We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Town Coffee House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olde Town Coffee House
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice stop for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had the Chef's Favorite omelet, which was made with bacon, cheese and diced granny smith apples. I decided to try it since the apples seemed like an interesting addition to an omelet and I thought it was very good, though I might have preferred slightly larger pieces of apple so I could taste them more. The side of potatoes was very greasy but they had good flavor otherwise. The portions were plenty large and overall a pretty decent value. The coffee is "pour your own" style from a coffee station which could be a negative if you like having it brought to your table but I didn't mind it since there were a couple different brewed varieties to choose from that way. The wi-fi was a definite plus so I could catch up on a little work while I ate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wifisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummy and quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had breakfast here and was quite pleased with the speed and quality of food. I prefer to be waited on at my table, and here you order at the counter, and although I don't prefer that style of dining, it did seem to go smoothly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Cottage Grove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Cottage Grove has only one other diner,
so if you're not in the mood
to cook breakfast at home this is a wonderful alternative.

The breakfast portions are enormous and the menu is kid friendly.
I was happy to see they recently added lunches to their menu.
They have pies as well and hope to try some soon.

I have taken out of town family members here and was pleased,
and I know I can bring guests here and count on it being a hit.

I've also recommended this restaurant to friends
who are traveling by here and can stop off the highway
to eat because it's well worth it
and a nice break from the typical fast food joints.

A friend from the far west side of Madison and I meet here
each month for coffee. (She meets me here every other week
and then we find a coffee shop near her home,
so we switch how far we have to drive.)

There's no pressure to order food if we don't want,
and we have sat and talked over coffee
and never felt like we've taken too much time and should leave,
and we've never been uncomfortable.
The atmosphere is nice and we particularly like
that there is a lot of natural light from the windows.

It's not a fancy schmancy place and not uncomfortably trendy,
just reliable and new and relaxing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationwith3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I recently moved to Madison, WI. Cottage Grove is just a few miles down the road. We found Olde Town Coffee House on an iPhone app. Tried it a couple days ago. Very nice place with friendly people. We had espresso drinks and used the free wi-fi. They have a good menu of sandwiches and breakfast items, but we haven't tried them yet. But we certainly intend to. We enjoyed the "feel" of the place and look forward to going back often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBWCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The menu is a little out of the ordinary for a coffee shop. Haven't had anything that didn't taste terrific.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank noahsmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Town Coffee House also viewed

 
Cottage Grove, WI
 

Been to Olde Town Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing