We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience for Ice Caves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fo'c'sle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cornucopia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fo'c'sle Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornucopia B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique Experience for Ice Caves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for one night as a launching point to see the Apostle Island Ice Caves. We stayed here in mid April 2014. The location was so fun and unique, perched out on the marina, surrounded by ice and snow and the sailboats pulled out for the winter.
The sunset views were amazing. I'm sure the sunrise was too but we slept through it :-).
Breakfast was delicious and the room was clean.
The owners were very helpful answering any questions we had about the area and attractions.
We would definitely stay here again. Might be fun to experience the summer and fall on the marina as well (although maybe not so quiet?)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Hack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife Susan and I spent our second anniversary here. We got to know "Corny" and Dave and Mary Beth, proprietors, from our boating to Siskiwit Bay Marina. Last summer Mary Beth showed us the other part of their business, the B&B.

We stayed one night, November 9th, which was a very "dark & stormy" Lake Superior night. Our room was very comfortable and well thought out. One has an amazing view from your room looking out into the lake via the ship canal. Obviously not too much boating activity but there was one fish tug that came in around 1630, just before dark. That was very cool. We were able to crack a window and fall asleep listening to the wind and waves of Lake Superior. Our room had a little gas stove which gives out ambiance and heat. We also had internet. There is TV with dvd, and movies are supplied. I'm pretty sure there is also a small refrigerator in the room.

We had dinner at the Village Inn which is the only restaurant in town. It is pretty good. When we checked in Mary Beth arranged a time to deliver coffee and tea, followed by a fantastic breakfast. After breakfast Mary Beth pointed out the 2 bald eagles nesting near by. Susan and I took a nice walk on the beach and ended up in town at Ehler's the iconic General Store in Corny.

Like most of the B&B's I've stayed at Mary Beth and Dave do a great job. What separates the F'c'sle from any other I have stayed is the unique out of the way location combined with the amazing Lake Superior view. Other pluses are being in the harbor, proximity to the beach and being able to walk to town for meals and the bit of shopping available.

Since they have two rooms, great place for two couples or young families to experience together.

David C. Barnum

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A very warm and lovely home with spacious accommodations. Easy to find with ample parking. Breakfast was delicious, creative, and generous. Marybeth has mastered the art of providing one of the best B&B experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muschott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I along with another couple stayed here for two days. I can not enough good things about this B&B. There is only two rooms, there is a small hall in between and the shared deck over looks the Marina and Lake Superior. In the morning, first we had coffee along with the perfect size pastry, then breakfast came a little later at the exact time we had arranged with Mary Beth. It was like magic, open the "back" door, the tray is in the hall. We went up to enjoy the Apostle Islands. Perfect, quiet place to start and end you day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have noted, I almost hate to review this little gem as it may not be as available! But the owners are wonderful and certainly deserve the extra business. When we first drove past, I wasn't sure if we were in the right location. Amidst the marina and various boats & marina "stuff" is An old boathouse that has been converted into a main residence for the owners and 2 wonderful rooms.one room faces the marina, the other(which we had) faces lake superior. We had a fantastic sunset & sunrise. You share a patio with the "neighbor" and we met a wonderful couple from Thunderbay. We shared many laughs, and enjoyed the company. There are some cute shops to the north of the marina that have antuques, arts/crafts and a fish market where we bough smoked salmon & awesome cheese which weate on the patio watching the sunset. The room is very nicely appointed. Queen bed facing large windows. Wonderful walk in glass shower & a refrigerater. Our breakfast was FANTASTIC! Caramel apple French toast. We will be returning!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentalDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm Lake, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a few wonderful days at the Fo'c'sle Inn overlooking Lake Superior. Dave and Mary Beth are superb inn keepers. A delicious hot breakfast is brought right to your door in the morning and could be enjoyed either at your own private table and sitting area or out on the attached deck. Watching not only the water fowl but also the hustle and bustle of the functioning harbor was fun. Fresh artesian water right from the faucet to drink, a very comfortable bed and down to earth atmosphere were all refreshing to the soul.

My only hesitation in writing this review.. I don't want this charming place to be booked up on my next trip to the North Woods!

Room Tip: the room facing the harbor has superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hosts, Mary Beth and Dave were very gracious. The breakfasts were delicious! The room was very clean. We enjoyed seeing common mergansers, eagles, seagulls and a river otter.
We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. This was our first visit and we have already made reservations to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynMenomonieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornucopia
20.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
21.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
20.2 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
13.8 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fo'c'sle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fo'c'sle Inn

Property: Fo'c'sle Inn
Address: 22580 State Highway 13, Cornucopia, WI 54827
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cornucopia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornucopia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing