twenty mile long, flat, paved trail that runs from Cornell to Chippewa Falls.
If you ride a road bike/cyclocross, you'll be able to do a round-trip in less than three hours without exerting yourself much.
Note - make sure you pick a cool day to ride this. If you intend to ride on a hot day, make sure you carry plenty of water, and try to ride early in the morning.
Also, if you are going to park in Brunet Island State Park, do carry some cash with you for parking your vehicle. I wasn't carrying cash, and a gentleman from Hudson helped me out (thank you Daryl!)

Thank theonlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Wonderful views on this blacktopped route that runs along the Chippewa River from Jim Falls to Cornell. Go as fast as you wish, or stop and enjoy the scenery. Enjoy the solitude of northern Wisconsin.

Thank Sg-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was our first time and on the trail. The pavement is in great shape and the scenery is good. We rode 15 of the 20 miles and enjoyed the entire ride. We started in Brunet Island State Park in Cornell. The park is lovely as well!

1  Thank RichG922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This flat, 100% asphalt trail is in excellent shape (smooth surface with few cracks, no holes, and little debris). The terrain is farmland, forest, and water (Lake Wissota and Old Abe Lake). Mostly you hear just natural sounds, hence peaceful. North of Jim Falls, the trail is well shaded; south of Jim Falls not so much. Food, water, and flush toilets are available in Jim Falls and Cornell. We recommend Dylan Dairy, two blocks east of the trail in Cornell. A meal and/or ice cream awaits. Look for their sign next to the trail. We did a round trip of its twenty mile length on a Sunday morning. Most people must have been in church because we did not run into many.

Thank AmosRedux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews